Polymer Science & Engineering

Property information

Look for information on a known or unknown substance in these resources.

Look for the substance (e.g. Gallium Arsenide) in a handbook or encylopedia. Often there is a section on properties. You may need to back up further (e.g. Gallium) to find what you need.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the 100th edition of this indispensable reference for chemical and physical data.
Covers topics including: Basic Constants; Nomenclature; Thermochemistry, Electrochemistry, and Solution Chemistry; Organic Chemistry; Inorganic Chemistry; Analytical Chemistry; Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy; Properties of Solids; Geophysics, Astronomy, and Acoustics; Health and Safety Information; Mathematical Tables; and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering by Herman F. Mark (Editorial Board Member); Norbert Bikales (Editorial Board Member); Charles G. Overberger (Editorial Board Member); Georg Menges (Editorial Board Member); Jacqueline I. Kroschwitz (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: TP1087.E46 1985
ISBN: 0471895407
Publication Date: 1985-01-18

Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley comprehensive reference guide with articles on topics in chemistry and chemical engineering; searchable by article keyword (topic) or article title.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Organic, organo-metallic, and inorganic chemistry data. Find structures, properties, synthesis possibilities, reactions and bioactivity data. Searchable by structure, substructure, reaction, text, and property data. Reaxys also searches NIH PubChem and eMolecules.
Must create an account with a UMass Amherst email address to first use the database. After initial account creation, available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

These indexing databases may contain articles with properties data.

CAS SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
FIRST-TIME USERS: Click more... below to create an account to use SciFinder
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases of chemistry and related scientific fields. Mid 1800's - present. Includes step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more.
To use SciFinder, you must create an account using your UMass Amherst email address. Click here to create the account.

After initial account creation, available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Freely available

MatWeb - A free materials information database with materials property data including metals, plastics, ceramics, & composites.
National Institute of Standards & Technology - Promotes U.S. innovation & industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, & technology in ways that enhance economic security & improve our quality of life. Includes: Material Measurement Laboratory and NIST Physical Reference Data