Libraries Ask Us

Art Education

Find Articles

These databases are good for finding articles about art education and also fine arts and art history.

Art and Architecture Source
Full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design with international coverage.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Art Index Retrospective
Index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Index to journal articles, books, chapters, exhibition catalogs and dissertations on modern art from the Impressionists to the present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
International Bibliography of Art
Succeeds the defunct Bibliography of the History of Art, providing citations to publications American art and art history, 1990's-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

These databases are good for finding articles about fine arts and art history.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Index to articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history from 1975-2007.
Content is freely available for use by all.
Design and Applied Arts Index
Citations to articles in design and arts and crafts journals, 1980's-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Oxford Art Online
The best scholarly dictionary for all aspects of fine and applied arts, including design and architecture. Current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Education Source Ultimate
Access to over 5,000 education resources, including 3,662 academic journals with over half from countries outside the United States. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes education ethics, educational technology, literacy, research methodology and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ERIC
Education journal articles (EJ references) and ERIC documents (ED references), 1967-present. EDs before 1997 are requestable using the Microforms Request page and usable in the Microforms Vewing Room in the LC.
A free version of ERIC is available for all to use at this link: https://eric.ed.gov/.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Education Database
Articles from 550 journals in the field of primary, secondary and higher education, 1988-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

PsycARTICLES
100+ full-text landmark journals from American Psychological Association (APA) and other societies, 1894-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PsycINFO
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed journal literature in psychology, behavioral science and mental health - 2,500 journal titles indexed - 2.8 million records - 1887 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstract
Articles in core social science journals in practice, 1987-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Social Science Abstracts
Citations to journal articles in the social sciences, 1983-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Academic Search Premier
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Arts & Humanities Database
Articles from over 500 humanities journals, in full text, 1980's-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Social Science Premium Collection
One place to search across 16 different social science databases.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Arts and humanities journal literature from 1975 to present. Searches by author, topic, cited reference and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides indexing and citation tracking for journals in all the social sciences, 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.