Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Amherst Libraries

Newspaper Collection: US Newspapers by Decade

Newspapers: 1800 - 1849

State/City Newspaper Name Holdings Location
1800-1809      
Connecticut      
Hartford The American Mercury 1784-1833 UM Microprint 40
  Connecticut Courant 1791-1820 UM Microprint 60
  Connecticut Mirror 1809-1832 UM Microfilm A1033
  The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
New London Connecticut Gazette 1805-1820 UM Microprint 12
  Connecticut Gaz. & The Commercial Intelligencer 1800-1805 UM Microprint 12
Norwich Norwich Packet 1791-1802 UM Microprint 43
District of Columbia National Intelligencer and Washington Advertiser 1800-1810 UM Microprint 38
  Spirit of Seventy-Six 1809-1811 UM Microfilm A1024
  Times and District of Columbia Daily Advertiser 1799-1802 UM Microfilm A1037
Maine      
Portland Eastern Argus 1803-1820 UM Microfilm A1034
Massachusetts      
Boston Boston Patriot 03/1809-03/1816 UM Microfilm A1036
  Columbian Centinel 09/1804-1820 UM Microprint 7
  Columbian Centinel & Massachusetts Federalist 10/1799-09/1804 UM Microprint 6-7
  Independent Chronicle 12/1801-05/1817 UM Microprint 8-9
Greenfield Greenfield Gazette 1798-1811 UM Microfilm A1200 Reels 2-5
Northampton The Hampshire Gazette 09/13/1786-07/19/1815 UM Microfilm A668
Pittsfield The Pittsfield Sun 08/09/1807-08/29/1807 UM Microfilm A1026
  The Pittsfield Sun or Republican Monitor 1806-08/1807 UM Microfilm A1026
  Sun 09/1807-07/1813 UM Microfilm A1026
Salem The Salem Gazette 01/05/1790-12/29/1820 UM Microprint 41
Worcester National Aegis 12/02/1801-12/27/1814 UM Microfilm A1025
  Thomas's Massachusetts Spy or Worcester Gaz. 04/1788-10/1810 UM Microprint 1
New York      
Albany The Balance and New York State Journal 1809-1810 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 5, 70
Hudson Balance 1808 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 5
  The Balance and Columbian Repository [1801], 1802-1807 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 3-4
New York New York Evening Post 1801-1820 UM Microprint 26-27
  New York Herald 01/02/1802-11/15/1817 UM Microprint 53
Pennsylvania      
Philadelphia Gazette of the United States 11/1801-02/1804 UM Microprint 18
  Gazette of the United States & Daily Advertiser 06/1800-10/1801 UM Microprint 18
  Gazette of the United States & Phila. Daily Adv. 07/1796-06/1800 UM Microprint 17-18
  Pennsylvania Gazette 11/1782-10/1815 UM Microfilm A935
    1728-1800 Online: Accessible Archives
  Porcupine's Gazette 04/1797-01/1800 UM Microprint 32
West Chester Chester & Delaware Federalist [1809-1814] Online: Accessible Archives
Rhode Island      
Newport Rhode Island Republican 03/1809-1820 UM Microfilm A1020
Providence The United States Chronicle 1784-1804 UM Microprint 42
Virginia      
Richmond Spirit of Seventy-Six 12/29/1809-02/15/1811 UM Microfilm A1024
1810-1819      
Connecticut      
Hartford The American Mercury 1784-1833 UM Microprint 40
  Connecticut Mirror 1809-1832 UM Microfilm A1033
  The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
New London Connecticut Gazette 1805-1820 UM Microprint 12
District of Columbia Daily National Intelligencer 1813-1820 UM Microprint 39
  National Intelligencer 1810-1812 UM Microprint 38
  National Intelligencer and Washington Advertiser 1800-1810 UM Microprint 38
Maine      
Portland Eastern Argus 1803-1820 UM Microfilm A1034
Maryland      
Baltimore American Farmer [1819-1823] UM Microfilm A83, R. 51-52,1062-1063
    1819-1828 Online: HathiTrust
    1819-1828 Online: Archive.org
    1819-1834 UM SCUA S1 A38
Massachusetts      
Boston Boston Patriot 03/1809-03/1816 UM Microfilm A1036
  Boston Patriot and Daily Chronicle 12/1817-06/1819 UM Microfilm A1036
  Boston Patriot and Daily Mercantile Advertiser 07/1819-1820 UM Microfilm A1036
  Boston Patriot and Morning Advertiser 03/1816-05/1817 UM Microfilm A1036
  Columbian Centinel 09/1804-1820 UM Microprint 7
  Independent Chronicle 12/1801-05/1817 UM Microprint 8-9
  Independent Chronicle & Boston Patriot 06/1817-12/1817 UM Microfilm A1036
Greenfield Franklin Herald 01/1812-08/1822 UM Microfilm A1201 Reels 1-4
  Greenfield Gazette 1798-1811 UM Microfilm A1200 Reels 2-5
  The Traveller 1811 UM Microfilm A1200 Reel 5
Northampton The Hampshire Gazette 09/13/1786-07/19/1815 UM Microfilm A668
  Hampshire Gazette and Northampton Advertiser 07/26/1815 UM Microfilm A668
  Hampshire Gazette and Publick Advertiser 08/02/1815-12/28/1819 UM Microfilm A668
Pittsfield The Pittsfield Sun 07/1813-1820 UM Microfilm A1026
  Sun 09/1807-07/1813 UM Microfilm A1026
Salem The Salem Gazette 01/05/1790-12/29/1820 UM Microprint 41
Stockbridge Berkshire Star 11/30/1815-12/28/1820 UM Microprint 49
    11/1815-1820 UM Microfilm A1049
Worcester The Massachusetts Spy or Worcester Gazette 10/1810-02/1811 UM Microprint 1
  National Aegis 12/02/1801-12/27/1814 UM Microfilm A1025
  Thomas's Massachusetts Spy or Worcester Gaz. 04/1788-10/1810 UM Microprint 1
New York      
Albany The Albany Argus 1813-1825 UM Microfilm A178
  The Balance and New York State Journal 1809-1810 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 5, 70
  The Balance and State Journal 1811 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 70
New York New York Evening Post 1801-1820 UM Microprint 26-27
  New York Herald 01/02/1802-11/15/1817 UM Microprint 53
Palmyra Palmyra Register 1817-1821 UM Microfilm A1305
Waterloo Waterloo Gazette 1817-1821 UM Microfilm A947
Pennsylvania      
Chester The Post Boy [1819] Online: Accessible Archives
Edentown Eden Star 10/31/1814 Online: Accessible Archives
Philadelphia Pennsylvania Gazette 11/1782-10/1815 UM Microfilm A935
West Chester The American Republican [1810, 1814] Online: Accessible Archives
  Chester & Delaware Federalist [1809-1814, 1816-1817] Online: Accessible Archives
  Village Record 1818-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
Rhode Island      
Newport Rhode Island Republican 03/1809-1820 UM Microfilm A1020
Providence Providence Gazette and Country Journal 01/1811-02/1817 UM Microprint 59
  Providence Gaz. & Moral, Polit. & Commercial... 03/1817-12/25/1819 UM Microprint 59
Virginia      
Richmond Spirit of Seventy-Six 12/29/1809-02/15/1811 UM Microfilm A1024
1820-1829      
Connecticut      
Hartford The American Mercury 1784-1833 UM Microprint 40
  Connecticut Courant 1791-1820 UM Microprint 60
  Connecticut Mirror 1809-1832 UM Microfilm A1033
  The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
New London Connecticut Gazette 1805-1820 UM Microprint 12
District of Columbia Daily National Intelligencer 1813-1820 UM Microprint 39
Indiana      
New Harmony The New-Harmony Gazette 10/01/1825-10/22/1828 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1498
Maine      
Portland Eastern Argus 1803-1820 UM Microfilm A1034
Maryland      
Baltimore American Farmer [1819-1823] UM Microfilm A83 R 51-52, 1062-1063
    1819-1828 Online: HathiTrust
    1819-1828 Online: Archive.org
    1819-1834 UM SCUA S1 A38
Massachusetts      
Boston Agricultural Intelligencer and Mechanic Register 01/1820-07/1820 UM SCUA S1 A164
  Boston Patriot and Daily Mercantile Advertiser 07/1819-1820 UM Microfilm A1036
  Columbian Centinel 09/1804-1820 UM Microprint 7
  Medical News-Paper or The Dr. & The Physician 1822-02/1824 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 217
Greenfield Franklin Herald 01/1812-08/1822 UM Microfilm A1201 Reels 1-4
  Franklin Herald and Public Advertiser 09/1822-06/1827 UM Microfilm A1206 Reels 5-6
  Greenfield Gazette and Franklin Herald 1827-06/1837 UM Microfilm A1202 Reels 1-3
Northampton Hampshire Gazette 01/04/1820-1917 UM Microfilm A668
  Northampton Courier 1829-1831 UM Microfilm A668a
Pittsfield The Pittsfield Sun 07/1813-1820 UM Microfilm A1026
Springfield Springfield Republican 09/08/1824-01/03/1835 UM Microfilm A36
Stockbridge Berkshire Star 11/30/1815-12/28/1820 UM Microprint 49
    11/1815-1820 UM Microfilm A1049
New York      
Albany The Albany Argus 1813-1825 UM Microfilm A178
  The Albany Argus and Daily City Gazette 10/1825-1827 UM Microfilm A179
New York Le Courrier des Etats Unis 03/1828-05/21/1829 UM SCUA AP 21 C6 Oversize
  The Free Enquirer 10/28/1828-10/22/1831 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1498
  Freedom's Journal 1827-1829 Online: Accessible Archives
    1827-1829 Online: African-American Newspapers
  New York Evening Post 1801-1820 UM Microprint 26-27
  Working Man's Advocate 10/31/1829-06/05/1830 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 581
Palmyra Palmyra Herald and Canal Advertiser 06/19/1822-03/12/1823 UM Microfilm A1306
  Palmyra Register 1817-1821 UM Microfilm A1305
  Wayne Sentinel 1823-1834 UM Microfilm A1307
  Western Farmer 1821-06/12/1822 UM Microfilm A1306
Waterloo Seneca Farmer [1823-1824] UM Microfilm A947
  Waterloo Gazette 1817-1821 UM Microfilm A947
  Waterloo Republican 1822-1823 UM Microfilm A947
Ohio      
Elyria Lorain Gazette 07/1829-11/1831 UM Microfilm A123
Painesville Painesville Telegraph [07/1822-06/1829] UM Microfilm A146
  Painesville Telegraph and Geauga Free Press [06/1829-06/1830] UM Microfilm A146
Pennsylvania      
Chester The Post Boy [1820, 1823, 1824] Online: Accessible Archives
  The Upland Union [1825-1826, 1828-1835] Online: Accessible Archives
Philadelphia Christian Index 07/04/1829-12/25/1830 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1826
  The Free Trade Advocate and J. of Polit. Economy 1-2 1829 Five College Depository
West Chester Village Record 1818-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
Rhode Island      
Newport Rhode Island Republican 03/1809-1820 UM Microfilm A1020
Virginia      
Richmond Christian Observer 1825 Online: NCCO

Newspapers: 1800 - 1849

State/City Newspaper Name Holdings Location
1830-1839      
Connecticut      
Hartford The American Mercury 1784-1833 UM Microprint 40
  Connecticut Mirror 1809-1832 UM Microfilm A1033
  The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
District of Columbia The Colored American 1837-1842 Online: African-American Newspapers
  The Huntress 12/02/1836-02/08/1845 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 935
Louisiana      
New Orleans The Daily Picayune 11/02/1837-04/05/1914 UM Microfilm A164
  The Picayune 01/25/1837-10/28/1837 UM Microfilm A164
Maryland      
Baltimore American Farmer 1819-1834 UM SCUA S 1 A38
Massachusetts      
Barre Barre Gazette 1835-06/1838, 05/1839-1862 UM Microfilm A1040
  Barre Weekly Gazette [06/1838-05/1839] UM Microfilm A1040
  Farmer's Gazette 06/1834-05/1835 UM Microfilm A1040
Boston Boston Pilot (1838) 1838-1857 Online: CRL
  The Liberator 1831-12/27/1834 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 391
    01/03/1835-12/28/1838 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 392
    01/04/1839-12/30/1842 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 393
    1831-1865 Online: Accessible Archives
    1833 UM E 449 L678 Oversize
Greenfield Gazette and Mercury 1837-07/1841 UM Microfilm A1202 Reel 4
  Greenfield Gazette and Franklin Herald 1827-06/1837 UM Microfilm A1202 Reels 1-3
Northampton Hampshire Gazette 01/04/1820-1917 UM Microfilm A668
  Northampton Courier 1829-1831, 11/16/1831-10/26/1858 UM Microfilm A668a
  Northampton Courier and Hampshire Sentinel 05/18/1831-11/09/1831 UM Microfilm A668a
Springfield Springfield Republican 09/08/1824-01/03/1835 UM Microfilm A36
    01/06/1838-12/26/1846 UM Microfilm A36
New York      
Albany Albany Evening Journal 1830-1865 UM Microfilm A171
  Daily Albany Argus 12/1827-02/1856 UM Microfilm A179
New York The Colored American 1837-1841 Online: Accessible Archives
    03/04/1837-12/25/1841 Online: CRL
  The Free Enquirer 10/29/1828-10/22/1831 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1498
    10/29/1831-06/28/1835 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1499
  The Man 02/18/1834-05/16/1834 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 565
    05/17/1834-12/22/1834 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 566
  New York Evening Post 10/01/1832-10/16/1832 Online: CRL
  New York Observer 1833-1919 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 1856-1874
  New York Sentinel and Working Man's Advocate 06/09/1830-08/14/1830 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 581
  The New York Spirit of the Times 1835-02/1837 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 620
  Spirit of the Times 02/1837-06/1861 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 620-640
  Spirit of the Times & Life in New York 12/1831-11/1832 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 620
  The Traveller, Family J., Spirit of the Times & Life... 1833 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 620
  The Weekly Advocate [1837] Online: Accessible Archives
    01/07/1837-02/25/1837 Online: CRL
  Working Man's Advocate  10/31/1829-06/05/1830 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 581
Palmyra Wayne Sentinel 1823-1834 UM Microfilm A1307
Ohio      
Elyria Lorain Gazette 07/1829-11/1831 UM Microfilm A123
Kirtland Elder's J. of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter... 10/1837-08/1838 UM Microfilm 1509 Reel 13
  Evening and Morning Star 06/1832-09/1834 UM Microfilm A166
    06/1832-09/1834 UM Microfilm 1509 Reel 13
  Latter Day Saints Messenger and Advocate 10/1834-09/1837 UM Microfilm 1509 Reel 19
Pennsylvania      
Chester Delaware County Democrat [1835] Online: Accessible Archives
  Delaware County Republican 1833-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
  The Upland Union [1828-1835] Online: Accessible Archives
  The Weekly Visitor [10/1830] Online: Accessible Archives
Philadelphia Christian Index 07/04/1829-12/25/1830 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1826
    1831-06/29/1833 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1826
    01/05/1837-12/28/1837 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1826
  The Pennsylvania Freeman 1838-1841 Online: CRL
West Chester The American Republican [1834] Online: Accessible Archives
  Village Record 1818-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
1840-1849      
Connecticut      
Hartford The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
District of Columbia The Colored American 1837-1842 Online: African-American Newspapers
  The Huntress 12/02/1836-02/08/1845 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 935
    02/15/1845-02/07/1852 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 936
  The National Era 01/07/1847-03/12/1860 Online: Accessible Archives
    1847-03/1860 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 899-903
Iowa      
Kanesville Frontier Guardian 02/07/1849-02/20/1852 UM Microfilm 1509 Reel 13
Louisiana      
New Orleans The Daily Picayune 11/02/1837-04/05/1914 UM Microfilm A164
Massachusetts      
Amherst Hampshire and Franklin Express 09/13/1844-01/20/1865 UM Microfilm A338
Barre Barre Gazette 05/1839-1862 UM Microfilm A1040
  Barre Patriot [1844-1855] UM Microfilm A1038
  The Wachusett Star 11/1847-06/1848 UM Microfilm A1039
Boston Boston Courier 07/1843-01/1847 UM Microfilm A845
  Boston Pilot (1838) 1838-1857 Online: CRL
  Daily Evening Transcript 1848-1853 UM Microfilm A165
  The Liberator 01/04/1839-12/30/1842 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 393
    01/06/1843-12/25/1846 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 394
    1847-12/27/1850 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 395
    1831-1865 Online: Accessible Archives
    1847, 1849 UM E 449 L678 Oversize
Fall River Fall River Weekly News 04/1846-03/1851 UM Microfilm A255
Greenfield The Free Soil 1848 UM Microfilm A1173
    1848 UM SCUA E 420 F8 1848 Oversize
  Gazette and Courier 1841-07/1899 UM Microfilm A1202 Reels 5-23
  Gazette and Mercury 1837-07/1841 UM Microfilm A1202 Reel 4
Northampton Hampshire Gazette 01/04/1820-1917 UM Microfilm A668
  Hampshire Herald 02/1845-08/1848 UM Microfilm A954
    02/1845-01/1848 UM SCUA AP 2 H18 Oversize
  Northampton Courier 11/16/1831-10/26/1858 UM Microfilm A668a
Springfield Springfield Republican 01/06/1838-12/26/1846 UM Microfilm A36
New Jersey      
Granville The Radical, in Continuation of the Working Man's 1841-04/1843 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 582
New York      
Albany Albany Evening Journal 1830-1865 UM Microfilm A171
  Daily Albany Argus 12/1827-02/1856 UM Microfilm A179
New York Christian Inaquirer 10/17/1846-12/28/1850 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 1885
  The Colored American 1837-1841 Online: Accessible Archives
    03/04/1837-12/25/1841 Online: CRL
  National Anti-Slavery Standard 1840-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
    1840-1870 UM Microfilm A182
  New York Daily Tribune 04/1842-04/1866 UM Microfilm A172
  New York Observer 1833-1919 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 1856-1874
  New York Tribune 04/1841-04/1842 UM Microfilm A172
  The People's Rights and Organ of the Natl.Reform 07/24/1844-07/27/1844 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 583
  Spirit of the Times 02/1837-06/1861 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 620-640
  The Subterranean & The Working Man's Advocate 10/12/1844-12/21/1844 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 583
  Young America 03/29/1845-09/23/1848 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 583
Rochester The North Star 1847-1851 UM Microfilm A357
    1847-1851 Online: Accessible Archives
Seneca Falls The Lily 1849-1856 Online: Accessible Archives
Ohio      
Cleveland Cleveland Daily Plain Dealer 1845-1886 UM Microfilm A173
Painesville Painesville Telegraph [12/1839-11/1842] UM Microfilm A146
    [10/22/1845-03/25/1846] UM Microfilm A146
  The Telegraph [1842-10/1845] UM Microfilm A146
Pennsylvania      
Chester Chester County Republican [1842] Online: Accessible Archives
  Delaware County Republican 1833-1870 Online: Accessible Archives
Philadelphia The Pennsylvania Freeman 1838-1841, 1844-1851 Online: CRL
Pittsburgh Messenger and Advocate of the Church 1844-1846 UM Microfilm 1509 Reel 19
West Chester The American Republican [1846] Online: Accessible Archives
  Village Record 1818-1870 Online: Accessible Archives