POLI SCI 297GC : Gender, Conflict, and Security
Databases
UMass Amherst subscribes to hundreds of information databases; here are some that are likely to be of the most use to you.
Tip: Results in these databases can be limited to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles.
Tip: Use Boolean searching (AND, OR, NOT, " ") to find the most relevant results. For example: women AND "World War II" AND (labor OR work) NOT childbirth will give you results about women's labor in the Second World War, but not about labor as in birth.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present. - ProQuest Political Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text political science periodical articles. Dates vary by title. - PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines and scholarly journals concerning masculinity, feminism, homosexuality, and gender roles, 1970-present.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, including coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy, 1923-present.
Tip: You can search by keyword(s) or report title, or browse broad topics (e.g. National Security, International Relations, War and Conflict) and see the reports within.
- PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Tip: You can limit your search to where the organization falls on the political spectrum (e.g. progressive, centrist, conservative).
- iPOLL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 650,000 public opinion survey questions and answers - from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. Survey from 1935 to present.
