Mythology
AFRICAN
Use these Library of Congress subject headings to perform SUBJECT searches in the library's online catalog:
| Mythology, African |
| Folklore, African |
- African Traditional ReligionsBruce Janz's webpage of resources on African Traditional Religions (University of Central Florida)
- Ancient Egypt: The MythologyA collection of entries on the gods, myths, and symbols of Ancient Egypt.
- Encyclopedia Mythica--African MythologyGeneral African mythology. This area features over 200 entries from Ashanti, Fon, Dinka, Yoruba, Khoikhoi, Ibo, Xhosa, Shongo, and Zulu mythologies.
- Mythome.orgWebsite from Robert O'Connell with information on African mythology and folktales.
- SanteriaInformation about Afro-Cuban Religion and Mythology
- Traditional African ReligionChidi Denis Isizoh's wepage with links about the practice of African traditional religion on the continent and in the Diaspora.
CARIBBEAN
- Gods Laid Bare: Caribbean MythologyFull list of all Caribbean 'A' entries currently running amok in the 'Gods Laid Bare' database.
image:http://submag.co.uk/2012/10/19/voodoo-experience/
- Pirate Myths & Maritime MonstersA collection of fancy, fact, and mayhem.
ASIAN/PACIFIC
- Bhagavad GitaOn this site you will find a collection of articles on the Bhagavad Gita, along with translations of the original text accompanied by various commentaries.
Use these Library of Congress subject headings to perform SUBJECT searches in the library's online catalog:
| Mythology, Hindu | Mythology, Chinese | Mythology, Aboriginal Australian |
| Mythology, Indic |
Mythology, Japanese | Mythology, Indonesian |
- Chinese TalesWebsite contains selected stories from Chinese myth and folklore.
- Indian DivinityAn extremely comprehensive website on Indian gods, goddesses, deities, etc.
- Oceania Mythology HomepageProvides long-entry overviews on the mythologies of oceanic cultures.
- Polynesian MythologyFull-text of Sir George Grey's Polynesian Mythology & Ancient Traditional History of the New Zealanders as Furnished By Their Priests and Chiefs.
- Sacred Texts: BuddhismThis page provides links to online versions of sacred texts from the Buddhist religion.
- Sacred Texts: HinduismThis page provides links to online versions of sacred texts from the Hindu religion.
- Shimane: Home of Japanese MythologyCreated to celebrate the 1300th anniversary of The Kojiki, this website provides information from the mythological texts known as the oldest form of Japanese "history."
EUROPEAN
image:http://www.germanicmythology.com/original/earthmother.html
Use these Library of Congress subject headings to perform SUBJECT searches in the library's online catalog:
| Mythology, Baltic | Mythology, European | Mythology, Irish |
| Mythology, British | Mythology, Finno-Ugrian | Mythology, Norse |
| Mythology, Celtic | Mythology, Germanic | Mythology, Slavic |
- Germanic Myths, Legends, and SagasCollection of information and links on Germanic (especially Old Norse) mythology and culture.
- Irish Literature, Mythology, Folklore, and DramaLarge collection of links to online mythological texts and information.
- Myths, Culture and Feelings from the Ancient FinlandWebsite about ancient Finnish culture including mythology.
- The Camelot ProjectA digital humanities project put together at the University of Rochester that collects Arthurian texts, images, bibliographies, and basic information.
- The Celtic Literature Collective: Irish TextsContains selections from the mythological, Ulster, and Fenian cycles as well as other Irish literature. In English and Gaelic.
- TitulinisWebsite on Lithuanian culture. Includes section on religion and mythology.
NATIVE AMERICAN
Use these Library of Congress subject headings to perform SUBJECT searches in the library's online catalog:
| Indian Mythology |
| Indian Mythology, North American |
| Indians in North America, Religion |
| Maya Mythology |
| Inca Mythology |
| Huichol Mythology |
- Native American Lore IndexLinks to several stories of Native American Indian Lore from several Tribes across Turtle Island.
- Native American MythologyA collection of American Indian stories, myths, and legends found on indigenouspeople.net.
- Native American Indian Legends & FolkloreProvides a list of American Indian tribes with brief original entries and other resources on their mythology and folklore.
- Native Central and South American Indian Legends & FolkloreProvides a list of Central and South American Indian civilizations with additional resources on their mythologies.
