Information and Computer Sciences

Helpful People

Who	What	Where
Librarians! My name is Rebecca and I'm the librarian for the College of Information and Computer Sciences.	There's a librarian for every subject! They can answer your questions about finding, accessing, and managing academic resources. If you'd like to see which librarian works with a particular field, search "Find Your Librarian" by subject or keyword.	You can reach me by email to make an appointment for a consultation. If you need a quick answer, you can Get Help! via email, phone, or chat.
Learning Resource Center (LRC)	Help with homework, tutoring, and supplemental instruction. Offers several sections for Information and Computer Sciences!	Online appointments and drop-ins.
CICS Writing Center	Work with you at any point in the writing process. Sign up for an appointment and meet online with a CICS Writing Center tutor!	Online appointment.

You are entitled to all the content that the Libraries provide. Make sure the Libraries' resources among those that you use to find research!

Discovery Search: The default search box on the Library's homepage searches the Five College catalogs and *some* of the databases we subscribe to. You will find many articles, books, reference materials, and electronic resources -- but not all that may be relevant to your work.

Databases A-Z: A searchable list of all the databases that the Libraries have access to. It can point you to content in your subject area of interest (e.g., computer science, engineering, business, philosophy). The most frequently used databases are listed first. Check out the listing of computer science-specific databases, too.

Get Help!
This is the Libraries' knowledgebase for services and resources. If you have a question, the answer may already be here! If it is not, you can chat with a librarian to get an answer.
Borrowing Library Materials
Information for students on borrowing materials from the Libraries.
Digital Media Lab
Located on the Lower Level of the Du Bois Library, the Digital Media Lab (DML) offers 3D printing, poster printing, media production, equipment and software to support your work with video, audio, animation, and 3D modeling.
Five College Libraries
As a member of the Five Colleges (UMass Amherst, Smith College, Mount Holyoke College, Hampshire College, & Amherst College), you have access to all of these libraries!
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan is a partnership with other libraries to help you gain access to books and articles not in our collection! When UMass Amherst doesn't subscribe to something important that you need for your work, ILL is there to query our hundreds of partner institutions. It's a great way to expand your access to materials! You tend to get an article emailed to you within 48 hours, and a book will be delivered within a week.

Unpaywall Browser Extension
Unpaywall is an open database of over 22 million open access scholarly articles harvested from repositories and publishers around the world. Use the browser extension to see if there is an OA copy of the article you are looking for.