HONORS 499C Bioterrorism: Interdisciplinary Perspective on International, Political & Scientific Challenges
Resources for annotated bibliography and other assignments
Places to find Public Health Data
NOTE: Due to Presidential Executive Orders issued in early 2025, most of the U.S. government agency websites listed below have removed or will be removing data on a wide range of health issues, focusing on those that look at disparities based on race, sexual orientation, and gender identity. Due to the outcome of multiple lawsuits, many of the webpages have been or will soon be restored to how they appeared on Jan. 29, 2025.
There are many initiatives to protect these data and continue to make them accessible. The first link below is to Data Lumos, one of the sources that has lots of health-related data.
If you need help finding data, please don't hesitate to contact me!
-
DataLumosDataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to DataLumos.
-
CDC Data and StatisticsData and statistics on a variety of topics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
-
Child & Family Data Archive"Launched in 2019, the Child and Family Data Archive (CFData) preserves and disseminates data on topics related to young children, their families and communities, and the programs that serve them. CFData holds hundreds of datasets and accompanying documentation for secondary data analysis on important issues of policy and practice relevance, including data previously housed with Child Care and Early Education Research Connections (CCEERC)."
-
Data.gov"The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more." -
Dataset Catalog at NLMfrom the website: "The Dataset Catalog is a catalog of biomedical datasets from various repositories for users to search, discover, retrieve, and connect with datasets to accelerate scientific research. This beta version aims to collect user feedback to inform future product development."
-
Google Dataset SearchFrom their About page: "Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful."
-
ICPSR Data"An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields." -
National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research (NCCOR) Measures RegistryA collaboration among CDC, NIH, USDA, and Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. The registry "is a searchable database of diet and physical activity measures relevant to childhood obesity research. Its purpose is to standardize use of common measures and research methods across childhood obesity research at the individual, community, and population levels."
-
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development DASH (Data and Specimen Hub)"The NICHD Data and Specimen Hub (DASH) is a centralized resource that allows researchers to share and access de-identified data from studies funded by NICHD. DASH also serves as a portal for requesting biospecimens from selected DASH studies."
-
PMC Article Datasetsoptions for text-mining PubMedCentral articles
-
USDA FoodData Central"FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research."
-
The World Bank Health Nutrition and Population Statistics"Health Nutrition and Population Statistics database provides key health, nutrition and population statistics gathered from a variety of international and national sources. Themes include global surgery, health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, infectious diseases, medical resources and usage, noncommunicable diseases, nutrition, population dynamics, reproductive health, universal health coverage, and water and sanitation."
-
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new windowStatistics from U.S. agencies on population, society, trade, the government, and much more, 2013-present. This for-profit version continues Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1878-2012.
-
Proquest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowReferences to statistical reports from federal, state and local governments, private organizations, and intergovernmental agencies, 1973-present.
-
Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowMaps illustrating Census data from 1790 to 2010, with recent community, religion, and carbon emissions data.
