Constitution at Beginning and End of Life

LibGuide for Legal Studies 397AM (Stephen Arons).

Legal encyclopedias

Legal encyclopedias can provide you with a summary of the law on your topic.

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Click on the "Secondary Sources" link, under "By Type", click on American Jurisprudence 2d and enter relevant search terms at the top of the page.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of several hundred current subject encyclopedias including many law-related titles.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law by Donna Batten
Call Number: e-Book
ISBN: 9781414436845
Publication Date: 2011
3rd edition.
West's Encyclopedia of American Law by Jeffrey Lehman; Shirelle Phelps
Call Number: KF154 .W47 2005, e-Book
ISBN: 0787663670
Publication Date: 2004
2nd edition. Includes legal dictionary. Link goes to e-Book.

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated U.S. Code, West Key system, law reviews.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large database of U.S. and international newspapers, among other resources.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
HeinOnline Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes complete coverage beginning with the first volume of more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ProQuest Legislative and Executive Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history, including reports, debates, transcripts of hearings, etc., as well as executive documents.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

SCOTUSblog
Discusses Supreme Court cases and provides links to opinions and dockets.

ProQuest Legislative and Executive Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Congressional Research Service is a public policy research department of the U.S. Congress. The department issues non-partisan reports for members of Congress to support the decision-making process. These reports can assist legal researchers in understanding the background and context of bills and laws.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.