Admin Sign In 

Art & Architecture Library Research Guide 

Last update: Sep 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/art  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Art of the Day


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Doing academic research

Magnifying glass

 

The links below lead to PowerPoint presentations on how to use the library more effectively. Each PowerPoint presentation will take a few seconds to load, and then it will open as a slide show. When the presentation is over, hit the "Escape" key to return to the LibGuide page.

What is a "refereed" or scholarly article?

Better book searching 

How to find articles in the library

Why use WorldCat?

How to use interlibrary loan

How to read call numbers

How to cite books & articles

 
 

Home

Da Vinci's ideal manClassical ordersArtist's paleteDesign tools

Library Research page for Art , Art History, & Architecture.

This guide is intended to help you with your library research in art, art history, architecture, and design. You can access our full-text and article arts databases, or search for a good reference source (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.) to help you in your research.

Need some historical or literary context? The Library subscribes to a large number of humanities databases in history, literature, and the classics.

Looking for images? We have an image library, as well as subscriptions to several image databases. Still not enough? Here is a list of "free" web sources for art images.

UMass Fine Arts dept. logo

Fine Arts Departments at UMass:

Architecture + Design

Art History

Studio Art

Organizations:

College Art Association

Architectural associations (thanks to University of Nevada Libraries)

Above all, don't hesitate to contact me to request a reference consulation, a bibliographic instruction session at the library for your class, or to suggest purchasing books or other materials to add to our collection. ¡A sus órdenes!

 

ArtStor News


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDr. Peter Stern
Contact Info:
1967 Du Bois Library
413-545-3967
pstern@library.umass.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Romance languages, fine arts, and area studies, especially Latin America.

 

RefWorks

Refworks logo

 

RefWorks is a bibliographical management software which will help you organize your citations, articles, books, etc. paid for by the UMass Amherst Library, that the UMass Amherst community can access from the Library website. RefWorks collects, stores, and organizes citations from books, articles from databases, web sites, and other sources. RefWorks automatically converts citations into properly formatted bibliographies

Better than using 3"x5' index cards!

 

Index cards

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait