Libraries Ask Us

History 372 - Early American Thought and Culture

Catalogs

WorldCat
Catalog of books from thousands of libraries around the world that can be accessed freely from any location. However, you cannot request books through Interlibrary Loan from this site.
Google Books Advanced Search
Google Books is a service from Google Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and stored in its digital database.
Google Scholar Advanced Search
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Scholarly Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to the humanities, social sciences, and non-technical general sciences, 1980-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Digitized Primary Sources

Historical Newspaper: Hartford Courant This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Connecticut's paper of record, 1764-1997. New content added yearly.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The 125,000 earliest books published in English, as listed in Short Title Catalogs of Pollard & Redgrave (Ref Z 2002 P77) and Wing (Ref Z 2002 U587), 1475-1700.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies from 1606-1822.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Women’s Early Modern Letters Online (WEMLO) This link opens in a new window
Approximately 2,300 early modern women’s letters from Early Modern Letters Online
Content is freely available for use by all.

Newspapers by Decade

Early American Newspapers
Online and in microform.

Microform Collections

The UMass Libraries have dozens of microform collections related to the history of early America. Collections are arranged A to Z by title-keyword. Each entry contains the collection name, description and microform number. Click the to view the Library Catalog record.

Microforms are held in a non-public area of the library. Library users must fill out an Online Request Form to access the collection. Requests are picked up at the Circulation Desk and then viewed in the new Microforms Viewing Room, Room 49, Learning Commons, Du Bois Library.

Identify Collection:	Browse this guide A to Z by title-keyword, or use the guide search box above, or search in the Library Catalog.
Complete Request Form:	Online Request Form - include name, email address, microform title and UM Microform number. Confirmation is sent by email.
Retrieve Microform:	Retrieve microforms at the Circulation Desk (545.2623), on the west side of the Learning Commons, Du Bois Library.
View Microform:	Microforms Viewing Room, Room 49, Learning Commons, For help, go to Learning Commons Desk (413.577.1272).

Adams family - Microfilms of the Adams Papers	UM Microform A313	Public/private Adams family journals, letters, state papers.
Adams, Samuel, papers	UM Microform 11179	1635-1826. Revolution. patriot, MA legislator, Cont. Cong. delegate.
Africa. Exploration & colonization of Africa	UM Microform 12366	1794-1844. British Colonial Office letters, treaties, journals.
Allston, Washington. Papers	UM Microform 5555	1800-43. Artist, poet, SC native. Letters, bio. items, lectures, sketchbooks.
American culture series, 1493 - 1875	UM Microform A81	Books, pamphlets. 5,000 titles, Mostly written, published in US.
American natural history	UM Microform 12084	Explorers' jrnls./travelers' accts. from American frontier days. 302 titles.
American prose fiction series, 1774-1900	UM Microform A97	Novels, short stories, romances. 11,000 titles, US authors.
American periodicals series, 18th century	UM Microform A82	88 periodicals published in US, 1741-1800, Series 1.
American periodicals series, 1800 - 1850	UM Microform A83	Periodicals published in the US, Series II.
Andrews, John A., papers	UM Microform 7708	1772-1895. Prominent anti-slavery lawyer, MA Civil War governor.
Archivo General de las Indias. Seville.	UM Microfilm A434	16th-17th century colonial documents mainly from Mexico and Peru.
Bartlett, Josiah, Papers, 1729-1795	UM Microform 4063	NH governor and physician, legislator, militia colonel.
Belcher, Jonathan, Governor, letter books	UM Microform 736	1723-1754. Colonial governor, Harvard graduate, wealthy Boston merchant.
B.F. Stevens' facsimiles	UM Microform 949	British confidential documents from the American Revolutionary period.
Biddle, Captain James, journal, 1817-1819	UM Microform D225	Naval master-commandant. Took possession of the OR Territory in 1817.
Blaine, Ephraim Papers	UM Microform 1503	1766-1805. Merchant, Continental Army Commissary General. 3,500 items.
Boston Overseers of the Poor records	UM Microform 12367	1733-1925. Administrative/almhouse/temporary home/misc. records
Bridgman, Elijah Papers 1820-1839	UM Microform 1411	Missionary in China. Letters, sermons, biographical materials.
British periodicals in the creative arts	UM Microfilm A1164	1700s-early 1900s. Fine arts, architecture, archeology, drama, music.
British sessional papers. House of Commons	UM Microprint 47	1731-1969 Reports, bills, treaties, correspondence,"white papers."
Burke, Edmund, 1729-1791, papers	UM Microform 10543	British statesman, notes/papers on America, Indians, Ireland, etc.
Byles family papers	UM Microform 7265	1757-1837. Loyalist family corresp., Boston, some fled to Halifax.
Cabot, Samuel, papers	UM Microform 7112	1713-1858. Boston China merchant also engaged in opium trade.
Cameron, Simon papers, 1738-1919	UM Microform 1507	U.S. Secretary of War, Senator, Minister to Russia.
Census. Census roll, 1835, Cherokee Indians east of MS	UM Microform D171	AKA Henderson Roll. Lists 900+ Heads of Households in AL, GA, NC, TN.
Census. Census of Creek Indians 1832	UM Microform D237	Principal chiefs and heads of families. Counts males, females, slaves.
Census. First census, 1790 US population schedules	UM Microfilm D252	Only Heads of Households' names appear.
Census. First census, 1790 US population schedules	UM Microfilm D253	Printed schedules published in 1907-08.
Census. Second census 1800 US population schedules	UM Microfilm D254	Only Heads of Households' names appear.
Census. Third census 1810 US population schedules	UM Microfilm D255	Questions and age categories are identical to 1800 US census.
Census. Fourth census 1820 US population schedules	UM Microfiom D256	Noted occupations and naturalization. Counted males 16-18.
Census. Fifth census 1830 US population schedules	UM Microfilm D257	Only Heads of Households' names. First to use uniform, printed forms.
Channing, William Ellery, papers	UM Microform 7119	1791-1892. Unitarian minister, liberal relig. thought spokesman, author.
Child, Lydia Maria. Collected correspondence	UM Microfiche 121	1817-80. MA author/activist's 2,604 letters re: women's rights, abolition, etc.
City & business directories, United States through 1860	UM Microfiche 19	First Segment, 1647 city directories, earliest Baltimore, 1752.
Cobb, David. Papers	UM Microform 5790	1708-1833. M.D., Revo. War officer, MA Lt.Gov/H.Speaker/Sen. Pres.
Colman, Benjamin. Papers	UM Microform 5787	1641-1763. Prominent Presbyterian minister of Boston's Brattle St. Ch.
Consular officers, U.S., List. 1789-1939	UM Microfilm D156	By country with personal and employment information.
Constitutions and laws of the American Indians	UM Microform 3714	Printed constitutions, statutes, etc. from 13 tribes and nations.
Continental Congress. Papers	UM Microform D7	1774-1789. Variety of records from Continental/Confederate Congresses.
Cuffe, Paul collection c. 1742-1963	UM Microform 2469	Highly successful African American merchant, ship captain, Abolitionist.
Dall, Caroline H., Papers	UM Microform 7117	1811-1917. Leading reformer/essayist, anti-slavery & women's suffrage.
Davis, John. Papers	UM Microform 276	PA militia capt. who procured/transported Continental Army provisions.
Decimal file, 1910-29	UM Microform D Ser.	State Dept. correspondence with diplomatic/consular officials, individuals.
Dee, John. Books and manuscripts	UM Microform 11802	1527-1608. Reconstructed lib. of Dee, astrologer, mathematician, collector.
Diplomats. List of U.S. diplomatic officers, 1789-1939	UM Microform D185	By country with personal and employment information.
Diplomats. Notes from foreign legations, 1791-1906	UM Microform D Ser.	Communications to State Dept., foreign legations/embassies in the US.
Diplomats. Dispatches, 1792-1906	UM Microform D Ser.	Reports to the State Dept. from US diplomatic representatives abroad.
Diplomats. Dispatches from U.S. consuls in...	UM Microform D Ser.	1797-1906. Communication to State Dept., Commerce, US citizens.
Documents...des Archives...de la Gironde...	UM Microform 1261	MSS of 18th cent. tax assessment, sugar trade, slavery, America.
Du Bois, W.E.B., Papers: 1803(1877-1963) 1965	UM Microfilm 4877	150,000+ items from UMA collection. Black reform leader, scholar, author.
Early American newspapers	UM Microprint 1 - 60	1704-1820. 54+ newspapers from CT, GA, MA, NY, PA, RI, VA
Early British periodicals	UM Microform A333	168 periodicals, 18th/19th century.
English literary periodicals	UM Microform A88	200 titles, 17th-19th centuries, British literary review journals.
Everett, Edward, 1794-1865. Papers	UM Microform 3596	Senator, Congressman, Sec. of State, MA gov., Harvard pres., pastor.
Les Femmes...rare works from France	UM Microfiche 597	1676-1952. 129 titles by & about women, Biblio. Nationale. In French.
Forbes papers	UM Microform 1497	Merchants engaged in China trade, sea safety, Chinese botany.
Franklin, Benjamin. Account books	UM Microform 3821	1743-1787. Domestic, personal, public, business, & Phila. P.O. accts.
French books before 1601	UM Microform A96	Short-title catalogue of French books, 1740 to 1600.
Fulham papers at Lambeth Palace Library	UM Microform 1508	17th-18th cent. correspondence of colonial clergy & the Bishop of London.
Gallatin, Albert (1761-1849). Papers	UM Microform 1501	U.S. Treasury Secretary and Congressman, diplomat.
German baroque literature	UM Microfilm A231	2,363 titles from 1575-1740. Based on Yale's collection.
German books before 1601	UM Microform A94	Books printed in the German-speaking countries, 1455-1600
German & Austrian drama	UM Microform 6809	3,308 titles, German & Viennese plays/opera libretti, pub. 1740-90.
Gilbert, W.S., Correspondence, diaries...	UM Microform 12365	From the British Lib. Literary MSS, prompt copies, drawings, music.
Gloucester records 1642-1874	UM Microfilm A632	Town, parish meetings, Selectmen and Assessors records, deeds.
Green, Nathanael Papers	UM Microform 255	Continental Army Major- and Quartermaster-General.
Greenwich (Mass.). Town records	UM Microfilm A244	1782-1916. Town meeting minutes; militia, pew, and voter lists.
Hadley, MA, Proprietors' records; highways	UM Microfilm A241	1659-1813. Originals and transcriptions.
Hadley, MA, Votes and minutes, etc.	UM Microfilm A242	1659-1954. Town meeting records.
Hampshire County, MA, Probate records	UM Microfilm 1555	1660-1820. Manuscript volumes.
Hancock Family papers	UM Microform 5792	1728-1815. Mainly re: wealthy Boston merchant Thomas & nephew John.
Harbottle Dorr...annotated Massachusetts newspapers	UM Microform 2332	1765-1776. Dorr's collection, 7 papers, broadsides & pamphlets.
Hardy, Thomas, Original manuscripts and papers	UM Microform 3822	Manuscripts, scrapbooks, posters, biographical material.
Hispanic culture series, books before 1601	UM Microform A152	Spanish, Spanish American, Portuguese books printed before 1601.
Historic American Buildings Survey	UM Microfiche 238-	Graphic record, 1933 of American building art. Photos, description.
Historic American Building Survey - Measured drawings	UM Microform 5022	Highly accurate detailed drawings based on existing structures.
History of women	UM Microfilm 6811	1700s to 1920. Books, pamphlets, manuscripts, photographs.
Hopedale Community, 1821-1938	UM Microform 5018	Founded in Mendon, MA 1846. Books, pamphlets, photos, MSS.
House of Commons, Committee reports, 1715-1801	UM Microform 2856	First Series. 100+ reports on all aspects of 18th century life.
Jackson, Andrew. Papers, microfilm supplement	UM Microform 7722	1770-1845. 14,000 documents supplementing the LC microfilm.
Jefferson, Thomas. Papers	UM Microform 7723	Corresp., court cases, acct. books, etc. Primarily polit./legal.
Journaux ephemeres de la periode de la revolution	UM Microfilm A342	95 titles issued in Paris 1789-1792.
Knox, Henry (1750-1806). Papers	UM Microform 312	Secretary of War, Revolutionary War major-general. 1719-1825.
Latrobe, Benjamin Henry. Papers	UM Microfiche 552	Architect, engineer. Designed homes, public structures, waterways.
Lee family papers, 1742-1795	UM Microform 581	Successful merchants who served in Congress & foreign ministers.
Lexington alarm	UM Microform 4196	Handwritten town lists of those responding to April 19, 1775 alarm.
Livingston William, Papers, 1695-1839	UM Microform 932	Militia command, Continental Congress delegate, NJ's 1st governor.
Louisbourg papers: expedition of 1745	UM Microform 738	William Pepperrell commanded siege, Fr. Cape Breton garrison.
Low Countries, Books printed before 1601	UM Microform A126	Based on British Museum. Department of Printed Books.
Maclure collection of French Revolutionary materials	UM Microform 4376	25,000 French Revolution publications: newspapers, petitions.
Mascarene family papers, 1687-1839	UM Microform 1390	Correspondence, etc. from Nova Scotia's Lt.-Governor + NS Loyalists.
Massachusetts Archives	UM Microfilm A180	328 vols. 17th-18th century military, land, court, etc. records.
Massachusetts, Continental Loan Office records	UM Microform 7957	1771-91. Est. to fund the Revo. Loan/liquidated debt certif., letters, etc.
Massachusetts, Lists of the polls and...estates...1784	UM Microfilm 8730	Assessors' returns of 44 MA towns. List buildings, cattle, acreage, etc.
Massachusetts, Local tax list through 1776	UM Microform 1579	Tax lists of MA towns for the Colonial period. Salem only 1682-1773.
Massachusetts, Maritime records, 1779-1788	UM Microfilm A360b	MSS records from MA Superior Court Judicature & Supreme Judicial Court.
Massachusetts, Returns, accts. MA regiments/battalions	UM Microform 7266	1779-82. # officers, phys. desc., arms/ammunition/rations accts.
Massachusetts, Province in rebellion	UM Microfiche 25	1774-75. Transcripts of 1,100 records from royal/revolutionary govt. in MA.
Massachusetts, Superior Court of Judicature, 1692-1780	UM Microfilm A360a	34 vols. of MSS records from MA Superior Court of Judicature.
Massachusetts, Tax valuations	UM Microfilm 12374	Town valuation summaries 1784-5, 1791, 1831, 1841, 1850, 1860.
Mathers, Cotton. Papers	UM Microform 7850	1636-1724. Cong. minister 2nd Ch. of Boston. Diaries, sermons, corresp.
Mather, Increase, microfilm project	UM Microform 7851	"Foremost American Puritan" of his day. 2nd Ch. Boston minister, Harv. pres.
Mazzei, Philip. Papers	UM Microform 5548	1730-1818. Italian merchant/diplomat. Nat. citizen of VA. Am. Revo. advocate.
Mexico. Correspondence, filibustering expedition	UM Microform D172	1811-1816. 30+ items including letters to James Madison & James Monroe.
Mexico. Independent Mexico in newspapers, 19th cent.	UM Microfilm A 1280	1807-1900. Selected titles, UTexas Benson Latin American Collection.
Middlesex Co...towns through 1830, Records	UM Microfilm A588	MSS vital records, tax lists, etc. Some may go well beyond 1830.
Morris, Gouverneur Papers	UM Microform 223	US Senator, Continental Congress member, Minister to France, lawyer.
Naval Astronomical Expedition. Correspondence	UM Microform D194	Letters, notebooks, telescopic observations near Santiago.
Naval Office shipping lists for Mass., 1686-1765.	UM Microform 1502	Boston, Salem, Marblehead, Newbury, York. Some cargo included slaves.
Negro in the military service of the U.S.	UM Microform D312	Documents copied from primary sources for AGO's Colored Troops Division.
Oliver family papers, 1419-1946	UM Microform 5543	Distinguished family of varied careers - MA chief justice/lt. gov., MDs, etc.
Oneida Community	UM Microform 2648	1834-1972. Books, pamphlets, serials. 19th century NY Perfectionists.
Otis, Harrison Gray. Papers	UM Microform 5679	1691-1870. Federalist, lawyer, Congressman, Senator, Boston mayor.
Parker, Theodore. Papers	UM Microform 5678	1826-62. Boston Unitarian minister & social causes advocate. Letters, diaries.
Pattison, James, papers 1777-1781	UM Microform 2284	British general, artillery officer. New York city/garrison commandant.
Pelham (Mass.). Records, 1743-1779, 1792	UM Microfilm A246	355 items including town meeting minutes, valuations, voter lists, etc.
Penn, Thomas, Papers, 1729-1832	UM Microform 1264	Wm. Penn's son, PA proprietor, and major landowner residing in England.
Perkins, Thomas Handasyd, papers	UM Microform 7267	1789-1892. Business recs., corresp., successful Boston China merchant.
Pickering, Timothy papers	UM Microfilm 319	Revolutionary War Quartermaster General, Secretary of War and State.
Prescott, MA town records	UM Microfilm A243	Town meeting and misc. records.
Price, Ezekiel, Papers, 1754-1785	UM Microform 740	Letters, petitions, etc. re: the Am. Revolution, Maine lands, Boston.
Pynchon, Major John, Account Books	UM Microform 1489	Son of Springfield MA founder, principal merchant for W. New England
Quincy, Wendell, Holmes, Upham families. Papers	UM Microform 6021	1633-1910. Clergy, physician, Congressman, Patriot, author, etc.
Revolutionary War prize cases	UM Microform D38	1776-1787. Appeals cases concerning captured British vessels.
Rowan, Stephen C., papers, 1826-1890	UM Microform D205	Vice & Rear Admiral, Commandant Navy Yard NY, Supt. Naval Observatory.
Salem (Mass.). Town clerks records	UM Microform A245	MSS. records 1865-1899. Tax records 1800-1810 & 1830-1850.
Sargent, Winthrop, papers	UM Microform 318	Continental Army major, NW Territorial adm., MS Territory's 1st gov.
Sedgwick Papers, Catherine Maria	UM Microform 7707	Popular novelist, b. in Stockbridge, MA. Corresp., diaries, mss., 1798-1908.
Shaw, Lemuel, papers	UM Microform 1388	Massachusetts Chief Justice, General Court representative, State senator.
Smith-Townsend papers, 1670-1892	UM Microform 5546	Medford Smiths, Lynn Townsends. Descendants, lt. col., surgeon, loyalist.
Sol Feinstone collection of the American Revolution	UM Microform 2295	1,800 original manuscripts, including letters from many notables.
Spanish drama of the Golden Age	UM Microform 6578	3,200+ plays from the 17th-early 19th centuries.
Strong, Caleb. Papers	UM Microform 5788	1657-1818. Deeds, wills, corresp. of Strong Sr. & Jr. (MA gov., US Senator).
Sumner, Charles. Papers	UM Microform 11803	US Senator, anti-slavery/civil rights proponent. 26,000+ letters.
Thoreau: Walden and other manuscripts	UM Microform 11794	Journals, poetry, essays, translations, letters.
Utah and the Mormons	UM Microform 1509	Rare books, pamphlets, periodicals, serials. Also includes Utah history.
Wales & America: documents...National Library of Wales	UM Microform 5899	17th-19th centuries. Welsh migration to America. MSS, letters, sermons.
Ward, Artemas. Papers	UM Microform 1506	Revolutionary War Major-General, Continental Congress member, court justice.
Warren-Adams papers	UM Microform 5881	1767-1822. Letters, John/Abigail/Samuel Adams, James/Mercy O.Warren.
Warren, Mercy. Papers, 1709-1841	UM Microforms 739	Historian, poet, dramatist from Plymouth, MA.
Winthrop papers	UM Microform 5353	1537-1905. 3 centuries of letters, diaries, etc. incl. those of Gov. Winthrop.
Wirt, William. Papers	UM Microform 7713	US Attorney General, eminent lawyer, successful orator/author/historian.
Witchcraft in Europe and America	UM Microform 12083	1,045 titles. 15th-20th centuries. Rare primary/secondary sources.
Women. American women's diaries	UM Microform 7720	Seg. 1: New England. 8 middle & upper class women. 18th-early 20th cent.