PPA 601 : The Politics of the Policy Process (Fall 2017)

The Politics of the Policy Process (Prof. Brenda K. Bushouse)

Public Policy and Administration Databases

Databases index the contents of journals and are the first place you want to look for articles.

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles from international political science periodicals, 1951-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for journals covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, 1974 - present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The international scholarly literature of political science, including articles, books, chapters, and reports, 1975-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Law journals

Law journals, also known as law reviews, are collections of peer-reviewed scholarly articles. Law journals can be general in scope, or focused on a particular area of law or geographical region. Law journal articles can be helpful to consult in the first stages of research, because they will often summarize the law on a subject up to that point.

HeinOnline Law Journal Library
Select Law Journal Library for a list of the journals available from HeinOnline. The full text of articles can be searched, and the Advanced Search option will allow you to narrow down your query.

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Choose Secondary Sources > Law Reviews & Journals. Westlaw also has an advanced option for more precise results.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or by publication. LegalTrac allows the user to drill down to subdivisions of a subject (e.g. Environmental protection > History), and to see other subjects that are related.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Under Advanced Options, select only Law Reviews to narrow your search to peer-reviewed legal journals.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.