German and Scandinavian Studies
Search for Library Films
-
Discovery Search This link opens in a new windowSearch for films on physical media and streaming at UMass and the other Five College libraries. By default, results will include many formats including articles and films. To limit your results to films, find the 'Format' header on the results page and click 'Videos'.
-
Yiddish CinemaList of Yiddish films on VHS and DVD in Five College Libraries. Does not include Yiddish Book Center holdings.
DEFA Film Library
The DEFA Film Library at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, founded by Professor Barton Byg in 1993, is the only archive and research center outside of Germany devoted to a broad spectrum of filmmaking from and related to the former GDR. It houses an extensive collection of 35- and 16mm prints, DVDs, books, periodicals and articles. Students are involved in all aspects of the Library’s research, outreach and teaching activities and also gain valuable experience in subtitling and library, conference and arts management.
-
DEFA Film Library Film SearchSearch by title, themes & genres, or browse a complete list of the library's holdings.
Film Databases
-
filmportal.deDatabase with 85,000+ entries on German cinema and television films from 1895 to the present. It also includes 190,000+ filmmakers.
Open Access Digital Film Collections
-
Deutsche Digitale BibliothekDigitized resources from German museums, libraries, and archives. Use the "Media Type" dropdown, select "Video", and click "Add Filter" to view films.
-
Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und FernsehenA major German film archive located in Berlin. Some archival materials have been digitized. The film archive contains copies of over 26,500 films, as well as an inventory of over 40,000 films on video, DVD and Blu-ray. Mediathek Fernsehen contains over 9,000 broadcasts, made over around 70 years in both East and West Germany as well as modern Germany. In addition, the archival collection includes photographs, posters, costumes and architectural sketches.
-
Digitaler Lesesaal - Das BundesarchivContains 5,000+ digitized films and 300,000+ records of documentaries and feature films accepted on the basis of the Bundesarchivgesetz and Filmförderungsgesetz. To limit your search to digitized films, select "Ja" under "Videostream vorhanden".
