PUBHLTH 494CI Public Health Sciences Capstone

UMass Amherst Libraries has several different encyclopedias that give brief overviews on various topics.

The CDC Publishes reports and data online about various health issues.

The NIH also provides reports about health issues.

Includes health-related statistics for almost 200 countries

"Healthy People 2030 sets data-driven national objectives to improve health and well-being over the next decade."

Home page for over 50 journals on topics in Biomedical/Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences

Links to Massachusetts initiatives, policies, statistics, reports

Data and statistics on a variety of topics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

"Launched in 2019, the Child and Family Data Archive (CFData) preserves and disseminates data on topics related to young children, their families and communities, and the programs that serve them. CFData holds hundreds of datasets and accompanying documentation for secondary data analysis on important issues of policy and practice relevance, including data previously housed with Child Care and Early Education Research Connections (CCEERC)."

"The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more."

from the website: "The Dataset Catalog is a catalog of biomedical datasets from various repositories for users to search, discover, retrieve, and connect with datasets to accelerate scientific research. This beta version aims to collect user feedback to inform future product development."

From their About page: "Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful."

"An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."

A collaboration among CDC, NIH, USDA, and Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. The registry "is a searchable database of diet and physical activity measures relevant to childhood obesity research. Its purpose is to standardize use of common measures and research methods across childhood obesity research at the individual, community, and population levels."

"The NICHD Data and Specimen Hub (DASH) is a centralized resource that allows researchers to share and access de-identified data from studies funded by NICHD. DASH also serves as a portal for requesting biospecimens from selected DASH studies."

options for text-mining PubMedCentral articles

"FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research."

"Health Nutrition and Population Statistics database provides key health, nutrition and population statistics gathered from a variety of international and national sources. Themes include global surgery, health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, infectious diseases, medical resources and usage, noncommunicable diseases, nutrition, population dynamics, reproductive health, universal health coverage, and water and sanitation."