Film Studies

Library Databases

Alt Text: Film reel with unspooled film

Academic Search Premier
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Film and Television Literature Index
Reviews from magazines and journals, 1914-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Film Index International
Films by name, country, and more, 1893-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Citations to articles in journals covering theater, dance, film, and puppetry, 1864-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Screen Studies Collection
Cross-search American Film Institute Catalog (AFI), Film Index International (FII) and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Kanopy Films: Film Studies
Streaming video of important films since the advent of cinema.
Digital Theatre+
(DT+) is an educational platform for the study of performing arts and dramatic texts. It offers full-length filmed stage performances of classic and modern plays, along with interviews and workshops with playwrights, directors, designers, actors, musicians, and others involved in the playmaking process.

MLA International Bibliography
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s -
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media Studies
Expert discussion of topics and sub-topics in the discipline, with extensive annotated lists of best books and articles.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Historical New York Times
The entire New York Times, searchable, in image files, from 1851 to three years ago.
Rotten Tomatoes
Read up on the latest movie reviews published by professional film and T.V.critics.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of several hundred current subject encyclopedias.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.