History 346: Twentieth-Century China
- Five College Archives & Manuscripts Collections DatabaseUse this database to search for collections on your topic. View the finding aids to see exactly what kinds of materials are in the files. Click on the Advanced Search button and then do a subject search on China. You may also add another keyword to get at the topic you want to research.
Really nothing can beat putting your hands on real primary sources, Each of the Five Colleges has its own archives with its own particular strengths.
- Primary Sources on China at Yale UniversityLots of papers and documents related to the lives of missionaries in China, Chinese in America, and other China-related materials.
China Related Archival Projects
- Visualsing China"Visualising China is a JISC-funded project to allow users to explore and enhance more than 8000 digitised images of photographs of China taken between 1850 and 1950. It allows access to many previously unseen albums, envelopes and private collections and also major collections such as Historical Photographs of China, the Sir Robert Hart Collection and Joseph Needham's Photographs of Wartime China."
- China Digital Archive 1966-1976 (Australia)Documents are in Chinese.
- Women and Social Movements International This link opens in a new windowWomen activists' letters and diaries, conference proceedings, and other primary and secondary sources 1840-present.Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
- Last Updated: Oct 4, 2022 1:45 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/hist346
- Print Page