Libraries Ask Us

NRC 497C - Human-Carnivore Conflicts & Conservation

Resources for research

Getting the Article

in most databases.

Use it to find the articles's full text online, if the libraries have access.

Also searches the library catalog to see if we have it in paper format.

If we don't have access, it links you to Interlibrary Loan - a free service to get it elsewhere.

Use research databases to find articles

Best Bet Databases - Likely to be the most useful databases for your papers.

Your topic determines the best database to use!

Access from off-campus with your UMass Amherst NetID

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers agriculture; plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics and engineering; alternative farming; nutrition, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases that index journal articles, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, news, some in full text, published in the fields related to aquatic science, oceanography, water resources. See note for more detail. Varying coverage dates.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes content from journals, conferences, books, and U.S. patents covering the life sciences and biomedical research since 1926.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Environment Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles on the environment from scientific, legal, and popular journals, 1950s- present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, government, and general-interest articles on climate change, renewable energy, green building, sustainable agriculture, green building, pollution, recycling, education, law, health, and technology. Covers 1973-current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search by topic and/or geography: agriculture, food, energy, pollution, economic development, social factors and in journals, magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias as well as primary sources.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to periodical articles and other scholarly literature on zoology, biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, and genetics, 1864-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.