CC 392M Honors: Creativity & Metaphor
Education & Commonwealth Honors College Librarian
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
Other resources
Online library catalogs
- Five College CatalogFind books, journals, and media collections held by UMass Libraries and the Five Colleges.
- Free, public WorldCatSame database, but open access. Cannot be used for Interlibrary Loan; for that you must use the UMass WorldCat link.
Article databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s - - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present. - Academic OneFile
- This link opens in a new window
A large interdisciplinary collection of scholarly, professional and trade journal articles, 1980-present. - Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Online Art Databases
- Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design with international coverage. - Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984. - ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, books, chapters, exhibition catalogs and dissertations on modern art from the Impressionists to the present. - Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history from 1975-2007.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The best scholarly dictionary for all aspects of fine and applied arts, including design and architecture. Current. - ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than two million digital images of works of fine art, architecture and design. - Europa World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current.
Selected print reference materials
The following print materials are in the Reference Collection, Main Floor of the Du Bois Library:
The Dictionary of Art. New York: Grove’s Dictionaries, 1996. 34v. (REF N31.D5 1996. Also online.)
Encyclopedia of World Art. New York, McGraw-Hill [1959-c1987]. 17v. (REF N31.E56)
Biographical Dictionaries:
Allgemeines
Künstlerlexikon: die bildenden Künstler aller Zeiten und Völker. Saur.
München: Saur, 1992-2002. 33 v. (N40. A63 1992)
Bénézit, E. (Emmanuel). Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Paris: Gründ, 2006. 14v. (REF N40.D5213 2006)
Gaze,
Delia, ed.; Mihajlovic, Maja and Shrimpton, Leanda, picture eds.
Dictionary of Women Artists. 2 vols. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn
Publishers, 1997. (REF N8354 .D53 1997)
Falk, Peter Hastings,
ed.-in-chief. Who Was Who in American Art, 1564-1975. Madison, CT:
Sound View Press, 1999. (REF N6536 .W56 1999 +)
Who's Who in American Art. New York [etc.]. R. R. Bowker, 2002. (REF N6536. W62)
Who's Who in Art. London: The Art Trade Press, Ltd., 2000. (REF N40. B46 1999)
