Constitution at Beginning and End of Life

LibGuide for Legal Studies 397AM (Stephen Arons).

Interdisciplinary databases

The library has access to hundreds of article databases with full text of academic articles. You can Ask a librarian for help in using the databases.

Useful databases:

Discovery search
Search for books and articles accessible at UMass.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
iPOLL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 650,000 public opinion survey questions and answers - from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. Survey from 1935 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Other databases by subject:

General and interdisciplinary
Humanities and fine arts
Includes Afro-American studies, architecture, art & art history, classics, dance, English, film studies, history, Judaic & Near Eastern studies, languages & cultures, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, theater, and women's, gender & sexuality studies.
Nursing
Public health and health sciences
Includes communication disorders, kinesiology, nutrition, and public health.
Social and behavioral sciences
Includes anthropology, communication, economics, journalism, labor studies, landscape architecture & regional planning, legal studies, political science, public policy & administration, resource economics, social thought and political economy, and sociology.