Libraries Ask Us

History 341: The Ottoman Empire

ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS & RESOURCES

Five College Catalog
Find books, journals, and media collections held by UMass Libraries and the Five Colleges.
UMass-WorldCat
Combines UMass catalog, WorldCat, & selected article databases.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.
Content is freely available for use by all.

Free, public WorldCat
Same database, but open access. Cannot be used for Interlibrary Loan.
UMass Interlibrary Loan
Judaica and Near Eastern Studies --library resources page

Selected print reference works

All materials are located in the Reference Collection, Main Floor of the Du Bois Library.

The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world . DS35.53.O96 2009 6v.

Atlas of the Islamic World Since 1500. DS35.6R6 1982

The Islamic World: Past & Present. DS35.53.I86 2004 3v.

Cultural Atlas of Islam. DS36.85.A39 1986

Medieval Islamic Civilization: An Encyclopedia DS36.85.M434 2006 2v.

Article databases

Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic OneFile
- This link opens in a new window
A large interdisciplinary collection of scholarly, professional and trade journal articles, 1980-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

ONLINE REFERENCE SOURCES

Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers Muslims of every age and land, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, and the geography, ethnography, history, topography, and monuments of major towns and cities, encompassing the Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, Indian and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire, and all other Islamic countries.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Europa World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a bibliographical management software which will help you organize your citations, articles, books, etc. paid for by the UMass Amherst Library, that the UMass Amherst community can access from the Library website. RefWorks collects, stores, and organizes citations from books, articles from databases, web sites, and other sources. RefWorks automatically converts citations into properly formatted bibliographies

Better than using 3"x5' index cards!