The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is the home of the Oscars, as well as several other awards ceremonies. From the website: "Founded in 1927 by 36 of the most influential men and women in the motion picture industry at the time, the Academy is an honorary membership organization whose ranks now include more than 6,000 artists and professionals."
This website provides a wealth of films on the visual arts from around the world. The time periods range from the antiquities to the modern age and cover all the major styles of the artists. Great resource for teachers and students studying the fine arts and film.
"The BFI was founded in 1933. We are a charity governed by a Royal Charter. We combine cultural, creative and industrial roles, bringing together the BFI National Archive and BFI Reuben Library, film distribution, exhibition at BFI Southbank and BFI IMAX, publishing and festivals. We award Lottery funding to film production, distribution, education, audience development and market intelligence and research."
Founded in 1996, CineFiles indexes digitized materials from the University of California Berkeley Art Museum & Pacific Film Archive collection. CineFiles' archive dates back over a century, and includes reviews, interviews, scholarly articles and publicity materials.
Critical Commons is a public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts. Critical Commons is also part of the technical and conceptual architecture of the Alliance for Networking Visual Culture and the electronic authoring/publishing platform Scalar.
"The DEFA Film Library at the University of Massachusetts Amherst is the only archive and study center outside Europe devoted to the study of a broad spectrum of filmmaking by East German filmmakers or related to East Germany from 1946 to the present."
Provides free access to the best movies from the Federal Government, including training videos for the military,national parks, U.S. Postal Service, Food and Drug Administration and other branches of the Federal Government. All videos are available for reuse without penalty or restrictions.
Filmportal provides detailed credits for thousands of German films from 1895 till today. 7,000 titles are covered in-depth, featuring synopses, reviews, photos or posters. Filmportal also includes 155,500 names and 3,000 biographies.
"This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download."
"IMDb started in 1990 as a hobby project by an international group of movie and TV fans. IMDb is now the world’s most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content. We offer a searchable database of more than 100 million data items including more than 2 million movies, TV and entertainment programs and more than 4 million cast and crew members."