History 346: Twentieth-Century China
On Microfilm
- North-China HeraldCall Number: UM Microfilm Storage A 113Library has: 1850:Aug-1918:Dec,1919:Jul-1941:Nov.
- Survey of China mainland pressCall Number: UM Microfilm Storage / A 785Library has: 1 (1950:Nov)-4506 (1969:Sep),4568 (1970:Jan)-5469 (1973:Oct)
- Survey of People’s Republic of China pressCall Number: UM Microfilm Storage / A 785Library Infocontinues earlier. Library has: 5470 (1973:Oct)-6115 (1976:Jun),6119 (Jun)-6223 (1976:Nov),6250 (1977:Jun)-6434 (1977:Sep)
- Daily report. [microform] / China FBIS.Call Number: UM Microfiche Storage / PrEx 7.10:FBIS-CHI-(nos.)began in 1981.
Online Newspaper Archives
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new windowThe entire New York Times, searchable, in PDF format, from 1851 to three years ago.
- Historical Boston Globe This link opens in a new windowMassachusetts' newspaper of record, 1872-1989. Additional content is added yearly.
Users must limit their search to "full text" on the left side of the screen to make sure they only get results that include the Full Text. Without the limiter, the "abstracts" will be indexed as well. - People's Daily (Ren Min Ri Bao) This link opens in a new windowChinese newspaper of record, 1946-present.
- Newspaper SG (Singapore)NewspaperSG is an online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers. You can search our digital archive of newspapers published between 1831-2009, or find information on over 200 newspaper titles in the National Library's microfilm collection.
- Historical Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new windowEnglish-language newspapers published in China. It spans 1832-1953, with most content from 1910-1940.
- Japan Times Archives This link opens in a new windowDigitized issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser (Morning ed.) , Japan Times and Advertiser (Evening ed.) and the Nippon Times; includes all issues since March 22, 1897.
Current News
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowPressReader has current newspapers and magazines from around the world. You can browse by country or by language. If you choose China - you will see both Chinese language and English language publications. If you choose Chinese language it will also show you newspapers and magazines published in Chinese in the United States or other countries.
- People's Daily (in English)Current news stories in English from the People's Daily. There is a searchable archive, and also a browse function that goes back to 1998.
- South China Morning PostSee events in China unfold through Hong Kong eyes.
- CCTV NewsVideo and written news in English from China with a definite CPC slant.
