Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries

MICROBIO 360 - Writing in Microbiology

Get the Article

Icon for UMass, Amherst library resources - UMLinks

Use this button in many databases to see how to get a specific article.

If we have it, it will link to the full text via our online subscriptions.

Or, it will search the library catalog to show you the years/volumes we have in paper.

-- or help you request it via Interlibrary Loan.

In some resources (Google Scholar, e.g.) it will be a text link like this:

Get Full Text via UMLinks

As always, if you need help, contact me, or any library staff.

RefWorks - Organize Citations and Format Bibliographies

RefWorks citation manager will keep you organized!

  • Collect & organize citations
  • Format bibliographies  

Guide to RefWorks at UMass Amherst 

Shortcuts: 
Login to your RefWorks account or Create a new account.

Choosing a database

The best databases to search depends on your topic. For example:

If you need help on where best to loo, ask me!

Databases for Microbiology - most likely useful

Off-campus access: log-in with your NetID.

Suggested research databases for articles

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

Biological & Agricultural Index

Articles in about 300 scholarly journals on agriculture, food production, nutrition, forestry, marine biology and plant pathology, 1984-present.

Biological Abstracts
Co
mprehensive coverage of the life sciences literature, including journal articles, conference papers, and books relating to life sciences, 1969-present.    

BioMed Central
Free (open source) access to federally funded peer-reviewed biomedical research in over 100 recent journals.

Food Science & Technology Abstracts
Articles in 1,800 food science journals, plus other scholarly material, on all aspects of food science, nutrition, and processing, 1969-present.

GreenFILE
Scholarly journal and magazine articles on the environment and sustainability in building, agriculture and energy, 1973-current.

Web of Science
Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in important journals in all fields (despite the name). Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.

Zoological Record
Citations to periodical articles and other scholarly literature on zoology, biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, and genetics, 1864-present.