Latin American newspapersPeruvian colonial recordsSpanish Drama of the Golden Age
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Spanish & Portuguese Research Guide 

Last update: Sep 10th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/spanport  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Electronic resources             Print Page
  
 
 

Electronic Resources

Article databases (UMass only):

MLA International Bibliography
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920’s -

Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro
800 plays from Spain's golden age, the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. 1500-1700.

Linguistics Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for articles in the scholarly journals of linguistics, 1985-present.

Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
Contains both early and modern critical interpretations of the greatest writers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance and the Restoration. Part of Literature Criticism Online.

Literature Criticism Online
Biographies and substantial excerpts from critical responses over time, on the works of a huge number of authors from classical time to the present.

Literature Resource Center
A large collection of literature reference material, including criticism and author biographies.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Articles from scholarly journals on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the US -Mexico border area, and US Hispanics, 1970-present.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Citations to works published internationally on Latin America, produced by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, 1936-present. Public access version.

ClasePeriodica
Indexes thousands of Latin American science, social science and humanities journals. Articles in Spanish, Portuguese, French, English, 1975-present.

Informe
News and analysis of current conditions in Latin America. Current.

Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

Academic OneFile
A large, interdisciplinary collection of scholarly, professional and trade journal articles, 1980-present.

Humanities International Complete
Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
A bibliography of scholarly publications on the Middle Ages and Renaissance; the ITER Italia manuscript catalog; and three journals. Covers the period 400-1700; citations date back to 1784.

Free e-resources:

Biblioteca Virtual Cervantes
A project inaugurated in 1999 to make the bibliographic, historical, and documentary patrimony of the Latin American and Hispanic worlds widely available online. Contains thousands of full-text books, documents, and criticism online.

Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature (Iberian Studies)
A mega-gateway from the Western European Studies Section of ACRL (Association of College & Research Libraries), with links to electronic literature collections in Western European languages.

Dialnet
"Dialnet
es un portal de difusión de la producción científica hispana.Es necesario registrarse para suscribirse a los servicios de alerta y acceder a otras opciones personalizadas." Dialnet's home page says it has 5,520 journals and over 2 million documents. Individual registration is required. The interface is available in many other langauges besdies Spanish, including English.

Diccionario de la Real Academia Española
Online dictionary of the Real Academia Española, the "official" arbiter of the Castillian language.

Corpus de Español
This website allows you to quickly and easily search more than 100 million words in more than 20,000 Spanish texts from the 1200s to the 1900s.

Teatro del Siglo de Oro
Full-text works from the Spanish Golden Age, digitized by the Biblioteca Nacional in Madrid.

Iberian Studies Web
Colelction of online resources on Iberia assembled by the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries.

Basque Database
"The database provides access to information about Basque topics written or produced after 1994. Core journals are indexed completely while other journal articles appear in the database when they fit the scope of the database. Formats included are articles, books, chapters of edited books, dissertations, and other publications. Also included are Basque-related videos and DVDs, musical recordings, maps, and other media. The database currently contains more than 18,000 records."

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait