HONORS 499C Bioterrorism: Interdisciplinary Perspective on International, Political & Scientific Challenges
Resources for annotated bibliography and other assignments
- Articles & Books
- Tips & Video Tutorials
- Thesis Writing Tips & Info
- Websites mentioned during Ellen's class visit
- Other Websites for Health-Related Information
- Websites for Health Policy Information
- Websites for Bioterrorism Info
- Evaluating Journal Quality
Websites mentioned during Ellen's class visit
- Research Administration & Compliance at UMass AmherstSpecific Quick Links we highlighted:
Animal Subjects / IACUC
Biosafety / IBC
Human Subjects / IRB
- Retraction WatchTracking retractions as a window into the scientific process
- NIH Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools (RePORT)"In addition to carrying out its scientific mission, the NIH exemplifies and promotes the highest level of public accountability. To that end, the Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH supported research."
Other Websites for Health-Related Information
- World Health Organization (WHO)Includes health-related statistics for almost 200 countries
- Information is BeautifulCreates colorful visualizations with various types of data. Categories include health, climate and science.
- NIH Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools"In addition to carrying out its scientific mission, the NIH exemplifies and promotes the highest level of public accountability. To that end, the Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH supported research."
- CIA World Fact Book"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map."
Websites for Health Policy Information
Trusted websites can provide valuable information about an issue, some that may not be found in academic journal articles.
- Kaiser Family FoundationDiverse information on health policy and national health news including interactive graphs, infographics, and charts.
- Kaiser Health NewsUpdated daily, Kaiser Health News provides both emerging health policy topics and links to additional information
- HealthLandscapeInteractive website where you can map county-level demographic and health data.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)CDC is a good source for updated facts and figures on a whole host of different health topics.
Good resource to get the numbers and impact figures you may need to make the case for your issue.
- The Commonwealth FundInformation on health policy, healthcare delivery system, data, and research focusing on vulnerable populations.
- National Conference of State Legislators (NCSL)Good research on what legislation is currently being deliberated and past legislative activity.
- Academy HealthHealth policy research and policy information.
- Office of The Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE)Information on policy research, evaluation, legislation, and more with reports, data, and graphics available at the site. An office of the U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services.
- Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF)Find updated news, reports, and data on pertinent health policy and health system topics.
- American Health Care AssociationProvides information on the health care delivery system including legislation, research and data, and publications.
- Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)Research, reports, data, statistics, and policy information relating to relevant healthcare topics. An agency of the U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services.
- National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP)Provides publications, reports, data, and statistics on state health policy topics.
- State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC)Current publications including issue briefs and reports on emerging health policy topics.
- State Health CompareCurrent information on state health insurance coverage, access, and cost, analyzed by SHADAC.
- Explore Census Data (formerly American Fact Finder)Gather the most up-to-date demographic information on the US population including insurance coverage, access, education, age, and more. You can refine by state, county, and zip-code to get particular information.
- American Community SurveyData, statistics, interactive graphs/charts, publications, and reports on the US population. From the US Census Bureau.
- Health AffairsPeer-reviewed publication with reports, data, and information for healthcare related issues.
- National Governor's AssociationCompilation of legislative activity in the States. Visiting the State Health Policy Options page provides information on health related policy.
- Massachusetts Health and Human ServicesYou can do a Google search to find websites for other states.
- Massachusetts Department of Public HealthYou can do a Google search to find websites for Public Health Departments in other states.
- Healthy People"Healthy People 2030 sets data-driven national objectives to improve health and well-being over the next decade."
Websites for Bioterrorism Info
- Disaster Lit: Resources Guide for Disaster Medicine & Public Health"Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience."
- Biodefense & Related Programs (National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Diseases)"NIAID conducts and supports basic and applied research to better understand, treat, and ultimately prevent infectious, immunologic, and allergic diseases. For more than 60 years, NIAID research has led to new therapies, vaccines, diagnostic tests, and other technologies that have improved the health of millions of people in the United States and around the world. NIAID is one of the 27 Institutes and Centers of the National Institutes of Health (NIH)."
- Bioterrorism Preparedness and Response Act of 2002"The events of Sept. 11, 2001, reinforced the need to enhance the security of the United States. Congress responded by passing the Public Health Security and Bioterrorism Preparedness and Response Act of 2002 (the Bioterrorism Act), which President Bush signed into law June 12, 2002."
- OSHA Bioterrorism Site"Bioterrorism is the intentional use of micro-organisms to bring about ill effects or death to humans, livestock, or crops. The use of micro-organisms to cause disease is a growing concern for public health officials and agricultural bodies. The terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001 and the subsequent bio-terrorist releases of anthrax have led to an increased awareness of workplaces as possible terrorist targets. Specific OSHA Safety and Health Topics Pages are available on Plague, Ricin, Smallpox, Tularemia and Viral Hemorrhagic Fevers (VHFs)."
- CDC BioterrorismInformation for both professionals and the general public
- Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management (CHEMM)From the US Dept of Health & Human Services, goal is Enable first responders, first receivers, other healthcare providers, and planners to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals"
- FDA Counterterrorism & Emerging Threats"FDA plays a critical role in protecting the United States from chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear, and emerging infectious disease threats. FDA ensures that medical countermeasures (MCMs)—including drugs, vaccines and diagnostic tests—to counter these threats are safe, effective, and secure."
- Federation of American Scientists"The Federation of American Scientists (FAS) provides science-based analysis of and solutions to protect against catastrophic threats to national and international security. Specifically, FAS works to reduce the spread and number of nuclear weapons, prevent nuclear and radiological terrorism, promote high standards for nuclear energy’s safety and security, illuminate government secrecy practices, as well as prevent the use of biological and chemical weapons."
- Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)From the US Dept of Health & Human Services, goals include to "provide guidance for health care providers, primarily physicians, about clinical diagnosis and treatment of radiation injury during radiological and nuclear emergencies; and provide just-in-time, evidence-based, usable information with sufficient background and context to make complex issues understandable to those without formal radiation medicine expertise"
- Last Updated: Feb 22, 2023 11:22 AM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/honors499c
- Print Page
Subjects: Biology, Public Health
Tags: bioterrorism, capstone, HONORS 499C, honors499c