Skip to main content

Newspaper Collection: Foreign Newspapers by Country & City

US Newspaper Collection: Introduction

The following geographical listing of international newspapers is arranged by country and then alphabetically by city. Brackets [ ] indicate incomplete holdings. For the most accurate holdings information consult with a Reference Librarian or check the online catalog.  Current UMass Amherst students, faculty, and staff enjoy remote access to the online resources while others are welcome to use these resources within the University Libraries.

The W.E.B. Du Bois Library at the University of Massachusetts Amherst houses an outstanding newspaper collection. Acquired through purchase, donation, and subscription, these primary sources document historical events as they occurred by those who witnessed them.  Newspapers provide a treasure-trove of information for genealogists - vital research clues (relationships, dates, addresses, etc.), insights into ancestors’ daily lives, and private tidbits unavailable elsewhere.

Newspapers: Afghanistan - England

Country & City Newspaper Name Holdings Location
Afghanistan        
Kabul Bakhtar News Agency 03/20/2011 Online: Middle East Newsstand
2011- Online: LexisNexis Academic
Killid Weekly 03/20/2011- Online: Middle East Newsstand
Algeria
Algiers Le Soir Republicain 09/1939-01/1940 UM Microfilm A209
 Angola      
Benguela Tribuna de Benguela 07/08/1919-10/20/1919 Online: African Newspapers
Luanda Diario de Luanda 1961-1966 UM Microfilm A53
Voz de Angola 01/05/1908-04/27/1911 Online: African Newspapers
Argentina
Bariloche Auquin 1982 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
Buenos Aires Amanecer [1981] UM Microfilm A265
Amaru 12/1981 UM Microfilm A265
Antimitomania [1979, 1981, 1982] UM Microfilm A265
Clarin 09/1962-1981 UM Microfilm A907
Contracultura [1970] UM Microfilm A265
Eco Contemporaneo [1963-1965, 1967-1969] UM Microfilm A265
Ensayo Cultural [1968-1969] UM Microfilm A265
La Epoca 12/1915-09/1930 UM Microfilm A259
Gazeta Mercantil 1994-2002 Online: LexisNexis Academic
2000-2009 Online: Westlaw Campus Research
Grito 08/1974 UM Microfilm A265
Kosmos 01/1982 UM Microfilm A265
Mutantia [1980-1984] UM Microfilm A265
La Nacion 1951-1988, [1991-1995] UM Microfilm A90
[2002-2003, 2008-2009]- UM Microfilm A90
1905-1922 Online: Latin American Newspapers
Noesis Revista 08/1981 UM Microfilm A265
La Prensa 10/18/1869-1993 UM Microfilm A2
10/18/1869-1922 Online: Latin American Newspapers
Quijote Spring 1982, Fall 1983 UM Microfilm A265
Razon 01/09/1920-1922 Online: Latin American Newspapers
Rolanroc 1974 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
Standard 05/01/1861-12/18/1881 Online: Latin American Newspapers
La Vanguardia 1894-1987 UM Microfilm A224
04/07/1894-1922 Online: Latin American Newspapers
Cabildo  Expreso Imaginario [1980] UM Microfilm A265
Australia
Adelaide On Dit [1973] UM Microfilm A265
Carlton The Digger [1973-1975] UM Microfilm A265
Fairfield Comunicacion 01/1981-02/1981 UM Microfilm A265
Melbourne The Australian Women's Weekly 10/22/1982 UM Microfilm A265
2010- Online: LexisNexis Academic
Hard Times 07/1980 UM Microfilm A265
Lot's Wife [1975, 1980, 1982-1984] UM Microfilm A265
Monee Ponds Farrago 75 [1975] UM Microfilm A265
St. Mary The New Times 06/1976 UM Microfilm A265
Sydney Loose Licks 08/1976 UM Microfilm A265
Mejane [1971] UM Microfilm 2337 Reel 2
Austria
Vienna AA Commune 01/1975 UM Microfilm A265
Bahrain
Manama Daily Tribune 10/27/2011- Online: Middle East Newsstand
2012- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
Gulf Daily News 06/06/2008- Online: Middle East Newsstand
2008- Online: LexisNexis Academic
TradeArabia 03/10/2008- Online: Middle East Newsstand
2008- Online: ABI Inform Complete
2008- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
Barbados
Barbados Barbados Gazette 11/06/1731 Online: Burney Collection
Bridge Town Barbados Mercury 10/28/1780-10/27/1781 Online: Burney Collection
Belgium
Antwerp Real Free Press Illustratie [1968-1970] UM Microfilm A265
Brussels Agenor [1981-1983, 1985] UM Microfilm A265
Amenophis [1969] UM Microfilm A265
Die Rote Fahne: Ehemaliger Berlliner Lokal-Anz. 1918-[1933] UM Microfilm A31
Leige The Stars and Stripes 02/1945-04/1945 Online: CRL
Bolivia
La Paz Informe R [1985] UM Microfilm A265
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Abertura Cultural 1976 undated issues UM Microfilm A265
Correio da Manha 1962-[1966]-1974 UM Microfilm A139
Jornal de Letras 1949-1992 UM Microfilm A354
Jornal do Commercio 08/31/1884-1901 Online: Latin American Newspapers
Luta and Prazer 1981 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
Opiniao 10/1972-04/1977 UM Microfilm A825
O Pasquim 02/03/1982 UM Microfilm A265
The Rio News 1879-1900 UM Microfilm A864
Sao Paulo Escrita [1976] UM Microfilm A265
O Estado de Sao Paulo 1890-[1956]-[1973-74]- [1976]-1989 UM Microfilm A301
01/04/1875-1922 Online: Latin American Newspapers
Mulherio 1981-1988 UM Microfilm A1138
A Provincia de Sao Paulo 1875-1889 UM Microfilm A301
Brunei
Kuala Belait The Borneo Bulletin 01/08/1997-10/05/2011 Online: ProQuest Asian Business
Bulgaria
Sofia ADP News Middle East & Africa 03/20/2011- Online: Middle East Newsstand
Cameroon
Buea Cameroon Postline 11/21/2012- Online: Middle East Newsstand
2012- Online: LexisNexis Academic
2012- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
Canada
Castlegar The Arrow [1975] UM Microfilm A265
Chatham Provincial Freeman 1854-1857 Online: African-Am. Newsp: 19th cent.
Edmonton Alberta Sweetgrass 12/31/1993- Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
Buffalo Spirit 02/28/2000--6/30/2000 Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
Canada Goose [1968-1969] UM Microfilm A265
Poundmaker [1974] UM Microfilm A265
Raven's Eye 05/31/1997-10/2006 Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
Ryce Street Fysh Markete [1968] UM Microfilm A265
Saskatchewan Sage 10/31/1996-02/2013 Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
Windspeaker 01/04/1993- Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
Fort William Small Change [1968] UM Microfilm A265
Hamilton Charasee Press [1971-1972] UM Microfilm A265
Lennoxville The Campus [1971-1974, 1978-1981] UM Microfilm A265
Milton The Five Penny Gazette 09/1976 UM Microfilm A265
Montreal Le Devoir 12/1959-12/1982 UM Microfilm A870
Current issues Du Bois Library 5th Floor
Logos [1967-1970, 1972-1973] UM Microfilm A265
Mainmise [1973-1977] UM Microfilm A265
Montreal Community Contact 09/30/1994- Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
News from Vietnam [1973] UM Microfilm A265
Pop-see-cul Autumn 1967 UM Microfilm A265
The Rebel 1968 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
Sanity [1963-1967] UM Microfilm A265
Le Temps Fou [1982-1983] UM Microfilm A265
Up to the Neck [1973] UM Microfilm A265
Vietnam: News & Reports [1973] UM Microfilm A265
Le Voyage [1968-1969] UM Microfilm A265
Oakville Sweeney [1969] UM Microfilm A265
Ottawa Canadian Free Press [1967-1968] UM Microfilm A265
Capital Xtra 11/08/2007-02/12/2015 Online: LGBT Life with Full Text
Octopus [1968-1970] UM Microfilm A265
Peterborough The Nuclear Free Press [1985] UM Microfilm A265
Regina The Carillon [1968-1969, 1972-1973] UM Microfilm A265
Prairie Fire: an Independent Community Newswkly [1969-1970] UM Microfilm A265
St. Catherines Alternate Society [1969-1970] UM Microfilm A265
Toronto Alternative to Alienation [1974, 1976] UM Microfilm A265
The American Exile in Canada [1968-1969] UM Microfilm A265
Amex-Canada [1969, 1972-1975] UM Microfilm A265
The Financial Post 10/1918-10/1998 UM Microfilm A279
The Financial Post of Canada 1907-10/1918 UM Microfilm A279
The Free Press [07/1973] UM Microfilm A265
The Globe and Mail 1949- UM Microfilm A22
Harbinger [1968-1971] UM Microfilm A265
Kali-Yuga Times 07/1969 UM Microfilm A265
National Post 10/27/1998- UM Microfilm A1181
North American Anarchist [1979-1981] UM Microfilm A265
The Provincial Freeman [1853-1857] Online: Accessible Archives
Rochdale [1976] UM Microfilm A265
Satyrday: The Village [1966-1968] UM Microfilm A265
Something 1968  2 undated issues UM Microfilm A265
Strike [1981-1985] UM Microfilm A265
Toronto Clarion [1976-1985] UM Microfilm A265
Tribal Village [1969] UM Microfilm A265
Velvet Fist [1970-1971] UM Microfilm 2337 Reel 4
Vancouver Aurora Vancouver Free Press [1968] UM Microfilm A265
British Columbia's Blackout [1982] UM Microfilm A265
Georgia Straight: Vancouver's Free Press [1967-1979] UM Microfilm A265
The Grape [1972-1973] UM Microfilm A265
Open Road [1977-1984] UM Microfilm A265
The Pedestal [1969-1971] UM Microfilm A265
[1969-1971] UM Microfilm 2337 Reel 3
Resistance Winter 1984, Spring 1985 UM Microfilm A265
Rumbles! 1981 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
Speak Out 11/1979 UM Microfilm A265
Terminal City Express [1973] UM Microfilm A265
The Western Gate [1968] UM Microfilm A265
Western Voice 01/09/1975-01/14/1975 UM Microfilm A265
Xtra 01/03/2008-02/19/2015 Online: LGBT Life with Full Text
Xtra West 11/08/2007-02/12/2015 Online: LGBT Life with Full Text
Yankee Refugee: W. Coast Newsl of Am Exiles [1968-1969] UM Microfilm A265
Victoria Humanist in Canada [1974-1976] UM Microfilm A265
Waterloo Admininews 03/19/1969 UM Microfilm A265
The Chevron [1968-1974] UM Microfilm A265
Winnipeg The Artisan 05/1968 UM Microfilm A265
Black Cat 1968 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
Herizons 1992- Online: GenderWatch
1994- Online: Academic Search Premier
2002- Online: LexisNexis Academic
Loving Couch Press [1968] UM Microfilm A265
Omphalos [1969] UM Microfilm A265
Cape Verde
Cabo Verde Vozdipovo 1976-1989 UM Microfilm A1057
New Bedford No Pintcha 1976-1989 UM Microfilm A1055
Chile
Santiago El Mercurio 1956-[1959]-[1983]- 04/1988 UM Microfilm A145
06/01/1914-1922 Online: Latin American Newspapers
Reportaje DESAL [1967-1968] UM Microfilm A265
China
Beijing Peking Daily News 02/20/1914-10/31/1917 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
Peking Gazette 08/14/1915-11/20/1917 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The Peking Leader 06/01/1918-10/31/1919 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
Ren Min Ri Bao (People's Daily) 1946- Online: Oriprobe Version
Canton The Canton Times 1919-1920 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The Chinese Repository 1832-1851 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
Guangzhou The Canton Times 01/06/1919-08/31/1920 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
Hong Kong Extracts from China Mainland Publications 1962-1964 UM Microfilm A786
Minus 8 05/1976-07/1976 UM Microfilm A265
Minus 9 [1975] UM Microfilm A265
Peking Daily News 1914-1917 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
Peking Gazette 1915-1917 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The Peking Leader 1918-1919 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The Wall Street Journal Asia 01/07/1991- Online: ProQuest Asian Business
Kuang-Chou The Chinese Repository 05/01/1832-08/01/1851 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
Shanghai The China Critic 01/05/1939-05/09/1946 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
China Monthly Review 09/01/1950-07/01/1953 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The China Press 01/1925, 06/1925, 08/1925-1938 UM Microfilm A106
1925-12/30/1938 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The China Weekly Review 06/23/1923-08/05/1950 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The Chinese Recorder   02/01/1912-12/01/1938 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The Chinese Recorder and Educational Review 1939-12/01/1940 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The Chinese Recorder and Missionary Journal 06/01/1868-01/01/1912 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
Jie Fang Ri Bao 05/1941-02/1947 UM Microfilm A794
Millard's China National Review 05/24/1919-06/28/1919 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers

Newspapers: Afghanistan - England

Country & City Newspaper Name Holdings Location
Shanghai Millard's Review of the Far East 06/09/1917-05/17/1919 Online:ProQuest Chinese  Newspapers
07/05/1919-05/28/1921 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The North China Herald 08/1850-12/1918, 07/1919-11/1941 UM Microfilm A113
08/03/1850-03/30/1867 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The North China Herald and Market Report 04/08/1867-12/04/1869 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The N. China Herald & Supreme Ct & Cons. Gaz. 01/04/1870-11/19/1941 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The Shanghai Gazette 11/01/1919-09/20/1920 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The Shanghai Times 02/11/1914-03/31/1921 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The Weekly Review 07/08/1922-06/16/1923 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
The Weekly Review of the Far East 06/04/1921-07/01/1922 Online: ProQuest Chinese Newspapers
Taipei Min Xu Ri Bao Volume 3 UM East Asian AP 95 C4 M352
Min Hu Ri Bao= The People's Wail Volumes 1-2 UM East Asian AP 95 C4 M35
Zhongguo Ri Bao Volumes 1-4 UM East Asian AP 95 C4 C38
Yantai Shi Lao Dongri Bao=Laodong Ribao 10/25/1958-11/16/1958 Online: CRL
Colombia
Bogota Alternativa 1974-1975 UM Microfilm A826
Olvidate [1967-1968] UM Microfilm A265
Semanario Alternative 1975-1980 UM Microfilm A826
El Tiempo 07/1930-1960, 1970-[1983] UM Microfilm A406
La Florida El Ecologo [1981-1982] UM Microfilm A265
Cote d'Ivoire
Abidjan Abidjan Matin 1959-1964 UM Microfilm A48
Cuba
Havana Bohemia 1956-1983 UM Microfilm A282
[1967-1970] UM Microfilm A265
1975- UM AP 63 B7 Per
Current issues Du Bois Library 5th Floor
Diario de la Marina 09/01/1899-1909 Online: Latin American Newspapers
Direct from Cuba [1969-1973] UM Microfilm A265
Granma Weekly Review [1970-1973] UM Microfilm A265
Granma Wkly Rev: Off. Organ of the Central Com... 02/1966-1997 UM Microfilm A204
The Havana Post 1913-1921 UM Microfilm A1336
Noticias de Hoy 1959-10/1965 UM Microfilm A919
OCLAE [1967-1971] UM Microfilm A265
[1967-1987] UM LA 438.7 O7 Per
Revolucion 1959-10/03/1965 UM Microfilm A920
Tricontinental [1970-1973] UM Microfilm A265
Tricontinental (English edition) 1971-1980 UM HX 9 T75 Per
11/1972-1973 UM SCUA Vega 173-174
Tricontinental (Spanish edition) 11/1968 UM SCUA Vega 170-171
Cyprus
Nicosia Cyprus Mail 04/25/2008- Online: Middle East Newsstand
2008- Online: LexisNexis Academic
2008- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
Financial Mirror 09/30/2009- Online: Middle East Newsstand
2009- Online: LexisNexis Academic
2009- Online: ABI Inform Complete
Czech Republic
Prague Rude Pravo 1953-1965 UM Microfilm A418
Denmark
Copenhagen Super Love [1968-1969] UM Microfilm A265
Dominican Republic
Santo Domingo El Caribe 1948-[1965]-[1987] UM Microfilm A150
Egypt
Cairo Al-Ahram Gate 11/18/2012- Online: Middle East Newsstand
2011- Online: LexisNexis Academic
Al-Ahram Hebdo 11/21/2012- Online: Middle East Newsstand
2012- Online: LexisNexis Academic
Al-Ahram Weekly 11/13/2012- Online: Middle East Newsstand
2012- Online: LexisNexis Academic
2012- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
Daily News Egypt 10/03/2008- Online: Middle East Newsstand
2008- Online: LexisNexis Academic
2008- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
The Egyptian Gazette 1952, 1954, 1956, 1958 Online: CRL
07/1963-12/1963, 1967 Online: CRL
06/17/2010-08/21/2013 Online: Middle East Newsstand
2010- Online: LexisNexis Academic
El Salvador
San Salvador El Diario de Hoy 1936-1955 UM Microfilm A151
England
Aylesbury The Spade and Whip and Buck's Weekly Times 01/01/1874-06/20/1874 Online: NCCO
Bath Bath Chronicle 01/1874-07/14/1796 Online: Burney Collection
Bath Herald 08/03/1793 Online: Burney Collection
Bath Herald and Register 01/21/1797 Online: Burney Collection
Bath Journal 08/19/1776-01/07/1793 Online: Burney Collection
Birmingham The Democrat & Labour Advocate 11/03/1855-12/08/1855 Online: NCCO
Future Studies Centre Newsletter [1981-1983] UM Microfilm A265
Swinney's Birmingham & Staff Chron & Cov Gaz 07/21/1791 Online: Burney Collection
Ten "8" [1981, 1984-1985] UM Microfilm A265
Boston, U.K. The Labor League Examiner 05/09/1874-02/26/1881 Online: NCCO
Bradford The Labour Journal 09/30/1892-12/02/1892 Online: NCCO
The Labour Union Journal 05/26/1892-06/30/1892 Online: NCCO
Brighton Women in Libraries [1981] UM Microfilm A265
Bristol Bristol Oracle and Country Advertiser 09/08/1744 Online: Burney Collection
Bristol Oracle and Country Intelligencer 04/14/1744 Online: Burney Collection
Felix Farley's Bristol Journal 01/05/1782-12/26/1789 Online: Burney Collection
Sarah Farley's Bristol Journal 08/03/1793 Online: Burney Collection
Camelford Resurgence [1980-1985] UM Microfilm A265
Chester Chester Chronicle and General Advertiser 10/01/1779-05/19/1784 Online: Burney Collection
Chester Chronicle or Commercial Intelligencer 05/02/1775-06/11/1779 Online: Burney Collection
Colchester Wyvern [1973] UM Microfilm A265
Coventry Miners' Weekly News 08/16/1873-01/17/1874 Online: NCCO
Exeter Brice's Weekly Journal 04/30/1725-02/06/1730 Online: Burney Collection
Exeter Mercury or Weekly Intelligence 04/10/1716-01/19/1722 Online: Burney Collection
Farley's Exeter Journal 05/20/1726-11/08/1728 Online: Burney Collection
Jos Blis's Exeter Post Boy 05/04/1711 Online: Burney Collection
Gloucester Gloucester Journal 02/21/1727-02/16/1789 Online: Burney Collection
Hebden Bridge The Clear Light 06/01/1923-07/01/1925 Online: NCCO
Hereford British Chronicle or Pugh's Hereford Journal 03/28/1771-09/07/1780 Online: Burney Collection
Huddersfield Yorkshire Factory Times 1890 Online: NCCO
Leeds Future Studies Centre Newsletter [1981-1983] UM Microfilm A265
Leeds Intelligencer 07/02/1754-06/30/1866 Online: Burney Collection
Leeds Student [1975] UM Microfilm A265
Northern Lights 04/1982-05/1982 UM Microfilm A265
Leicester Leicester Herald 01/12/1793-02/02/1793 Online: Burney Collection
The Leicestershire Movement 02/09/1850-06/15/1850 Online: NCCO
The Midland Workman and General Advertiser 10/12/1861-02/01/1862 Online: NCCO
Lewes Sussex Weekly 07/03/1797-07/17/1797 Online: Burney Collection
Liverpool General Advertiser Liverpool 04/18/1777-08/13/1779 Online: Burney Collection
Liverpool General Advertiser 08/04/1785 Online: Burney Collection
The Radical Register, and Liberal Gazette 02/20/1835 Online: NCCO
Williamson's Liverpool Adv. & Mercantile Chron. 07/10/1778-09/21/1780 Online: Burney Collection
© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.