Streaming Media Resources
this is a guide to audio and video services available from the library and on demand, including both licensed and free resources.
Find what you need and we don't own it?
If the materials you want to show to your class are not available, contact the Reserves Dept. (firstname.lastname@example.org) to see if they can digitize or purchase what you need to show for your class. Reserves staff are happy to work with you.
Resources we haven't licensed
- Swank Motion PicturesSwank Digital allows students to legally view course-assigned popular motion pictures via streaming video. Catalog includes over 18,000 films which can be viewed outside the classroom and off campus. You can order title by title.
Here is a set of links for media resources that UMass hasn't yet licenced but wants to keep track of for future consideration. Please let us know of any resources you would like us to consider.
In many cases we can buy or lease particular titles through these vendors.
- Tribeca Film Institute Reframe CollectionReframe seeks to help individual filmmakers, distributors, archives, libraries and other media owners to digitize and sell their work using the internet, and to become a one-stop location for anyone seeking these films. Sold to individuals through Amazon and to institutions through this website.
- American History in VideoAmerican History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 5,820 titles, equaling approximately 1,493 hours.
- Paley Center SeminarsThe Paley Center Seminars is an exclusive video collection of interviews with celebrities, television crews, and distinguished panels. It includes 300 filmed seminars from the acclaimed series held by The Paley Center for Media (formerly The Museum of Television & Radio) in New York and Los Angeles. These lively discussions feature the leading names in media discussing the creative process, contemporary issues in production, and issues such as the impact of the media on contemporary society.
- Ambrose VideoLeasing system by clip, program, or 50-hour bundles. IP address authentication. Lots of documentaries, television programs, BBC. Ambrose Video programs are available for annual subscription, multi-year subscription, or perpetual purchase.
- National Film Board of CanadaWe do not yet have an institutional license, which would allow us to show materials in class.
- Annenburg MediaMore K-12 than college.
- Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveThis is not streaming media. The website offers a searchable database of new clips and subscribing libraries may borrow videos of desired clips.
- New Day Digitaloffers streaming for classrooms and major discounts if DVDs already purchased
- Last Updated: Feb 24, 2022 11:41 AM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/media
- Print Page