Classics

ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS

Do a general catalog search with the links below:

Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Find articles across a large number of library resources with just one search! Begin your generalized research here.
Free to use for anyone to find records. Some results, and detailed information such as PDFs and full text links, are available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.
Content is freely available for use by all.

UMass Interlibrary Loan
Borrow books held outside the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
Classics Department

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history from 1975-2007.
Content is freely available for use by all.
Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, interdisciplinary, contemporary coverage of Greco-Roman antiquity and its influential aftermath.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum This link opens in a new window
Newly published Greek inscriptions and publications on previously known documents. Presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
Excerpts of both early and modern commentary on the major Greek and Roman writers.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles and books in the field of Classics. Search for ancient authors using the Latin form of the name. 1949-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for philosophy journal articles and books published in Western languages, 1940-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

PhilPapers
Comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.