Labor Studies

A Guide to Labor Studies Resources at the UMass Amherst Libraries

Archival Collections at UMass Amherst

Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA) has rich Labor Collections where you may find historical documents, photographs and other artifacts relevant to your research. Search SCUA's database of holdings, Credo, for specific items. SCUA is located on the 25th floor of the Du Bois Library.

The Libraries provides access to many archival materials across disciplines. Those recommended more specifically for labor studies are listed below.

Recommended Tools

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid connects you with archives around the world to find historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
Content is freely available for use by all.
Archives Unbound: Latino Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection provides a broad variety of resources for the study of the varied, rich culture and history of Latin America and the Caribbean.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines key indices (Schomburg, IIBP, etc) to scholarship and primary sources in Afro-American studies.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Digital Commonwealth: Massachusetts Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Photographs, manuscripts, books, audio recordings, and other materials of historical interest made available by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies from across Massachusetts. Use the Advanced Search to look for the subject " labor unions", among others.
Content is freely available for use by all.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Every significant book or pamphlet printed in the UK, and English-language titles printed in America, between 1701 and 1800.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Browse to collections of archival materials and search within them.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Women and Social Movements International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women activists' letters and diaries, conference proceedings, and other primary and secondary sources 1840-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Labor Studies

Worker History

Creative Commons License

Archival Collections at UMass Amherst

Recommended Tools