Research Guide for High School Students
How to Find Books at UMass
Books that UMass owns will indicate "UM" in the location. For a paper book, make sure it says "Available"and note its location and call number. If it's at the W.E.B. Du Bois Library, you can get the floor from this chart here, based on first letters of call number.
TIP: When you look for a particular book on the shelf, make sure to browse the shelf and nearby shelves for related books. Take your time! Open the books!
Photo credit: Rio Hondo College Library
Databases for Research
Beyond the Basic Search: How to Find Research Articles and More at UMass
There are hundreds of online collections and databases at UMass. To help researchers navigate that, librarians have created Research Guides organized by subject. Below are just a few of our databases and online collections.
Library databases are available to Massachusetts residents on a walk-in basis. Residents may use the database collection at any of the 50 public terminals located in the Learning Commons, W.E.B. Du Bois Library. Please note that remote access to library databases requires current UMass affiliation.
Tip for databases
After you've run a search, use the button to retrieve articles if available.
Access Online Resources for Free
The Boston Public Library (BPL) and the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) offer Massachusetts residents free, remote access to proprietary databases. Database resources include e-books, journals, magazines, and newspapers. Request a BPL E-Card for access.
Connect to databases for Massachusetts residents at https://www.bpl.org/online-resources/ You will need your 13-digit BPL E-Card number to login.
Use Care When Relying on Web Sites
Remember to evaluate
web pages for accuracy, authority, currency and coverage before using information you find there unless the web page is recommended by your professor, a librarian or other individual you know and trust. Below are links to web sites that will help you do this quickly and effectively.
- Last Updated: Feb 8, 2024 5:04 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/high-school
- Print Page
LibGuides are created independently by library staff and are neither reviewed nor endorsed by library administration or the university. UMass Amherst is one of 5,800 institutions using LibGuides, and the LibGuides at UMass Amherst are among more than 900,000 LibGuides worldwide.