This is the "Home" page of the "Basic Methods of Teaching Foreign Languages" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Basic Methods of Teaching Foreign Languages  

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2017 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/teaching-languages Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome! Bienvenue! Benvenuti! Bienvenidos!

This Library Research Guide is intended for students of the class on

Basic Methods of Teaching Foreign Languages

 

Books

To find books at UMass, you have two options.

1. Start with the general search box on the library home page, www.library.umass.edu.  
Advantages:

This catalog gives you access to libraries and collections throughout North America and beyond! It starts with UMass but does not limit you to our catalog.

Citations can be exported directly to RefWorks or other citation managers.

2. Or, use the Five Colleges Library Catalog.
Advantages:

This catalog lets you search in some very specifc ways, for example, by Library of Congress Subject Heading. Be as specific as possible in your searching. Start with a subject search (use keyword if subject yields no results). Search by author, title, subject, keyword, call number, journal title, etc. For materials on a specific subject, enter your term(s) into the Subject or Keyword search boxes.

Citations can be exported directly to RefWorks or other citation managers.

 

We order for you - for free!

Use your Interlibrary Loan account to:

  • Borrow books, videos, and other materials not available in the Five College system.
  • Request electronic copies of articles and book chapters not available at UMass.
  • In databases, and in your Refworks account, use the button to  taken directly to Interlibrary Loan, so you can order articles if UMass does not have them.

Databases for articles and research reports

  • ERIC
    Education journal articles and reports. Look at the "Descriptors" above the abstract of each result to get official subject headings, which often give you more or better results. Example: -teaching French pronunciation- versus -pronunciation instruction- and -French-.
  • Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
    Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    This is an excellent database for research in the Humanities in various languages and fields - literature, theater, and film studies.
  • Web of Science
    Allows multidisciplinary searches combining arts, humanities, social science and science. Good for seeing who cited whom. Good for academic book reviews.
  • Google Scholar
    Easy to search like Google, but returns only scholarly articles, books, dissertations. Look for "Get Full Text Via UMLinks" links next to some article titles.
  • ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)
    More than 2000 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing, 12th to 19th century.
 

Tip for databases

After you've run a search, use the button to retrieve articles or to be taken directly to the Interlibrary Loan request page, so you can order the article if UMass does not have it.

 

Citation Management

Use a citation manager, such as RefWorks to keep track of your research.

Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.

RefWorks

For help on RefWorks, check out the online guides and webinars or Ask a Librarian.

If you're looking for another citation management option to RefWorks, try Zotero.

 

French & Italian Library Resources

 

Evaluate the library class

Fill out this anonymous evaluation form and give us feedback on the library instruction by librarian Isabel Espinal.

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip