Sport Management
Your Librarian
Contact Information
Welcome!
Contact Business Librarian Alison Messier for help with homework assignments, thesis preparation, research, special projects or any questions about using the UMass Amherst Libraries. In-person or virtual appointments can be scheduled for research consultations, reference questions, assignment assistance, or for general information. Follow the "Make An Appointment" link on the left-hand side to request an appointment with Alison. For instant service, please visit our Get Help page, or use the links to the left below.
Fall 2024 "Meet with the Business Librarian" Hours!
In-person
- Wednesdays (starting 9/11), 2:30 - 5 p.m., ISOM Rm. N342
- Thursdays (starting 9/12), 10 a.m. - 1 p.m., ISOM Learning Commons/Business Hub
Is another time more convenient? Feel free to email Alison at amessier@umass.edu to request a time that works best for your schedule.
Where to Start
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text sports and sport medicine journals. Subject coverage: coaching, consumer health, exercise science, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, occupational health/safety, physical education, physical therapy, sport sciences. Includes the NCAA News, 2005 to present. - Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annual time-series data - sports participation, sports attendance, sporting goods sales. Sports trade journal articles. Directories - associations/governing bodies, high school, college and pro sports, sporting goods vendors, sport management education. - Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legal encyclopedias, law reviews, and legal treatises; case, statutory, and regulatory law; newspapers and magazines; business data, 1980s-present. - ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type: Business journal articles. Description: ABI/INFORM is the library's largest online full-text business journal collection. 3,000 business periodicals - peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, business magazines, 1960 - present, including the Wall Street Journal, 1984 - present. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content Type: Business journal articles, company reports. Description: Peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, and business magazines. Company SWOT reports. Includes the Harvard Business Review, Volume 1 (1922) to present. - IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Industry reports - current analysis of every US industry. Report chapters: Industry at a Glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Major Companies, Operating Conditions, Key Statistics. - Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database features a deep collection of comprehensive worldwide business information, including information from Hoover's, First Research and the D&B Million Dollar Database. Includes detailed information on over 245 million businesses with contact information for executives, demographics and behavior types for US households, Nielsen Pop Fact reports, and global corporate family trees. - Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1,000+ current consumer market reports - analyze consumer market drivers, market size, segmentation, consumer characteristics, supply structure, advertising, promotion, retail distribution. SECTORS: Automotive, beauty, fashion, financial services, food & drink, food service, health & wellness, household, leisure, entertainment, travel, tourism.
Mintel no longer allows full PDF downloads of reports. Customized PPT downloads are still available and all of the same data and insights. Proxy users will need to create a profile to download.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
