Psychological & Brain Sciences

Including more than 11,000 definitions, this authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. The range of entries extends to related disciplines including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for ease of use, and cover word origins and derivations as well as definitions. More than 100 illustrations complement the text.

The APA Dictionary of Clinical Psychology maintains all the best features of the parent dictionary, including
11,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions--including a number of entirely new entriesBalanced coverage from across such core areas as assessment, evaluation, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of emotional and behavioral disorders; training and supervision; as well as terms more generally relevant to various biological, cognitive, developmental, and personality/social psychological underpinnings of mental healthHundreds of incisive cross-references that deepen the user's understanding of related topics.

This well-focused abridgment of the critically acclaimed APA Dictionary of Psychology is specifically tailored for scholars and students who focus on the field of developmental psychology. The basic lexicon of development across the lifespan is illuminated in thousands of entries and hundreds of cross-references representing four basic categories: theories (e.g., psychoanalytic, normative development, testing, learning, Piagetian stages), biosocial (e.g., heredity/genetics, physical/sexual maturation), cognitive (e.g., learning, memory, and neurology), psychosocial (e.g., family, community, education, employment). Moreover, a significant number of revised and entirely new entries will offer fresh perspectives on the multidimensional and multidirectional aspects and the plasticity of change across human life and in human behavior.

APA offers the second edition of its popular, compact, and economical student's dictionary. With some 5,500 entries--more than 500 more than the original edition - the second edition continues to feature clear and authoritative definitions that provide basic coverage from across 90 subdisciplines of psychology. Special emphasis is concentrated on the fields that are typically encountered in undergraduate studies, such as general, personality and social, lifespan developmental, abnormal, and cognitive psychology.

Edited by high caliber experts, and contributed to by quality researchers and practitioners in psychology and related fields. Includes over 500 topical entries. Each entry features suggested readings and extensive cross-referencing. Accessible to students and general readers.

Presented in A to Z format, the Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development consists of three volumes that address the major conceptual areas of child development: learning, behavior, and emotions. Taking advantage of the techniques offered by the electronic medium, the Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development offers an extensive cross-referencing system that facilitates speedy search and retrieval of information.

The Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field, featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.

Psychology is of interest to academics from many fields, as well as to the thousands of academic and clinical psychologists and general public who can't help but be interested in learning more about why humans think and behave as they do. This award-winning twelve-volume reference covers every aspect of the ever-fascinating discipline of psychology and represents the most current knowledge in the field, discoveries based in neuroscience, clinical psychology's new interest in evidence-based practice and mindfulness, and new findings in social, developmental, and forensic psychology. Offers an authoritative review as well as insight into emerging topics in psychology. Each volume is the result of the collaboration of leading national and international scholars with expert volume editors to produce chapters on virtually every topic in the subject area, from established theories to the most current research and developments.

Five total volumes covering different topics in experimental psychology.