Libraries Ask Us

Massachusetts History

ONLINE REFERENCE SOURCES

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the African American community from 1700s to 1975.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Digital Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Maps of New England towns and cities as they were in the 19th and early 20th centuries. There are several versions over time of most maps, 1867-1970.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Digtial Public Library of America
The DPLA is a ditial repository where libraries, archive and musuems thoughout the united states can use to store and allow other insitutions and the public to acess their collections.

Historical Newspaper: Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts' newspaper of record, 1872-1991. Additional content is added yearly.

Users must limit their search to "full text" on the left side of the screen to make sure they only get results that include the Full Text. Without the limiter, the "abstracts" will be indexed as well.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Newspaper: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of The New York Times, with coverage from 1851 to three years ago.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics gathered by the Census Bureau, with scholarly editing and essays, from colonial times to near present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Massachusetts NewsBank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts Daily Newspapers: Amherst Bulletin, Daily Hampshire Gazette, Springfield Republican, Greenfield Recorder, Valley Advocate, and five more Massachusetts city newspapers. 1990's to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source material for life as it was lived by 1,325 women in North America, 1675-1950.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Springfield Republican
Springfield's paper of record, 1988-present.
Springfield Republican and Springfield Union: Online Index
Index only; the newspaper itself is available in microfilm (A36). Coverage: 1844-1989