Scientific Publications: Retracted Publications and Related Topics
Sources of relevant international guidelines
... six main sources of relevant international guidelines on conducting, reporting, and editing research: *
Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE)
Promoting integrity in research publication: COPE is a forum for editors and publishers of peer reviewed journals to discuss all aspects of publication ethics. It also advises editors on how to handle cases of research and publication misconduct.
Consolidated Standards of Reporting Trials (Consort)
CONSORT, which stands for Consolidated Standards of Reporting Trials, encompasses various initiatives developed by the CONSORT Group to alleviate the problems arising from inadequate reporting of randomized controlled trials (RCTs).
- ClinicalTrials.gov ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
- Understanding controlled trials BMJ 1998;316:201
Council of International Organizations for Medical Sciences (CIOMS)
An international, non-governmental, non-profit organization established jointly by WHO and UNESCO in 1949.
International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE)
The ICMJE is a group of general medical journal editors whose participants meet annually and fund their work on the Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals
World Association of Medical Editors (WAME)
Publication Ethics Policies for Medical Journals: Established in 1995, WAME (pronounced “whammy”) is a nonprofit voluntary association of editors of peer-reviewed medical journals from countries around the world who seek to foster international cooperation among and education of medical journal editors.
World Medical Association (WMA)
The World Medical Association (WMA) is an international organization representing physicians. It was founded on 17 September 1947, when physicians from 27 different countries met at the First General Assembly of the WMA in Paris. The organization was created to ensure the independence of physicians, and to work for the highest possible standards of ethical behaviour and care by physicians, at all times.
" ... six main sources of relevant international guidelines on research, its reporting and editorial practice. "
Electronic Document Format (Vancouver) Gollogly Laragh, Momen Hooman. Ethical dilemmas in scientific publication: pitfalls and solutions for editors. Rev. Saúde Pública [serial on the Internet]. 2006 Aug [cited 2013 May 23] ; 40(spe): 24-29. Available from: http://www.scielosp.org/scielo.php?script=sci_arttext&pid=S0034-89102006000400004&lng=en. http://dx.doi.org/10.1590/S0034-89102006000400004.
Committee on Publication Ethics: Promoting integrity in research publication
- Code of Conduct and Best Practice Guidelines for Journal EditorsNote: This document combines the original COPE Guidelines from 1999, the Code of Conduct developed in 2003, and the Best Practice Guidelines developed in 2007. This revision was developed after wide consultation with COPE members and approved by the COPE Council on 7th March 2011.
The Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) was established in 1997 by a small group of medical journal editors in the UK but now has over 7000 members worldwide from all academic fields. Membership is open to editors of academic journals and others interested in publication ethics. Several major publishers (including Elsevier, Wiley–Blackwell, Springer, Taylor & Francis, Palgrave Macmillan and Wolters Kluwer) have signed up their journals as COPE members.
- Code of Conduct for Journal PublishersPublication ethics
- Committee on Publication EthicsCOPE provides advice to editors and publishers on all aspects of publication ethics and, in particular, how to handle cases of research and publication misconduct. It also provides a forum for its members to discuss individual cases (meeting four times a year in the UK and once a year in North America). COPE does not investigate individual cases but encourages editors to ensure that cases are investigated by the appropriate authorities (usually a research institution or employer).
- COPE CasesAll the cases COPE has discussed since its inception in 1997 have been entered into a searchable database. This database now contains over 400 cases together with the advice given by COPE.
- COPE flowchartsThe flowcharts are designed to help editors follow COPE’s Code of Conduct and implement its advice when faced with cases of suspected misconduct. They can be downloaded individually or as a complete set.
- COPE GuidelinesOther than the Code of Conduct and Best Practice Guidelines for Journal Editors and Code of Conduct for Journal Publishers, COPE has written guidelines on the following: COPE Ethical Guidelines for Peer Reviewers, Guidelines for retracting articles, Cooperation between research institutions and journals on research integrity cases, A Short Guide to Ethical Editing for New Editors, Guidelines for the Board of Directors of Learned Society Journals, Guidance for Editors, How to handle authorship disputes
- COPE International standards for editors and authorsDuring the 2nd World Conference on Research Integrity in Singapore in 2010, COPE helped develop two position statements setting out international standards for responsible research publication for editors and authors.
- COPE Retraction GuidelinesRetraction Guidelines from COPE
Consolidated Standards of Reporting Trials
- Consolidated Standards of Reporting TrialsCONSORT stands for Consolidated Standards of Reporting Trials and encompasses various initiatives developed by the CONSORT Group to alleviate the problems arising from inadequate reporting of randomized controlled trials.
- Consolidated Standards of Reporting TrialsA list of useful websites about clinical trials.
Council for International Organizations of Medical Sciences
- Council for International Organizations of Medical SciencesThe Council for International Organizations of Medical Sciences (CIOMS) is an international, non-governmental, non-profit organization established jointly by WHO and UNESCO in 1949. CIOMS represents a substantial proportion of the biomedical scientific community through its member organizations, which include many of the biomedical disciplines, national academies of sciences and medical research councils. CIOMS mission is to advance public health through guidance on health research including ethics, medical product development and safety.
International Committee of Medical Journal Editors
- International Committee of Medical Journal EditorsRecommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals
- International Committee of Medical Journal EditorsThe ICMJE is a small group of general medical journal editors and representatives of selected related organizations working together to improve the quality of medical science and its reporting.
World Association of Medical Editors
- World Association of Medical EditorsA global nonprofit voluntary association of editors of peer-reviewed medical journals
- World Association of Medical EditorsThe Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing
WAME has collaborated with the Committee on Publication Ethics, the Directory of Open Access Journals, and the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association to develop the following Principles. The Principles are available on the Web sites of all the participating organizations.
World Medical Association
- World Medical AssociationWhat Does the WMA Do? As an organization promoting the highest possible standards of medical ethics, the WMA provides ethical guidance to physicians through its Declarations, Resolutions and Statements.
- World Medical AssociationSince it was founded in 1947, a central objective of the WMA has been to establish and promote the highest possible standards of ethical behaviour and care by physicians. In pursuit of this goal, the WMA has adopted global policy statements on a range of ethical issues related to medical professionalism, patient care, research on human subjects and public health
- World Medical AssociationWMA Declaration of Helsinki - Ethical Principles for Medical Research Involving Human Subjects. The World Medical Association (WMA) has developed the Declaration of Helsinki as a statement of ethical principles for medical research involving human subjects, including research on identifiable human material and data.
UNESCO
- UNESCOBuilding peace in the minds of men and women
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
- Last Updated: Apr 2, 2024 4:43 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/scipub
- Print Page
