This is the "1600-1799" page of the "Newspaper Collection: US Newspapers by Decade" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspaper Collection: US Newspapers by Decade  

Last Updated: Aug 1, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/NewspapersByDecade Print Guide RSS Updates

1600-1799 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

US Newspapers by Decade - Introduction

The following listing of U.S. newspapers by decade is arranged by state and then alphabetically by city. Brackets [ ] indicate incomplete holdings. In many cases only the holdings most closely pertaining to the decade appear rather than the complete holdings for that title. For the most accurate holdings information consult with a Reference Librarian or check the online catalog.  Current UMass Amherst students, faculty, and staff enjoy remote access to the online resources while others are welcome to use these resources within the University Libraries.

The W.E.B. Du Bois Library at the University of Massachusetts Amherst houses an outstanding newspaper collection. Acquired through purchase, donation, and subscription, these primary sources document historical events as they occurred by those who witnessed them.  Newspapers provide a treasure-trove of information for genealogists - vital research clues (relationships, dates, addresses, etc.), insights into ancestors’ daily lives, and private tidbits unavailable elsewhere.

 

Newspapers: 1600 - 1799

State/City
Newspaper Name Holdings Location
1600-1699        
Massachusetts
Boston Publick Occurrences 09/25/1690 UM F 67 H67
1700-1709
Massachusetts
 Boston Boston News-Letter  04/24/1704-1726 UM Microprint 20
 1710-1719 04/24/1704-06/30/1707 UM F 67 H67
Massachusetts
Boston Boston Gazette [1719-1741] UM Microprint 25
Boston News-Letter 04/24/1704-1726 UM Microprint 20
Pennsylvania  
Philadelphia The American Weekly Mercury 12/1719-05/1746 UM Microprint 33
1720-1729
Maryland
Annapolis Maryland Gazette (1727) 04/22/1729-07/15/1729 Online: Burney Collection
Massachusetts
Boston Boston Gazette [1719-1741] UM Microprint 25
1721-05/21/1722 Online: Burney Collection
Boston News-Letter 04/24/1704-1726 UM Microprint 20
The New England Courant 08/1721-06/1726 UM Microprint 3
08/1721-09/09/1723 Online: Burney Collection
The New England Weekly Journal 03/1729-10/1741 UM Microprint 28
The Weekly News-Letter 01/05/1727-10/22/1730 UM Microprint 20
Pennsylvania
Philadelphia The American Weekly Mercury 12/1719-05/1746 UM Microprint 33
Pennsylvania Gazette 09/1729-06/1778 UM Microfilm A935
The Universal Instructor in All Arts and Sciences... 12/1728-09/1792 UM Microfilm A935
1728-1729 Five College Depository
1730-1739
Massachusetts
Boston Boston Evening Post 08/18/1735-04/25/1775 UM Microprint 50
Boston Gazette [1719-1741] UM Microprint 25
Boston Weekly News-Letter 10/29/1730-08/25/1757 UM Microprint 20
The Boston Weekly Post-Boy 04/1735-06/1750 UM Microprint 15
The New England Weekly Journal 03/1729-10/1741 UM Microprint 28
The Weekly Newsletter 01/05/1727-10/22/1730 UM Microprint 20
The Weekly Rehearsal  09/1731-08/1735 UM Microprint 3
New York
New York New York Weekly Journal 11/1733-03/1751 UM Microprint 23
Pennsylvania
Philadelphia The American Weekly Mercury 12/1719-05/1746 UM Microprint 33
Pennsylvania Gazette 09/1729-06/1778 UM Microfilm A935
01/27/1737-09/20/1750 Online: Burney Collection
South Carolina
Charleston South Carolina Gazette 09/10/1737 Online: Burney Collection
1732-1775 Online: Accessible Archives
1732-12/11/1775 Online: CRL
Virginia
Williamsburg Virginia Gazette (Parks) [1736-1781] UM Microfilm A134 Reels 1-6
08/12/1737 Online: Burney Collection
Virginia Gazette 08/12/1737-08/19/1737 Online: Burney Collection
1740-1749
Maryland
Annapolis Maryland Gazette (1745) 05/10/1749 Online: Burney Collection
Massachusetts
Boston Boston Evening Post 08/18/1735-04/25/1775 UM Microprint 50
Boston Gazette [1719-1741] UM Microprint 25
Boston Gazette or New England Weekly Journal 10/20/1741 UM Microprint 25
Boston Gazette or Weekly Journal 10/27/1741-1752 UM Microprint 25
Boston Weekly News-Letter 10/29/1730-08/25/1757 UM Microprint 20
The Boston Weekly Post-Boy 04/1735-06/1750 UM Microprint 15
The New England Weekly Journal 03/1729-10/1741 UM Microprint 28
New York
New York New York Weekly Journal 11/1733-03/1751 UM Microprint 23
Pennsylvania
Philadelphia The American Weekly Mercury 12/1719-05/1746 UM Microprint 33
Pennsylvania Gazette 09/1729-06/1778 UM Microfilm A935
1728-1800 Online: Accessible Archives
01/27/1737-09/20/1750 Online: Burney Collection
The Pennsylvania Journal or Weekly Advertiser [12/1742-12/1780] UM Microfilm A277
South Carolina
Charleston South Carolina Gazette 1732-1775 Online: Accessible Archives
1732-12/11/1775 Online: CRL
Virginia
Williamsburg Virginia Gazette (Parks) [1736-1781] UM Microfilm A134 Reels 1-6
1750-1759
Connecticut
New London New London Summary or The Weekly Advertiser 1758-1763 UM Microfilm A1051
09/1758-06/1763 UM Microprint 48
Massachusetts
Boston Boston Evening Post 08/18/1735-04/25/1775 UM Microprint 50
Boston Gazette and Country Journal 04/12/1756-04/05/1779 UM Microprint 25
Boston Gazette or Country Journal 04/1755-04/05/1756 UM Microprint 25
Boston Gazette or Weekly Advertiser 1753-04/01/1755 UM Microprint 25
Boston Gazette or Weekly Journal 10/27/1741-1752 UM Microprint 25
The Boston News-Letter 10/1757-03/1762 UM Microprint 20
The Boston Post-Boy 06/1750-1754 UM Microprint 15
Boston Weekly Advertiser 08/1757-1758 UM Microprint 15
Boston Weekly News-Letter 10/29/1730-08/25/1757 UM Microprint 20
The Boston Weekly Post-Boy 04/1735-06/1750 UM Microprint 15
Green & Russell's Boston Post-Boy & Advertiser 1759-05/1763 UM Microprint 15
New York
New York The Independent Reflector 11/1752-11/1753 UM Microfilm A82 Reel 13
New York Gazette 08/1759-1767 UM Microprint 22
New York Mercury 08/1752-01/1768 UM Microprint 21
New York Weekly Journal 11/1733-03/1751 UM Microprint 23
Weyman's New York Gazette 02/1759-08/1759 UM Microprint 32
Pennsylvania
Philadelphia Pennsylvania Gazette 09/1729-06/1778 UM Microfilm A935
1728-1800 Online: Accessible Archives
01/27/1737-09/20/1750 Online: Burney Collection
The Pennsylvania Journal or Weekly Advertiser [12/1742-12/1780] UM Microfilm A277
The Universal Instructor in All Arts & Sciences... 12/1728-09/1792 UM Microfilm A935
South Carolina
Charleston South Carolina Gazette 1732-1775 Online: Accessible Archives
1732-12/11/1775 Online: CRL
Virginia
Richmond Supplement to The Virginia Gazette [1752, 1755] Online: Accessible Archives
The Virginia Gazette 1751-1757, 1759 Online: Accessible Archives
Williamsburg Virginia Gazette (Parks) [1736-1781] UM Microfilm A134 Reels 1-6
1760-1769
Connecticut
Hartford Connecticut Courant 1764-1774 UM Microprint 60
The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
New London  New London Gazette  1763-1773 UM Microprint 12 
New London Summary 06/1763-09/23/1763 UM Microfilm A1051
06/1763-09/1763 UM Microprint 48
New London Summary or The Weekly Advertiser 1758-1763 UM Microfilm A1051
09/1758-06/1763 UM Microprint 48
Georgia
Savannah The Georgia Gazette 1763-1770 UM Microfilm A850
04/1763-05/1770 UM Microprint 29
Massachusetts
Boston The Boston Chronicle 10/1767-06/1770 UM Microprint 1
[1769] UM Microfilm 2332
[07/1769-08/1769] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Boston Evening Post 08/18/1735-04/25/1775 UM Microprint 50
[1765, 1767-1775] UM Microfilm 2332
[1765, 1767-1775] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Boston Gazette and Country Journal 04/12/1756-04/05/1779 UM Microprint 25
[1765-1777] UM Microfilm 2332
[1765-1777] Online: Mass. Historical Society
The Boston News-Letter 10/1757-03/1762 UM Microprint 20
The Boston News-Letter & The New Eng Chronicle 1762-03/1763 UM Microprint 20
The Boston Post-Boy and Advertiser 05/1763-09/1769 UM Microprint 15
[1765, 1767] UM Microfilm 2332
[1765, 1767] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Boston Weekly News-Letter [1769] UM Microfilm 2332
[1769] Online: Mass. Historical Society
The Boston Weekly News-Letter & the Mass. Gaz. 05/26/1768-09/21/1769 UM Microprint 20
Green & Russell's Boston Post-Boy & Advertiser 1759-05/1763 UM Microprint 15
The Massachusetts Gazette & Boston News-Letter 04/07/1763-05/19/1768 UM Microprint 20
[1765] UM Microfilm 2332
[1765] Online: Mass. Historical Society
The Mass. Gazette & The Boston Post-Boy & Adv. 10/1769-04/1775 UM Microprint 20
[1769-1773] UM Microfilm 2332
[1769-1773] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Salem The Essex Gazette 04/1768-05/1775 UM Microprint 16
New York
New York New York Gazette 08/1759-1767 UM Microprint 22
New York Gazette and The Weekly Mercury 02/1768-11/1783 UM Microfilm A1041
New York Journal or General Advertiser 10/16/1766-08/29/1776 UM Microfilm A313
New York Mercury 08/1752-01/1768 UM Microprint 21
Pennsylvania
Philadelphia Pennsylvania Chronicle and Universal Advertiser 1767-02/1774 UM Microprint 24
03/16/1767-03/23/1767 Online: Burney Collection
Pennsylvania Gazette 09/1729-06/1778 UM Microfilm A935
1728-1800 Online: Accessible Archives
The Pennsylvania Journal or Weekly Advertiser [12/1742-12/1780] UM Microfilm A277
The Universal Instructor in All Arts and Sciences... 12/1728-09/1792 UM Microfilm A935
Der Wochentliche Pennsylvanische Staatsbote 01/1768-05/1775 UM Microfilm A233
Der Wochentliche Philadelphische 03/1763-12/1767 UM Microfilm A233
Rhode Island
Providence Providence Gazette and Country Journal 1762-01/1795 UM Microprint 59
South Carolina
Charleston South Carolina and American General Gazette 1765-1775 Online: Accessible Archives
South Carolina Gazette 1732-1775 Online: Accessible Archives
1732-12/11/1775 Online: CRL
Suppl. to The South Carolina & Am. Gen. Gazette 04/18/1764 Online: Accessible Archives
Suppl. to The South Carolina Gaz. & Country J. 1766-1771 Online: Accessible Archives
Virginia
Richmond Supplement to The Virginia Gazette [1762, 1766] Online: Accessible Archives
  [1768] Online: Accessible Archives
  1761-1780 Online: Accessible Archives
The Virginia Gazette 2 1766-1776 Online: Accessible Archives
Williamsburg Rind's Virginia Gazette [1766] UM Microfilm A134 Reels 2-4
Virginia Gazette (Parks) [1736-1781] UM Microfilm A134 Reels 1-6
Virginia Gazette (Rind) [1766-1776] UM Microfilm A134 Reels 4-6
1770-1779
Connecticut
Hartford Connecticut Courant 1764-1774, 1778 UM Microprint 60
Connecticut Courant & Hartford Wkly. Intelligencer 1774-1778 UM Microprint 60
Connecticut Courant and The Weekly Intelligencer 1778-1791 UM Microprint 60
The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
New London Connecticut Gazette & The Universal Intelligencer 1773-1787 UM Microprint 12
New London Gazette 1763-1773 UM Microprint 12
Norwich Norwich Packet 1777-1779 UM Microprint 43
Norwich Packet & The CT, MA, NH, & RI Wkly. Adv. 1773-1777 UM Microprint 43
The Norwich Packet and The Weekly Advertiser 1779-1782 UM Microprint 43
Georgia
Savannah The Georgia Gazette 1763-1770 UM Microfilm A850
04/1763-05/1770 UM Microprint 29
 
 

Newspapers: 1600 - 1799

State/City
Newspaper Name Holdings Location
Maryland      
Annapolis Maryland Gazette [1777] Online: Accessible Archives   
Massachusetts
Boston The Boston Chronicle 10/1767-06/1770 UM Microprint 1
Boston Evening Post 08/18/1735-04/25/1775 UM Microprint 50
[1767-1775] UM Microfilm 2332
[1767-1775] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Boston Gazette and Country Journal 04/12/1756-04/05/1779 UM Microprint 25
Boston Gazette and The Country Journal 04/12/1779-12/30/1793 UM Microprint 25
The Censor 11/1771-05/1772 UM Microprint 1
1771-1772 UM Microfilm A82 Reel 8
The Continental Journal and Weekly Advertiser 05/1776-06/1787 UM Microprint 19
[1776, 1778] UM Microfilm 2332
[1776, 1778] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Independent Chronicle 09/1776-10/1776 UM Microprint 8
The Independent Ledger and American Advertiser 1-5 1778 UM Microprint 31
The Independent Ledger & The Am. Advertiser [1778-1786] UM Microprint 31
Massachusetts Gaz. & Boston Weekly News-Letter [1770-1771, 1773-1774] UM Microfilm 2332
[1770-1771, 1773-1774] Online: Mass. Historical Society
The Mass. Gaz. and The Boston Post-Boy & Adv. 10/1769-04/1775 UM Microprint 20
[1769-1773] UM Microfilm 2332
[1769-1773] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Massachusetts Spy 07/1770-10/1772 UM Microprint 1
The Massachusetts Spy or Thomas's Boston J. 10/1772-04/1775 UM Microprint 1
New England Chronicle 04/1776-09/1776 UM Microprint 8
[1776] UM Microfilm 2332
[04/1776-05/1776] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Cambridge The New England Chronicle or The Essex Gazette 05/1775-04/1776 UM Microprint 16
[1775-1776] UM Microfilm 2332
[1775-1776] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Salem The Essex Gazette 04/1768-05/1775 UM Microprint 16
[1775] UM Microfilm 2332
[04/1775-05/1775] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Massachusetts Gazette [1771] UM Microfilm 2332
[1771] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Worcester Haswell's Mass. Spy or American Oracle of Liberty 05/1778-06/1778 UM Microprint 1
The Mass. Spy or American Oracle of Libery 05/1775-05/1778 UM Microprint 1
Thomas's Mass. Spy or American Oracle of Liberty 06/1778-05/1781 UM Microprint 1
New York
New York New York Gazette and Weekly Mercury 11/13/1775 Online: Burney Collection
New York Gazette and The Weekly Mercury 02/1768-11/1783 UM Microfilm A1041
New York Journal or General Advertiser 10/16/1766-08/29/1776 UM Microfilm A313
Rivington's NY Gaz. or The CT, Hudson's River... [10/1777] UM Microprint 10
Rivington's NY Gazetteer or The CT, NJ, Hudson's 04/1773-11/1775 UM Microprint 10
05/12/1774-11/09/1775 Online: Burney Collection
Rivington's New York Loyal Gazette 10/1777-12/1777 UM Microprint 10
The Royal Gazette 12/1777-11/1783 UM Microprint 10
Pennsylvania
Philadelphia Dunlap's PA Packet or The General Advertiser 06/20/1774-07/18/1774 Online: Burney Collection
Henrich Millers Pennsylvanischer Staatsbote 05/1775-05/1779 UM Microfilm A233
Pennsylvania Chronicle and Universal Advertiser 1767-02/1774 UM Microprint 24
The Pennsylvania Evening Post 01/24/1775-07/30/1781 UM Microprint 14
1775-1779 UM Microfilm A287
Pennsylvania Gazette 09/1729-06/1778 UM Microfilm A935
1728-1800 Online: Accessible Archives
The Pennsylvania Gazette and Weekly Advertiser 1779-11/1782 UM Microfilm A935
Pennsylvania Journal and Weekly Advertiser 12/09/1773-10/26/1774 Online: Burney Collection
The Pennsylvania Journal or Weekly Advertiser  [12/1742-12/1780] UM Microfilm A277
The PA Ledger or The Phila. Market-Day Adv. 12/1777-05/1778 UM Microfilm A288
The PA Ledger or The VA, MD, PA & NJ Wkly. Adv. 1775-11/1776 UM Microfilm A288
The Pennsylvania Ledger or The Wkly. Advertiser 10/1777-11/1777 UM Microfilm A288
The Pennsylvania Packet 1776-1779 Online: Accessible Archives
The PA Packet and The General Advertiser 1771-1790 UM Microfilm A273
The Universal Instructor in All Arts & Sci. & PA Gaz. 12/1728-09/1792 UM Microfilm A935
Der Wochentliche Pennsylvanische Staatsbote 01/1768-05/1775 UM Microfilm A233
Rhode Island
Providence Providence Gazette and Country Journal 1762-01/1795 UM Microprint 59
South Carolina
Charleston The Gazette of the State of South-Carolina 1777-1780 Online: Accessible Archives
04/09/1777-02/09/1780 Online: CRL
South Carolina and American General Gazette 1765-1775 Online: Accessible Archives
South Carolina Gazette 1732-1775 Online: Accessible Archives
1732-12/11/1775 Online: CRL
South Carolina Gazette and Country Journal 05/09/1775 Online: Burney Collection
1765-1775 Online: Accessible Archives
Suppl. to The South Carolina Gazette & Country J. 1766-1771 Online: Accessible Archives
Virginia
Richmond Supplement to The Virginia Gazette 1761-1780 Online: Accessible Archives
The Virginia Gazette 2 1766-1776 Online: Accessible Archives
The Virginia Gazette 3 1775-1780 Online: Accessible Archives
Williamsburg Virginia Gazette (Parks) [1736-1781] UM Microfilm A134 Reels 1-6
Virginia Gazette (Purdie) [1775-1780] UM Microfilm A134 Reels 5-6
Virginia Gazette (Rind) [1766-1776] UM Microfilm A134 Reels 4-6
1780-1789
Connecticut
Hartford The American Mercury 1784-1833 UM Microprint 40

Connecticut Courant and The Weekly Intelligencer

1778-1791

 UM Microprint 60

  The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
New Haven New Haven Chronicle 08/1786-09/1787 UM Microprint 13
New Haven Gazette 05/1784-02/1786 UM Microprint 13
The New Haven Gazette & The CT Magazine 02/1786-1788 UM Microfilm A82 Reel 20
New London Connecticut Gazette 1787-1799 UM Microprint 12
Connecticut Gaz., and The Universal Intelligencer 1773-1787 UM Microprint 12
Norwich Norwich Packet and Country Journal 1787-1790 UM Microprint 43
The Norwich Packet and The Weekly Advertiser 1779-1782 UM Microprint 43
The Norwich Packet or The Chronicle of Freedom 1783-1785 UM Microprint 43
The Norwich Packet or The Country Journal 1785-1787 UM Microprint 43
Massachusetts
Boston American Herald [04/1784-06/1788] UM Microprint 4
The American Herald and The General Advertiser 01/1784-03/1784 UM Microprint 4
Boston Evening Post 10/20/1781-01/10/1784 UM Microprint 4
Boston Gazette and The Country Journal 04/12/1779-12/30/1793 UM Microprint 25
The Continental Journal and Weekly Advertiser 05/1776-06/1787 UM Microprint 19
Herald of Freedom 09/1788-07/1791 UM Microprint 5
The Independent Ledger and The American Adv. [1778-1786] UM Microprint 31
The Massachusetts Centinel 10/1784-06/1790 UM Microprint 6
The MA Centinel and The Republican Journal 03/1784-10/1784 UM Microprint 6
Northampton The Hampshire Gazette 09/13/1786-07/19/1815 UM Microfilm A668
09/1786-1796 Online: Historic Northampton
Salem Massachusetts Gazette 11/28/1785-11/11/1788 UM Microprint 30
Salem Gazette 10/18/1782-11/22/1785 UM Microprint 30
The Salem Mercury 04/15/1788-12/29/1789 UM Microprint 41
The Salem Mercury: Polit., Commercial, and Moral 10/14/1786-04/08/1788 UM Microprint 41
Worcester The American Herald & The Worcester Recorder 08/21/1788-10/08/1789 UM Microprint 4
Thomas's MA Spy or American Oracle of Liberty 06/1778-05/1781 UM Microprint 1
Thomas's MA Spy or The Worcester Gazette 05/1781-03/1786 UM Microprint 1
Thomas's MA Spy or Worcester Gazette 04/1788-10/1810 UM Microprint 1
The Worcester Magazine 1786-1788 UM Microprint 1
04/1786-04/1788 UM Microfilm A82 Reel 33
New York
New York Gazette of the United States 04/1789-09/1793 UM Microprint 17
New York Gazette and The Weekly Mercury 02/1768-11/1783 UM Microfilm A1041
Rivington's New York Gazette & Universal Adv. 11/1783-12/1783 UM Microprint 10
The Royal Gazette 12/1777-11/1783 UM Microprint 10
Pennsylvania
Philadelphia Carey's Pennsylvania Evening Herald [01/1785-03/1785] UM Microfilm A276
Freeman's J. or The North American Intelligencer 04/1781-05/1792 UM Microfilm A289
04/25/1781-04/16/1783 Online: Burney Collection
The Independent Gaz., or, The Chron. of Freedom 05/1788-01/1790 UM Microfilm A274
The PA Evening Herald & The American Monitor 03/1785-05/1786 UM Microfilm A276
The Pennsylvania Evening Post 01/24/1775-07/30/1781 UM Microprint 14
The PA Evening Post and Daily Advertiser 05/30/1783-10/26/1784 UM Microprint 14
The PA Evening Post and Public Advertiser 08/03/1781-05/19/1783 UM Microprint 14
Pennsylvania Gazette 11/1782-10/1815 Online: Accessible Archives
1728-1800 Online: Accessible Archives
The Pennsylvania Gazette and Wkly. Advertiser 1779-11/1782 UM Microfilm A935
The Pennsylvania Herald and Gen. Advertiser 05/1786-02/1788 UM Microfilm A276
The Pennsylvania Journal or Wkly. Advertiser [12/1742-12/1780], [01/1787-12/1792] UM Microfilm A277
Pennsylvania Mercury and Universal Advertiser 08/1784-07/1791 UM Microfilm A275
The Pennsylvania Packet 1787 Online: Accessible Archives
The PA Packet and The General Advertiser 1771-1790 UM Microfilm A273
Rhode Island
Providence Providence Gazette and Country Journal 1762-01/1795 UM Microprint 59
The United States Chronicle 1784-1804 UM Microprint 42
South Carolina
Charleston The Gazette of the State of South-Carolina 1777-1780 Online: Accessible Archives
04/09/1777-02/09/1780 Online: CRL
Virginia
Richmond Supplement to The Virginia Gazette 1761-1780 Online: Accessible Archives
The Virginia Gazette 3 1775-1780 Online: Accessible Archives
Williamsburg Virginia Gazette (Parks) [1736-1781] UM Microfilm A134 Reels 1-6
Virginia Gazette (Purdie) [1775-1780] UM Microfilm A134 Reels 5-6
1790-1799
Connecticut
Hartford The American Mercury 1784-1833 UM Microprint 40
Connecticut Courant 1791-1820 UM Microprint 60
Connecticut Courant and The Weekly Intelligencer 1778-1791 UM Microprint 60
The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
New London Connecticut Gazette 1787-1799 UM Microprint 12
Norwich Norwich Packet 1791-1802 UM Microprint 43
Norwich Packet and Country Journal 1787-1790 UM Microprint 43
Vox Populi Norwich Packet 10/1790-06/1791 UM Microprint 43
District of Columbia Alexandria Advertiser 1797-1799 UM Microfilm A1037
Times and District of Columbia Daily Advertiser 1799-1802 UM Microfilm A1037
Maryland
Baltimore Baltimore Daily Intelligencer 1793-1794 UM Microfilm A1032
Massachusetts

Boston The American Apollo [1792] UM Microfilm A82 Reel 1
1792-1794 UM Microprint 2
The Argus 07/1791-06/1793 UM Microprint 5
Boston Gazette and The Country Journal 04/12/1779-12/30/1793 UM Microprint 25
Boston Gazette and Weekly Republican Journal 1794-09/17/1798 UM Microprint 25
Columbian Centinel 06/1790-10/1799 UM Microprint 6
Columbian Centinel and Massachusetts Federalist 10/1799-09/1804 UM Microprint 6-7
Federal Orrery 10/1794-1796 UM Microprint 2
Herald of Freedom 09/1788-07/1791 UM Microprint 5
The Massachusetts Centinel 10/1784-06/1790 UM Microprint 6
Greenfield Greenfield Gazette 08/1792-02/1795 UM Microfilm A1200 Reel 1
1798-1811 UM Microfilm A1200 Reels 2-5
Greenfield Gazette or MA and VT Telegraphe 03/1795-1797 UM Microfilm A1200 Reels 1-2
The Impartial Intelligencer 02/1792-07/1792 UM Microfilm A1200 Reel 1
Northampton The Hampshire Gazette 09/13/1786-07/19/1815 UM Microfilm A668
09/1786-1796 Online: Historic Northampton
Salem The Salem Gazette 01/05/1790-12/29/1820 UM Microprint 41
Worcester Thomas's Massachusetts Spy or Worcester Gaz. 04/1788-10/1810 UM Microprint 1
New York
New York American Minerva: an Evening Advertiser 05/1795-04/1796 UM Microfilm A1035
American Minerva & The NY (Evening) Advertiser 05/1794-05/1795 UM Microfilm A1035
The Am. Minerva, Patroness of Peace, Commerce.. 12/1793-03/1794 UM Microfilm A1035
Gazette of the United States 04/1789-09/1793 UM Microprint 17
The Herald, a Gazette for the Country 06/1794-09/1797 UM Microprint 52
06/1794-09/1797 UM Microfilm A1050
The Minerva and Mercantile Evening Advertiser 05/1796-09/1797 UM Microfilm A1035
 
 

Newspapers: 1600 - 1799

State/City Newspaper Name Holdings Location
1790-1799      
Pennsylvania       
Philadelphia American Intelligencer 04/1781-05/1792 UM Microfilm A289
Gales's Independent Gazetteer 09/1796-09/1797 UM Microfilm A274

Gazette of the United States

07/1795-06/1796 UM Microprint 17
Gazette of the U.S. and Daily Evening Advertiser 06/1794-06/1795 UM Microprint 17
Gazette of the United States & Evening Advertiser 12/1793-06/1794 UM Microprint 17
Gazette of the U.S. & Philadelphia Daily Advertiser 07/1796-06/1800 UM Microprint 17-18
Independent Gazetteer 1794-09/1796 UM Microfilm A274
The Independent Gaz. & Agricultural Repository 1790-01/1794 UM Microfilm A274
The Independent Gaz., or, The Chron. of Freedom 05/1788-01/1790 UM Microfilm A274
The Level of Europe and North America 10/1794-01/1796 UM Microprint 11
National Gazette 10/1791-10/1793 UM Microprint 11
Pennsylvania Gazette 11/1782-10/1815 UM Microfilm A935
1728-1800 Online: Accessible Archives
The Pennsylvania Journal or Weekly Advertiser [01/1787-12/1792] UM Microfilm A277
Pennsylvania Mercury and Universal Advertiser 08/1784-07/1791 UM Microfilm A275
The Pennsylvania Mercury & Phila. Price-Current 07/1791-03/1792 UM Microfilm A275
The Pennsylvania Packet and The Gen. Advertiser 1771-1790 UM Microfilm A273
The Phila. Minerva: Containing a Variety of ... 02/1795-07/1798 UM Microprint 11
02/07/1795-07/07/1798 UM Microfilm A82 Reel 25
Procupine's Gazette 04/1797-01/1800 UM Microprint 32
Porcupine's Gazette and U.S. Daily Advertiser 03/1797-04/1797 UM Microprint 32
The Universal Instructor in All Arts and Sciences.... 12/1728-09/1792 UM Microfilm A935
West Chester Literary Magazine [1797] Online: Accessible Archives
West Chester Gazette 01/22/1794 Online: Accessible Archives
Rhode Island
Providence Providence Gazette and Country Journal 1762-01/1795 UM Microprint 59
The United States Chronicle 1784-1804 UM Microprint 42
Virginia
Alexandria Alexandria Advertiser 04/10/1797-04/16/1799 UM Microfilm A1037
The Times and District of Columbia Daily Adv. 04/17/1799-07/1802 UM Microfilm A1037
© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip