Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences
Tips and resources for Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences (formerly Communication Disorders)
Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences Reference Resources
Reference materials are a great way to get a broad overview of background information on a topic. Start with reference works to help you choose or define a research topic. Reading some basic background information will lead you to new terminology and concepts which you can then use to search databases or the library catalog for more specific information on a narrower portion of the topic.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781412959377Publication Date: 2009
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders by Call Number: E-book RC423 .M56 2004ISBN: 0262112787Publication Date: 2004Also available in print:
UM Reference / RC423 .M56 2004
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by Call Number: P29 .E48 2006ISBN: 0080442994Publication Date: 200614-volume set
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences by Call Number: P29 .C28 2009ISBN: 9780521866897Publication Date: 2011
The Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics by Call Number: P129 .E527 2013ISBN: 9781405194730Publication Date: 201310-volume set
Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Communications Disorders by Call Number: RC423 .M597 1997ISBN: 1897635834Publication Date: 1997
Terminology of Communication Disorders by Call Number: RC423 .N52 2004ISBN: 0781741963Publication Date: 2004
Comprehensive Dictionary of Audiology by Call Number: RF291 .S73 2003ISBN: 1401848265Publication Date: 2003
Singular's Illustrated Dictionary of Audiology by Call Number: RF290 .M464 1999ISBN: 1565939506Publication Date: 1999
Supplementary Dictionary of Audiology by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780199651467Publication Date: 2012
Job Information
Communication Sciences and Disorders by Call Number: RC428.5 .W55 2012ISBN: 9780805861815Publication Date: 2012
