Libraries Ask Us

Communication

A subject guide for conducting research in the field of Communication.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good place to find some scholarly articles across different subjects. Go to the databases below to narrow your results to Communication or other subject fields.

Academic Library Databases in Communication & Other Subjects

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication scholarly journals and trade journals, plus articles on communication topics from related disciplines, 1915-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Oxford Bibliographies: Communication This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Expert discussion of topics and sub-topics in communication, with extensive annotated lists of best books and articles.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Communication-related items as well.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles and books on communication theory, interpersonal communication, mass communication, advertising and marketing, broadcasting, journalism, public opinion, and public relations. Coverage varies - earliest is 1915-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reviews from magazines and journals, 1914-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type: Business journal articles. Description: ABI/INFORM is the library's largest online full-text business journal collection. 3,000 business periodicals - peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, business magazines, 1960 - present, including the Wall Street Journal, 1984 - present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US and Canadian dissertations and theses from 1861 to present. Mostly full-text 1997 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to the humanities, social sciences, and non-technical general sciences, 1980-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
GovInfo This link opens in a new window
Access to Congressional bills and reports; public laws and regulations; executive and federal agency documents; a catalog of government publications, and links to government websites.
Content is freely available for use by all.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals on Latin America & the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border area, and U.S. Latinos, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Left Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in leftist periodicals, on labor, ecology & environment, race, social & cultural theory, 1982-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing for more than 1,500 major law reviews, legal newspapers, Bar Association journals and international legal journals, including more than 250 titles in full text.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s -
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles in journals covering theater, dance, film, and puppetry, 1864-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed journal literature in psychology, behavioral science and mental health - 2,500 journal titles indexed - 2.8 million records - 1887 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Several hundred U.S. alternative newsweeklies, covering issues like the environment, labor, public policy, and the peace movement, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. In several languages, 1965-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from a very wide variety of magazines, trade journals, and scholarly journals, 1980 - present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Newspaper: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of The New York Times, with coverage from 1851 to three years ago.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 newspapers and magazines from across the world.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password. As of May 2022, Pressreader no longer supports Internet Explorer, please use another browser for the best experience.
Readers' Guide Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles from popular periodicals from the U.S. and Canada, 1890-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image of every Wall Street Journal article from 1984 to today.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

eJournals

If you have a specific electronic journal title that you are looking for, you can search our A to Z list of subscription journals.

Last Updated: Oct 9, 2024 11:37 AM
URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/communication
Print Page

Subjects: Communication

Tags: communication, film, gender, junior_year_writing, mass_media, media, media_criticism, media_literacy, podcasting, race, radio, tv, visual_culture

Communication

Your Librarian

Instruction evaluation

Please let the library know what you thought of your library instruction session. All responses are anonymous.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good place to find some scholarly articles across different subjects. Go to the databases below to narrow your results to Communication or other subject fields.

Academic Library Databases in Communication & Other Subjects

eJournals