Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries

NRC 571 - Fisheries Science & Management

Course guide for Fall 2010

Best Article Databases for Fisheries

Aquatic Science Collection ystarsmall.gif
Journal articles, book chapters, reports, and conference proceedings published in the field of aquatic science, some in full text, 1965-present.

Agricola ystarsmall.gif
Broad coverage of "applied biology" including aquaculture and fisheries. Citations from journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports. 1970-present.

CAB Abstracts ystarsmall.gif
Indexes journal articles and other material on agriculture, including fisheries, produced by the British Commonwealth
Agricultural Bureaux. 1910-present.

Other useful databases, specific to general:

Oceanic Abstracts - Technical literature on marine and brackish-water environment from 1981 forward

Environment Index - Citations to articles on the environment from scientific, legal, and popular journals, 1950s- present.

Zoological Record - Animal research from 1864 forward

Biological Abstracts - Biology research from 1969 forward

Biological and Agricultural Index - Research literature from 1984 forward

Web of Science; Science Citation Abstracts - High impact research in all sciences from 1900 forward. Allows you to search by cited reference.

Journals for fisheries

Search for journals we subscribe to using "Subject begins with" in the UMass Amherst Library Catalog

   Aquatic biology – Periodicals
   Fishes – Periodicals
   Fisheries – Periodicals
   Freshwater biology – Periodicals
   Marine biology – Periodicals

Or see E-journals available to you in "Find E-Journals" by Category: Agriculture Sciences, subcategory Fisheries and Aquaculture


Selected journal titles - links go to e-journal access;
Call numbers and holdings in the UMass Amherst Du Bois and Science libraries, for paper version of journals

Fish and fisheries

Full text available: Mar 2000-.  (Use the Wiley Online Library link.)

Fisheries research

Full text available: 1995-

Fisheries science : FS

Full text available: 1994 -.  (Note the years available through different sources - SpringerLink for most recent)

Fishery bulletin (National Marine Fisheries Service)

Full text available: 1881 - (!)

Freshwater biology

Full text available: 1997-

Per QH96 .A1 F73
UM/W.E.B. Du Bois  has 13 (1983) - 22 (1989)
Note: issues from 1990-1996 available through interlibrary loan.

ICES journal of marine science : journal du conseil

Full text available: 50 (1993)-

Per GC1.I64
UM/Science  has 48 (1991) - 58(2001)

International review of hydrobiology

Full text available: 85 (2000)-

Per QH90.I5
UM/Science  has 83 (1998)-


Journal of fish biology

Full text available: 42(1993)-

Per SH1.J6
UM/Science  has: 36 (1990) - 59 (2001)
UM/W.E.B. Du Bois  has 1 (1969) - [23 (1983)] - 35 (1989)


Journal of ichthyology

Per QL614.J6
UM/Science  has 30 (1990)-
UM/W.E.B. Du Bois has 10 (1970) - [14 (1974)] - 29 (1989)