Labor Studies

A Guide to Labor Studies Resources at the UMass Amherst Libraries

Find Articles, Journals and more

Many of the search tools we recommend cover databases of different material types: articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, journals and more. You may be able to limit the material type before your search with advanced search, or filter the search results by type.

The search tools recommended below have good coverage of articles and journals for labor studies. In the reports section, you'll find information on companies and industries. For more, check out the Business LibGuide.

Labor studies are interdisciplinary! if you don't find what you need using these tools, check out our complete list of Databases & Collections.

Some of these tools include full-text, links to the full-text available in the Libraries' collections, or links to open access materials. If you are unable to find the article, you may request it through our Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery service.

Recommended Tools

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type: Business journal articles. Description: ABI/INFORM is the library's largest online full-text business journal collection. 3,000 business periodicals - peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, business magazines, 1960 - present, including the Wall Street Journal, 1984 - present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Several hundred U.S. alternative newsweeklies, covering issues like the environment, labor, public policy, and the peace movement, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Platform for journal articles, books, images and primary sources across many disciplines, including labor & employment relations.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Left Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in leftist periodicals, on labor, ecology & environment, race, social & cultural theory, 1982-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News sources covering business and law
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
One place to search across 16 different social science databases.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Here are some e-journals of particular interest to Labor Studies. If you are off-campus, you will need to login with your UMass NetID to view the full-text content:

Some free, online magazines focused on labor and organizing issues include:

Here are some directories of e-journals:

eJournal Collection - UMass Amherst Libraries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A complete A-Z listing and search feature for UMass Amherst Libraries electronic journal subscriptions and selected open access titles. Search by title, subject, identifier, publisher, and more.
Subscribed resources are available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password. Open content is freely available for use by all.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Thousands of open access scholarly journals, most published by academic departments of universities worldwide. Coverage varies; mostly recent.
Content is freely available for use by all.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The combined catalogs of most U.S. Libraries. Select Journal/Magazine as the format type
Content is freely available for use by all.

ESG Manager on Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SG Manager provides (E) environmental, (S) social, and (G) governance reports for 6,000 global companies, including 3,000 US public companies. Search by ticker, industry, country, IVA rating (AAA to CCC) and controversial business screening. Click a company name to view output options.
Three report-types are available for each company:
1. Intangible Value Assessment Report - measures a company's environmental, social and governance performance.
2. Impact Monitor Report - assessment of major controversies related to a company's operation and/or products, e.g., worker accidents.
3. ESG Industry Report - ESG industry-level trends. Compares IVA ratings for major companies within an industry.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
HeinOnline Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes complete coverage beginning with the first volume of more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals, classic legal treatises from the 18th and 19th centuries, and English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867).
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Industry reports - current analysis of every US industry. Report chapters: Industry at a Glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Major Companies, Operating Conditions, Key Statistics.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Labor and Employment: The American Worker This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database brings together legislative histories on major legislation, briefs from Supreme Court cases, accounts of labor riots from the not-so-distant past, reports on working conditions of today, and more. Topics covered include issues such as Pensions & Retirement, Employment Benefits, Workplace Protections and Discrimination, Wages, and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database features a deep collection of comprehensive worldwide business information, including information from Hoover's, First Research and the D&B Million Dollar Database. Includes detailed information on over 245 million businesses with contact information for executives, demographics and behavior types for US households, Nielsen Pop Fact reports, and global corporate family trees.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publications of the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Books, reports and data for every OECD country. Coverage from 1998 to present, with data sets back to the 1960s.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legal encyclopedias, law reviews, and legal treatises; case, statutory, and regulatory law; newspapers and magazines; business data, 1980s-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Labor Studies

Quick Tip: Use Subject Headings

Creative Commons License

Find Articles, Journals and more

Recommended Tools