Psychological & Brain Sciences
Guide to best UMass Library resources for research in psychology
PsycInfo
UMass Amherst subscribes to three databases from the American Psychological Association: PsycInfo, PsycArticles, and PsycTests. This page will focus on resources to increase your skills in using PsycInfo to find articles.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPublished by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed journal literature in psychology, behavioral science and mental health. Access nearly 2,300 journals, 500,000 books records, 600 videos, and 3 million+ DOIs. Journals in nearly 30 languages. Publications from over 50 countries. Coverage dating back to the 1600s.
Written Guides
- Quick Reference Guide: PsycInfo on EBSCOhostThis quick reference guide will demonstrate how to search APA PsycInfo® on the EBSCOhost platform in Advanced Search mode. APA PsycInfo is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations for scholarly literature in the behavioral and social sciences. It contains a rich, interdisciplinary backfile that includes 4.8 million records.
- APA Topic GuidesTopic Guides are brief handouts designed to demonstrate how APA databases can be used to search for resources in a variety of topic areas. They contain sample search scenarios, and a list of selected Index Terms from the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.
Pair these with the Quic Reference Guide above on PsycInfo on EBSCOhost to search on:
- Behavioral Economics
- Child Development
- Computers and the Internet
- Education
- Feminism
- Grief and Trauma Counseling
- Management
- Nursing
- Sexuality and Gender Identity
- Social Work
Includes the following topics for PsycTests:
- Business
- Education
- Health Care
Video Tutorials
The American Psychological Association, creators of PsycInfo, have created many video tutorials for using the database. I've featured the one on finding peer-reviewed empirical articles that shows the database as we have it here at UMass, on the EBSCO search platform. Below is a link to the YouTube platform with more video tutorials for searching PsycInfo and PsycTests.
- PsycInfo and PsycTests Video Tutorials - APA Databases on EBSCOhostShort video demos of using PsycInfo and PsycTests on the EBSCO platform - the way that UMass has them. Created by the organization that created the databases, the American Psychological Association.
- APA Database WebinarsThese are longer videos, 11-53 minutes long. Includes beginner and advanced searching in PsycInfo. UMass has PsycInfo on EBSCO, so please disregard any videos referring to APA PsycNet.
