PUBHLTH 494CI Public Health Sciences Capstone
Tools
- Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA) website"PRISMA is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PRISMA focuses on the reporting of reviews evaluating randomized trials, but can also be used as a basis for reporting systematic reviews of other types of research, particularly evaluations of interventions."
- PRISMA Flow Diagram GeneratorFree tool that will generate a PRISMA flow diagram from a CSV file (sample CSV template provided)Please cite as:
Haddaway, N. R., Page, M. J., Pritchard, C. C., & McGuinness, L. A. (2022). PRISMA2020: An R package and Shiny app for producing PRISMA 2020-compliant flow diagrams, with interactivity for optimised digital transparency and Open Synthesis Campbell Systematic Reviews, 18, e1230. https://doi.org/10.1002/cl2.1230 - Rayyan"Rayyan is a 100% FREE web application to help systematic review authors perform their job in a quick, easy and enjoyable fashion. Authors create systematic reviews, collaborate on them, maintain them over time and get suggestions for article inclusion."
Evaluating Studies
- Critical Appraisal Tools from JBIJoanna Briggs Institute at the University of Adelaide provides these checklists to help evaluate different types of publications that could be included in a review.
- Study Quality Assessment Toolsfrom the NIH National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
- CASP (Critical Appraisal Skills Programme) Checklists"Critical Appraisal skills enable you to systematically assess the trustworthiness, relevance and results of published papers. The Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP) has over 28 years of significant and unrivalled expertise in the delivery of training to healthcare professionals."
Exporting Large Results Sets to Citation Managers
Here is my handout with instructions on how to export large results sets to be able to import into Citation Managers and remove duplicate items. I also made a video showing how to export results from PubMed, EBSCOhost databases, Web of Science, and ProQuest database.
NOTE: This procedure is also the one to follow to get files with results to upload to Rayyan for screening articles.
- Exporting Large Result Sets to Citation Managers and Removing DuplicatesGeneral instructions for getting a large number of results from databases (including PubMed, CINAHL, PsycInfo, Web of Science, and ERIC) into citation managers, and links to how to remove duplicates in Zotero and Mendeley
Exporting Large Results Sets to Excel
Here is my handout with instructions on how to export large results sets to be able to import into Excel and remove duplicate items. I also made a video showing how to export results from PubMed, EBSCOhost databases, Web of Science, and ProQuest database.
(NOTE: I am still working on editing the CC transcript for this video!)
- Exporting Large Result Sets to Excel and Removing DuplicatesInstructions for getting a large number of results from databases (including PubMed, CINAHL, PsycInfo, Web of Science, and ERIC) into Excel, and how to remove dupcliates.
Ellen's Tips for Doing Comprehensive Literature Searches
In this video, I share tips on methodology, performing searches (including a sample search), documenting searches, and mention a few tools that might be helpful. The document underneath covers the same content in written form.
Guides from Other Libraries
- Is a Systematic/Scoping Review Right for You? (Western University)Has chart comparing Systematic & Scoping reviews and offers a high-level timeline for performing one of these reviews.
- Last Updated: Apr 3, 2024 10:51 AM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/PubHlth494
- Print Page
