History of Art and Architecture

Guide for research in Art History

Newspapers

UMass Amherst has access to a wide range of historic newspapers in a variety of formats. See these research guides for access:

Microforms Retrieval
This page includes a form you can fill out to request microforms, including microfilm and microfiche.
Historical African American Newspapers Available Online
Research guide compiled by Elizabeth Clarke at Marist College, includes links to freely available digitized African-American newspapers.

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth century American newspapers, periodicals and books, including African American newspapers, US county histories, and ladies' magazines.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Seven nineteenth-century African American newspapers in full text, including advertising, 1827-1902.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Chronicling America
Newspaper (and more) archive from the Library of Congress. You can browse by state, year, and keyword search as well.

Freedom on the Move
"Rediscovering the Stories of Self-Liberating People: A database of fugitives from American Slavery." A project by Cornell University and others.
Fugitive Slave Ads in Chronicling America
A guide for researching the topic of "fugitive slave ads" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers.

Modernist Journals Project: The Crisis 1910-1922
Access to digitized copies of early issues of The Crisis magazine, founded by W. E. B. Du Bois, co-founder of the NAACP.
Online Books Page: The Crisis
Links to digital copies of The Crisis magazine from 1910 to 1961.