This is the "Getting Started/Databases" page of the "Anthropology of Food: Guide to Library Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology of Food: Guide to Library Research   Tags: anthropology  

Last Updated: Mar 7, 2017 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/foodandculture Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started/Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Citation Management

Use a citation manager, such as RefWorks to keep track of your research.

Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.

RefWorks

If you need more help or info on RefWorks, check out the online guides and webinars or Ask a Librarian.

If you're looking for another citation management option to RefWorks, try Zotero.

 

Food & Culture

Photo by Mercedes Dayanara.

These page leads to library resources for research on food and culture. Below are the most relevant databases of scholarly journal articles, which are usually the best sources for research papers. The tabs above lead you to subject searches for circulating books, and to online and print encyclopedias on food and culture. To the left, you'll find basic library information and help with the writing process; to the right, my contact information.

Databases for scholarly journal articles

If full-text isn't provided, click the red UMLinks button in the citation to check for other options.

  • Academic Search Premier
    A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
  • Anthopology Plus
    The scholarly literature of archeology and anthropology (biological, physical, linguistic, social and cultural) in several languages, late 1800s to present.
  • AnthroSource
    The full text of the 32 journals published by the American Anthropological Association, some dating back to the nineteenth century.
  • EHRAF World Cultures
    Thousands of ethnographies originally published as articles, books and dissertations. Its indexing traces social features across cultures, 1983-present.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    References to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and conference papers on sociology and related disciplines, 1960-present.
  • Web of Science
    Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in almost all important English-language journals. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.

Librarian

Profile Image
Isabel Espinal
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003

413-545-6971

iespinal@library.umass.edu
Send Email
About Me:
Reference & Research Assistance Desk hours, Spring 2017: Mondays 11:30-1, Tuesdays 5-7, and Wednesdays 9-10. In New Africa House: Tuesdays 1-2:30, room 323. Also available by appointment.
© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip