German and Scandinavian Studies
Librarian for German and Scandinavian Studies
Welcome to the German and Scandinavian Studies Research Guide!
This guide will introduce you to resources available through the UMass Amherst Libraries and beyond. Whether you're just starting your research and looking for background information or putting the finishing touches on your dissertation, the library is here to help.
A new and improved guide is coming! In the meantime, please bear with us.
"Under Construction" by hochmohr is licensed under CC0 1.0 Deed
Quick Links
- Discovery Search This link opens in a new windowSearch to find (e-)books, articles, films, and more. It contains most but not all of the resources available to you through the UMass Amherst Libraries and the other Five College libraries as wel
- German and Scandinavian Studies DatabasesView and access library databases specific to German and Scandinavian studies. The full Database A-Z list contains many more.
Get Help
For immediate help Monday - Friday 9-5pm (Spring 2024) you can contact a librarian via chat or text at (413) 650-6269.
You can also submit a question and will typically receive a reply in less than 24 hours during weekdays.
To schedule an appointment to meet, send me an email using the button on the left. Appointments can be on-site in the Du Bois Library or virtual (Zoom).
German and Scandinavian Studies Dissertations Collection
ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS
Access the combined library catalog of the Five Colleges.
Search the Yiddish Book Center: a cultural center focused on preserving Yiddish-language books and film and containing over a million volumes.
Access WorldCat, a combined catalog of libraries from all over the world.
DEFA Film Library
Click above to access the DEFA Film Library. It was founded in the early 1990s by Barton Byg, professor of film and German Studies at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. It was Byg’s idea was to make films from the East German DEFA Studios more available and widely known in North America and to broaden popular and scholarly understanding of filmmaking in the GDR by critically exploring its aesthetic, political and ideological bases. -from the website of the DEFA Film Library.
SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES
Access detailed credits of tens of thousands of German feature films ranging from 1895 till today. As of now, 7,000 titles are covered in-depth, featuring synopses, reviews, photos or posters. Lists 155,500 names relevant for German film and has over 3000 biographies.
Voice of the Shuttle: German is a portal to numerous internet sites pertaining to German literature.
Designed to provide access to scholarly resources in German Studies, including all German-speaking countries.
H-German is a daily Internet discussion forum focused on scholarly topics in German history.
OTHER RESOURCES
- UMass Interlibrary LoanObtain a loan of books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
Language Instruction
- BBC LanguagesTeach yourself German!
- Deutsche Welle, Learn GermanFree German courses.
- Swedish InstituteA free online course in Swedish for beginners.
- Icelandic OnlineFree courses in Icelandic from the University of Iceland.
- Norwegian on the WebAn online entry-level course that is free and open to all from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology.
ONLINE REFERENCE SOURCES
- Europa World This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current. - Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large collection of literature reference material, including criticism and author biographies.
