LaTeX

One of the most common tools for incorporating citations and bibliographies into your work in LaTeX is the "natbib" package. You can activate the natbib package by including the command \usepackage{natbib} in your document preamble.

Setting the Style of Your References

You can change the formatting guidelines for the references in your document (in-text and bibliography) using the \bibliographystyle{x} command. In the mandatory argument, simply specify which style you would like to select. See here for a list of options. 

Citations possible using natbib:

• Textual Citations - \citet{x}
• Parenthetical Citations - \citep{x}

To cite a source, simply use one of the two commands above. In the mandatory argument, fill in the Reference Key(s) of the article(s) you want to cite (see Reference Databases and BibTex Entries for more information).

You can add other details to your citation using optional arguments. Text included in the first optional argument will appear at the beginning of the citation. Text included in the second optional argument will appear at the end of the citation. See the source code and resulting output below.

Adding a Bibliography Using natbib

To specify the reference database file you want to use for this project, use the \bibliography{x} command. This command will also insert the bibliography itself, so make sure to include it in your source code in a sensible location (e.g. at the end of your text). You can create a bibliography for multiple reference database files. Simply add the names of each file you intend to add to the bibliography, separated by commas (DO NOT INCLUDE SPACES! EVEN IN THE NAME OF THE FILE!).