Guides by Subject
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Newspapers covering British history and culture in the 17th and 18th centuries, including rare news resources.
Interactive digital list of all casebooks intended for use in law schools and published in the United States. The database version of the resource offers full search capabilities as well as full-text linking to relevant documents where available. Content within the database has been categorized under 230 subject headings so that users may easily trace the topical development of legal education. Coverage from 1870 to current (regularly updated).
News site dedicated to critical thinking about the American food system.
There is a current known issue with this database. To access the database:
When you click on the link above, you will be taken to the page for Legislative & Executive Publications. To switch to Congressional Supreme Court Insight go to the blue bar at the top and on the right side, click Related Databases and select Congressional Supreme Court Insight.
Supreme Court Insight, 1933-present, is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per curiam decisions, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Content associated with each case is compiled on a dynamic page organized to facilitate understanding of the judicial process, and is also retrievable on a document-by-document basis.
Comprehensive dictionary of Medieval Latin with a focus on British Medieval Latin.
Covers Church prelates from the Early Church to the Early Modern Period. The database offers complete coverage of Church prelates, information on all 1,300 medieval bishoprics, archdioceses and patriarchates, and prosopographical information on 30,000 bishops, archbishops and patriarchs. Europa Sacra draws its initial information from Eubel’s Hierarchia catholica medii aevi... ab anno 1198 and Gams’ Series episcoporum ecclesiae catholicae.
Contains exclusive, authoritative research guides in Islamic Studies. Each article is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship on a topic with original commentary and annotations by top scholars. Updated monthly.
A schematic guide and a sampler on political science. It first provides an overview of the state of political science as a discipline before turning to a discussion of political theory and its relationship with the discipline of political science, history, philosophy, and “real world” politics. It also explores contemporary themes and developments in political science, from liberalism and communitarianism to feminism, democracy and critical theory, green political theory, and post-structuralism.
Contains scholarly research review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic in sociology, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. Updated monthly. Articles from 2017-2024.
Provides in-depth overviews of the major areas of research in African history, updated monthly. Includes in-depth peer-reviewed articles and broad coverage of the field, multimedia features embedded in articles, and cross-referenced links to related content.
Provides access to hundreds of Linguistics titles. Every book has a home page providing structured access to the full text, as well as full bibliographic information, and links to related content. Regularly updated.
Users need to create an account first. An umass.edu email is required for Premium features.
Rayyan helps researchers organize and manage their systematic literature reviews and collaborate with other researchers.
More than a century of Southern African history, politics, and culture in streaming films and documentaries.
Contains all variations of the Springfield Republican from 1911-current, plus Springfield Republican blogs and web edition articles.
Two other databases contain the Springfield Republican:
Massachusetts Newsbank (alternative name: Western Massachusetts Newspapers)
Contains the Springfield Republication from 1988-current, plus Springfield Republican blogs and web edition articles.
Springfield Republican (Digital Microfilm)
View images of pages for the Springfield Republican, starting with January 1, 2019. There is a 90 day embargo before images will show.
Users need to create an account and an umass.edu email is required.
Access content across disciplines including newspapers, dissertations and theses, journals, and primary sources for text and data mining.
If you need assistance with this tool or have questions about whether or not you can use our databases for text and data mining, please contact Library Data Services at librarydataservices @ umass.libanswers.com.
U.S. states frequently enter into arrangements with foreign governments to cooperate on issues ranging from economic development to environmental protection. This database contains a curated set of roughly one quarter of these commitments, along with notations that explain context, highlight significant legal issues, and identify helpful academic sources.
Comprehensive collection of out-of-print and superseded casebooks from West Academic’s renowned American Casebook Series, University Casebook Series, Hornbook Series, and Nutshell Series—excluding only the two latest editions of each title. Once a new edition of a title is published, the third most recent edition will then be added to the database, with editors updating the archive twice a year.
Contains titles published from as early as 1837 up through 2018. Through the archive, researchers can trace how legal thought, practice, and research have evolved over the decades with the titles that shaped the education of legal professionals past and present.
The most frequently-used databases
This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Visible Body provides a comprehensive, interactive 3D atlas of the human body, with supporting images, labs, quizzes, & flashcards. Our subscription also includes Visible Biology, a visual guide to biological concepts & processes.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
