Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Amherst Libraries

Newspaper Collection: US Newspapers by Decade

Newspapers: 1850 - 1869

State/City Newspaper Name Holdings Location
1850-1859       
Connecticut      
Hartford The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
District of Columbia Facts for the People 06/1853-05/1854, 05/1855-04/1856 UM Microfiche 886 A-68,627
  The Huntress 02/15/1845-02/07/1852 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 936
    02/14/1852-07/24/1854 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 937
  The National Era 01/07/1847-03/12/1860 Online: Accessible Archives
    1847-03/1860 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 899-903
Indiana      
Vincennes News of the Day 1855-1856 Online: Accessible Archives
  Semi-Weekly Western Sun [06/1857] Online: Accessible Archives
  Supplement to The Western Sun 02/14/1858 Online: Accessible Archives
  Vincennes Courant [1855] Online: Accessible Archives
  Vincennes Gazette 1855-1869 Online: Accessible Archives
  Vincennes Weekly Courant and Patriot [1855-1856] Online: Accessible Archives
  The Vincennes Weekly Western Sun [1857-1865] Online: Accessible Archives
  Weekly Vincennes Gazette 1857-1859 Online: Accessible Archives
Iowa      
Kanesville Frontier Guardian 02/07/1849-02/20/1852 UM Microfilm 1509 Reel 13
Louisiana      
New Orleans The Daily Picayune 11/02/1837-04/05/1914 UM Microfilm A164
Massachusetts      
Amherst Hampshire and Franklin Express 09/14/1844-01/20/1865 UM Microfilm A338
Barre Barre Gazette 05/1839-1862 UM Microfilm A1040
  Barre Patriot [1844-1855] UM Microfilm A1038
Boston Boston Evening Transcript 1854-09/1866 UM Microfilm A165
  Boston Pilot (1838) 1838-1857 Online: CRL
  Daily Evening Transcript 1848-1853 UM Microfilm A165
  The Liberator 1847-12/27/1850 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 395
    01/03/1851-12/29/1854 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 396
    01/05/1855-1858 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 397
    01/07/1859-12/26/1862 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 398
    1831-1865 Online: Accessible Archives
    1856-1857, 1859 UM E 449 L678 Oversize
  The Pilot 1858-1865 Online: CRL
Fall River Fall River News 04/1851-03/1865 UM Microfilm A255
  Fall River Weekly News 04/1846-03/1851 UM Microfilm A255
Greenfield Gazette and Courier 1841-07/1899 UM Microfilm A1202 Reels 5-23
Northampton Northampton Courier 11/16/1831-10/26/1858 UM Microfilm A668a
Missouri      
St. Louis St. Louis Luminary 1854/1855 UM Microfilm A1304
New York      
Albany Albany Evening Journal 1830-1865 UM Microfilm A171
  The Atlas and Argus 02/1856-05/1865 UM Microfilm A179
  Daily Albany Argus 12/1827-02/1856 UM Microfilm A179
New York Christian Inquirer 10/17/1846-12/28/1850 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1885
    10/11/1851-09/18/1858 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1886
    10/02/1858-12/10/1864 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1887
  Frank Leslie's Weekly 1855-1922 Online: Accessible Archives
  National Anti-Slavery Standard 1840-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
    1840-1870 UM Microfilm A182
  New York Daily Times 09/18/1851-09/12/1857 UM Microfilm A1
    09/18/1851-09/12/1857 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
  New York Daily Tribune 04/1842-04/1866 UM Microfilm A172
  New York Illustrated News 11/1859-01/1864 UM Microfilm A881
  New York Observer 1833-1919 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 1856-1874
  New York Times 09/18/1851- UM Microfilm A1
    1851-2012 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
  Spirit of the Times 02/1837-06/1861 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 620-640
  Weekly Anglo-African 07/1859-07/1860 Online: CRL
  Wilkes' Spirit of the Times 1859-06/1868 UM Microfilm A322
Rochester Douglass' Monthly 1859-1863 UM Microfiche 297
    1858-1863 UM Microfilm A364
    01/1859-08/1863 Online: Accessible Archives
    1859-1863 Online: African-Am Newsp: 19th cent.
  Frederick Douglass' Paper 06/26/1851-12/14/1855 UM Microfilm A365
    1851-1855 Online: African-Am Newsp: 19th cent.
    [06/26/1851-12/14/1855] Online: Accessible Archives
  The North Star 1847-1851 UM Microfilm A357
    1847-1851 Online: Accessible Archives
Ohio      
Cleveland Cleveland Daily Plain Dealer 1845-1886 UM Microfilm A173
Pennsylvania      
Chester Delaware County Republican 1833-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
  The Upland Union [1850-1852] Online: Accessible Archives
Media Delaware County American 1851, 1856-1858 Online: Accessible Archives
  Media Advertiser 1855-1856 Online: Accessible Archives
Philadelphia Christian Recorder of the Afr. Method. Epis. Ch. 07/13/1854-03/04/1856 Online: CRL
  The Pennsylvania Freeman 1844-1851 Online: CRL
West Chester Village Record 1818-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
Utah      
Salt Lake City Valley Tan 1858-1860 UM Microfilm 1509 Reel 52
1860-1869      
California      
San Francisco Alaska Herald 1868/1869-1872/1873 Five College Depository
Connecticut      
Hartford The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
District of Columbia The National Era 01/07/1847-03/12/1860 Online: Accessible Archives
    1847-03/1860 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 899-903
Georgia      
Atlanta Atlanta Constitution 1869-1875 UM Microfilm A559
  Constitution 1868-1869 UM Microfilm A559
Illinois      
Chicago The Workingman's Advocate 1863-10/1877 UM Microfilm A933
Indiana      
Vincennes The Stars and Stripes and Old Post Union [1862] Online: Accessible Archives
  Vincennes Gazette 1855-1869 Online: Accessible Archives
  Vincennes Semi-Weekly Western Sun 01/16/1866 Online: Accessible Archives
  Vincennes Times [1865-1866] Online: Accessible Archives
  Vincennes Weekly Gazette [1866-1868] Online: Accessible Archives
  The Vincennes Weekly Western Sun [1857-1865] Online: Accessible Archives
  Weekly Gazette [1869] Online: Accessible Archives
  Weekly Vincennes Gazette 1863-1866 Online: Accessible Archives
  The Weekly Vincennes Western Sun [1857-1865] Online: Accessible Archives
Louisiana      
New Orleans The Daily Picayune 11/02/1837-04/05/1914 UM Microfilm A164
Massachusetts      
Amherst Amherst Record 05/1868-1953 UM Microfilm A338
  Hampshire and Franklin Express 09/13/1844-01/20/1865 UM Microfilm A338
  Hampshire Express 01/27/1865-04/30/1868 UM Microfilm A338
Barre Barre Gazette 05/1839-1862 UM Microfilm A1040
Boston Boston Daily Evening Transcript 1866-11/09/1872 UM Microfilm A165
  Boston Evening Transcript 1854-09/1866 UM Microfilm A165
  The Liberator 01/07/1859-12/26/1862 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 398
    01/02/1863-12/29/1865 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 399
    1831-1865 Online: Accessible Archives
    1862, 1864-1865 UM E 449 L678 Oversize
  Pilot 1858-1865 Online: CRL
Fall River Daily Evening News 1863-1881 UM Microfilm A254
  Fall River News 04/1851-03/1865 UM Microfilm A255
Greenfield Gazette and Courier 1841-07/1899 UM Microfilm A1202 Reels 5-23
Northampton Hampshire Gazette 01/04/1820-1917 UM Microfilm A668
Pittsfield Berkshire County Eagle 1861-1863 UM Microfilm A1318
New York      
 Albany Albany Evening Journal 1830-1865 UM Microfilm A171
  The Argus 05/1865-12/1865 UM Microfilm A179
  The Atlas and Argus 02/1856-05/1865 UM Microfilm A179
New York Christian Inquirer 10/02/1858-12/10/1864 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1887
  The Commercial & Financial Chronicle, Bankers'... 1868-1870 Five College Depository
  Frank Leslie's Weekly 1855-1922 Online: Accessible Archives
  National Anti-Slavery Standard 1840-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
    1840-1870 UM Microfilm A182
  New York Daily Tribune 04/1842-04/1866 UM Microfilm A172
  New York Herald 1861-1865 Online: Accessible Archives
  New York Illustrated News 11/1859-01/1864 UM Microfilm A881
  New York Observer 1833-1919 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 1856-1874
  New York Times 09/18/1851- UM Microfilm A1
    1851-2012 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
  New York Tribune 04/1866-03/1924 UM Microfilm A172
  The Revolution [1868-1871] Online: Accessible Archives
  Spirit of the Times 02/1837-06/1861 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 620-640
  Spirit of the Times (N.A. Buck) 07/1868-04/1892 UM Microfilm A322
  Weekly Anglo-African 07/1859-07/1860 Online: CRL
  Wilkes' Spirit of the Times 1859-06/1868 UM Microfilm A322
Rochester Douglass' Monthly 1859-1863 UM Microfiche 297
    1858-1863 UM Microfilm A364
    01/1859-08/1863 Online: Accessible Archives
    1859-1863 Online: African-Am. Newsp: 19th cent.
Ohio      
Cleveland Cleveland Daily Plain Dealer 1845-1886 UM Microfilm A173
Pennsylvania      
Chester Delaware County Republican 1833-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
Media Delaware County American 1860-1871 Online: Accessible Archives
Philadelphia The Christian Recorder 1861-1902 Online: Accessible Archives
    01/19/1861-06/1865 Online: CRL
  Philadelphia Inquirer 10/1868-12/1868 Online: CRL
    02/1869-04/1869 Online: CRL
West Chester The American Republican [1861] Online: Accessible Archives
  Village Record 1818-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
South Carolina      
Charleston The Charleston Mercury 1860-1865 Online: Accessible Archives
  The Free Press 04/05/1868-04/11/1868 Online: CRL
  South Carolina Leader 10/07/1865, 10/21/1865 Online: CRL
    12/09/1865-12/23/1865 Online: CRL
    03/31/1866, 05/12/1866 Online: CRL
Tennessee      
Nashville The Colored Tennessean 08/12/1865, 10/07/1865-10/14/1865 Online: CRL
    03/24/1866-03/31/1866 Online: CRL
  The Tennessean 07/18/1866 Online: CRL
Texas      
Austin The Free Man's Press 08/01/1868, 08/15/1868-09/12/1868 Online: CRL
    10/24/1868 Online: CRL
  The Freedman's Press 07/18/1868 Online: CRL
Utah      
Salt Lake City Mountaineer 08/27/1859-07/20/1861 UM Microfilm 1509 Reel 38
  Union Vedette 1863-1867 UM Microfilm 1509 Reel 42
  Valley Tan 1858-1860 UM Microfilm 1509 Reel 52
Virginia      
Richmond Richmond Enquirer 1861-1865 Online: Accessible Archives
       

Newspapers: 1870 - 1889

State/City Newspaper Name Holdings Location
1870-1879      
California       
San Francisco Alaska Herald 1868/1869-1872/1873 Five College Depository
Connecticut      
Hartford The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
District of Columbia New Era 1870 UM Microfilm A367
  New National Era 1870-1874 UM Microfilm A367
  Washington Post 1877-1988 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
Georgia      
Atlanta Atlanta Constitution 1869-1875 UM Microfilm A559
  Atlanta Daily Constitution 1875 UM Microfilm A559
  Constitution 1875-1876 UM Microfilm A559
  Daily Constitution 1876-1881 UM Microfilm A559
Illinois      
Chicago The Workingman's Advocate 1863-10/1877 UM Microfilm A933
Indiana      
Logansport The Colored Visitor 08/01/1879 Online: CRL
Louisiana      
New Orleans The Daily Picayune 11/02/1837-04/05/1914 UM Microfilm A164
Massachusetts      
Amherst Amherst Record 05/1868-1953 UM Microfilm A338
Boston Boston Daily Evening Transcript 1866-11/09/1872 UM Microfilm A165
    1872-04/07/1960 UM Microfilm A37
  Boston Evening Transcript 11/1872-1915 UM Microfilm A165
  Boston Globe 1872-1979 Online: Historical Boston Globe
  Woman's Journal 01/08/1870-10/12/1912 UM Microfilm 6811a Reels 184-198
Fall River Daily Evening News 1863-1881 UM Microfilm A254
  Fall River Daily Herlad 02/1877-06/1885 UM Microfilm A253
Greenfield Gazette and Courier 1841-07/1899 UM Microfilm A1202 Reels 5-23
Northampton Hampshire Gazette 01/04/1820-1917 UM Microfilm A668
Springfield Springfield Republican 1877-08/1886, UM Microfilm A36
New York      
Brooklyn The Brooklyn Daily Eagle 1870-1875 UM Microfilm A349
New York The Commercial & Financial Chronicle, Bankers... 1868-1870 Five College Depository
  Frank Leslie's Weekly 1855-1922 Online: Accessible Archives
  Labor Standard [1876-1881] UM Microfilm A359
  National Anti-Slavery Standard 1840-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
    1840-1870 UM Microfilm A182
  The National Standard 07/29/1871-1872 Online: CRL
  New York Observer 1833-1919 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 1856-1874
  New York Times 09/18/1851- UM Microfilm A1
    1851-2012 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
  New York Tribune 04/1866-03/1924 UM Microfilm A172
  The Revolution [1868-1871] Online: Accessible Archives
  The Socialist [1876] UM Microfilm A359
  Spirit of the Times (N.A. Buck) 07/1868-04/1892 UM Microfilm A322
  Woodhull and Claflin's Weekly 05/1870-06/1876 UM Microfilm A368
Syracuse The National Citizen and Ballot Box 1876-1881 Online: Accessible Archives
Ohio      
Cleveland Cleveland Daily Plain Dealer 1845-1886 UM Microfilm A173
Pennsylvania      
Chester Delaware County Republican 1833-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
Media Delaware County American 1860-1871 Online: Accessible Archives
Philadelphia The Christian Recorder 1861-1902 Online: Accessible Archives
Pittsburgh National Labor Tribune 01/1874-12/1909 UM Microfilm A946
  Weekly Labor Tribune 11/1873-01/1874 UM Microfilm A946
West Chester Village Record 1818-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
Utah      
Salt Lake City Woman's Exponent 1873-1884 UM Microfilm 6811a Reels 178-182
1880-1889      
California      
San Francisco Woman's Herald of Industry & Social Sci. Cooper. 1881-1884 UM Microfilm 6811a Reel 251
Connecticut      
Hartford The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
District of Columbia Washington Post 1877-1998 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
Georgia      
Atlanta Atlanta Constitution 1881-1978 UM Microfilm A559
  Daily Constitution 1876-1881 UM Microfilm A559
Illinois      
Chicago The Alarm 10/1884-04/1886 Online: CRL
    11/1887-02/1889 Online: CRL
  Chicago Times 04/1880-09/21/1880 Online: CRL
Massachusetts      
Amherst Amherst Record 05/1868-1953 UM Microfilm A338
Boston Boston Daily Evening Transcript 1872-04/07/1960 UM Microfilm A37
  Boston Evening Transcript 11/1872-1915 UM Microfilm A165
  Boston Globe 1872-1979 Online: Historical Boston Globe
Fall River Daily Evening News 1863-1881 UM Microfilm A254
  Daily Globe 04/1885-10/1885 UM Microfilm A252
  Fall River Daily Globe 1889-01/1894 UM Microfilm A252
  Fall River Daily Herald 02/1877-06/1885, 04/1886-1893 UM Microfilm A253
Greenfield Gazette and Courier 1841-07/1899 UM Microfilm A1202 Reels 5-23
Northampton The Hampshire Daily Herald 09/1883-12/1883, 07/1884-1885 UM Microfilm A747
  Hampshire Gazette 01/04/1820-1917 UM Microfilm A668
  Northampton Daily Herald 10/1885-04/11/1921 UM Microfilm A747
Springfield Springfield Republican 1877-08/1886, 1887-09/26/1946 UM Microfilm A36
Nebraska      
Beatrice The Woman's Tribune 1883-03/1909 UM Microfilm 6811a Reels 230-232
New York      
New York Frank Leslie's Weekly 1855-1922 Online: Accessible Archives
  The Freeman 11/22/1884-12/06/1884 Online: CRL
  Labor Standard [1876-1881] UM Microfilm A359
  The New York Age 10/15/1887-11/16/1889 Online: CRL
  The New York Globe 01/06/1883-11/08/1884 Online: CRL
  New York Observer 1833-1919 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 1856-1874
  New York Times 09/18/1851- UM Microfilm A1
    1851-2012 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
  New York Tribune 04/1866-03/1924 UM Microfilm A172
  Spirit of the Times (N.A. Buck) 07/1868-04/1892 UM Microfilm A322
  Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition) 1889- UM Microfilm A7
Syracuse The National Citizen and Ballot Box 1876-1881 Online: Accessible Archives
Ohio      
Cleveland Cleveland Daily Plain Dealer 1845-1886 UM Microfilm A173
  Cleveland Plain Dealer 1887-1989 UM Microfilm A173
Pennsylvania      
Philadelphia Christian Index 03/23/1882-12/20/1883 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1826
    01/01/1885-12/24/1885 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1827
    01/07/1886-12/24/1887 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1827
    01/05/1889-12/28/1899 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1828
  The Christian Recorder 1861-1902 Online: Accessible Archives
  Journal of United Labor 1880-1889 UM Microfilm A879
Pittsburgh National Labor Tribune 01/1874-12/1909 UM Microfilm A946
Utah      
Salt Lake City Woman's Exponent 1873-1884, 01/01/1885 UM Microfilm 6811a Reels 178-182
    06/1886-02/1914 UM Microfilm 6811a Reels 178-182
       

Newspapers: 1890 - 1899

State/City Newspaper Name Holdings Location
1890-1899      
Connecticut      
Hartford The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
District of Columbia Washington Post 1877-1998 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
Georgia      
Atlanta Atlanta Constitution 1881-1978 UM Microfilm A559
Illinois      
Chicago Chicago Eagle 09/17/1892 Online: CRL
  Chicago Times-Herald 03/04/1895-01/05/1896 Online: CRL
Springfield State Capital 03/28/1891 Online: CRL
    05/1891-12/03/1892, 01/13/1899 Onlline: CRL
Indiana      
Vincennes Supplement to The Vincennes Western Sun 01/01/1899 Online: Accessible Archives
Kansas      
Girard Appeal to Reason 1895-1917 UM Microfilm A311
Louisiana      
New Orleans The Daily Picayune 11/02/1837-04/05/1914 UM Microfilm A164
Maryland      
Baltimore Baltimore Afro-American 1893-1988 Onlline: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
Massachusetts      
Amherst Aggie Life 10/1890-10/16/1901 UM Microfilm A334
    10/1890-10/16/1901 UM SCUA Microforms/190/11
    10/1890-10/16/1901 Online: Archive.org
  Amherst Record 05/1868-1953 UM Microfilm A338
Boston Boston Daily Evening Transcript 1872-04/07/1960 UM Microfilm A37
  Boston Evening Transcript 11/1872-1915 UM Microfilm A165
  Boston Globe 1872-1979 Online: Historical Boston Globe
  The Boston Herald 1881-10/07/1917 UM Microfilm A154
  Woman's Journal 01/08/1870-10/12/1912 UM Microfilm 6811a Reels 184-198
    1892-1893 UM Microfilm A306
Fall River Fall River Daily Globe 1889-01/1894 UM Microfilm A252
  Fall River Daily Herald 04/1886-1893 UM Microfilm A253
Greenfield Gazette and Courier 1841-07/1899 UM Microfilm A1202 Reels 5-23
New Bedford Evening Standard 01/1893-11/1893 UM Microfilm A258
Northampton Daily Hampshire Gazette 1890- UM Microfilm A669
  Hampshire Gazette 01/04/1820-1917 UM Microfilm A668
  Northampton Daily Herald 10/1885-04/11/1921 UM Microfilm A747
Springfield Springfield Republican 1887-09/26/1946 UM Microfilm A36
Missouri      
Kansas City Appeal to Reason 1895-1917 UM Microfilm A311
Nebraska      
Beatrice The Woman's Tribune 1883-03/1909 UM Microfilm 6811a Reels 230-232
New York      
New York Frank Leslie's Weekly 1855-1922 Online: Accessible Archives
  The New York Age 09/19/1891-02/1892 Online: CRL
  New York Evening Journal [1896-1898] UM Microfilm A8
  New York Observer 1833-1919 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 1856-1874
  New York Times 09/18/1851- UM Microfilm A1
    1851-2012 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
  New York Tribune 04/1866-03/1924 UM Microfilm A172
  The People 1891-06/17/1900 UM Microfilm A308
  Spirit of the Times (N.A. Buck) 07/1868-04/1892 UM Microfilm A322
  Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition) 1889- UM Microfilm A7
  World 1895-02/27/1931 UM Microfilm A34
Ohio      
Cleveland Cleveland Plain Dealer 1887-1989 UM Microfilm A173
Pennsylvania      
Philadelphia Christian Index 01/05/1889-12/28/1899 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1828
  The Christian Recorder 1861-1902 Online: Accessible Archives
    01/05/1899-02/28/1901 Online: CRL
Pittsburgh National Labor Tribune 01/1874-12/1909 UM Microfilm A946
Rhode Island      
Providence Providence Daily Journal 05/1893-06/1893 UM Microfilm A314
Tennessee      
Chattanooga Latter Day Saints Southern Star 12/03/1898-12/01/1900 UM Microfilm A1509 Reel 19
Utah      
Salt Lake City Woman's Exponent 06/1886-02/1914 UM Microfilm 6811a Reels 178-182