Japanese 381: Junior Year Writing on Japan
This is a guide for undergraduates who want to limit their research to English language resources.
Historical Backfiles of the News
- Japan Times Archives This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Digitized issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser (Morning ed.) , Japan Times and Advertiser (Evening ed.) and the Nippon Times; includes all issues since March 22, 1897. - Yomidasu Rekishikan ヨミダス歴史館 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Japan's largest newspaper, Yomiuri Shinbum, in full text, 1874-present. Includes English edition, Daily Yomiuri, 1989-present. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
- Historical Newspaper: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of The New York Times, with coverage from 1851 to three years ago. - Historical Newspaper: Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts' newspaper of record, 1872-1991. Additional content is added yearly.
Users must limit their search to "full text" on the left side of the screen to make sure they only get results that include the Full Text. Without the limiter, the "abstracts" will be indexed as well. - PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 newspapers and magazines from across the world.
Free Newspapers
Current contents only. Rarely are there backfiles available for free.
- Asahi Evening Newsno back issues available for free.
- Mainichi Daily NewsSearch capability doesn't list specific coverage, but some searches bring back results from the 1990s. Some articles are free and others are subscription or fee based.
