Labor Studies
Christine Turner
Room 1967
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
Creative Commons License
UMass Amherst Libraries for Labor Studies
Welcome, Labor Studies Researchers!
What does "do the research" mean to you? Is it to explore questions? Validate your beliefs? Participate in a community? Complete an assignment? Information landscapes are complex, from what you see on social media, find browsing among physical collections or search for online.
In the context of a research university program, this guide is designed to provide options and considerations as you explore questions, seek information, map and verify your sources, analyze and cite your evidence, and draw conclusions based on ethical practices (e.g. the Society of Professional Journalists Code of Ethics). If you want to do strategic research on companies, Tom Juravich's Strategic Corporate Research provides an excellent framework for your approach.
At any point in your process, contact Christine Turner, library liaison to the Labor Studies program, or other library staff at Ask Us. We're happy to help you!
"Debbie Stabenow Marches on Labor Day 2017"
Office of Debbie Stabenow
CC0
You're most likely to search for sources via online tools, such as:
- the Libraries' Discovery Search,
- Google Scholar,
- Social Science Premium Collection,
- Digital Commonwealth, or another search tool.
You may find citations for online or physical sources. Furthermore, the online sources may be openly available for you to use, or you may hit a paywall.
To find what you have access to as a UMass Amherst community member, use the Libraries' Discovery Search or our Databases & Collections. If you have an article citation and want to know if the Libraries subscribe to the journal, try our PubFinder.
Look for the Open Access symbol - 
- that indicates the item is openly available to all without logging in to the Libraries.
If you can't access the source you need, you may request it through our Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery service.
If you've found a citation for a physical book, or you wish to browse the Libraries' physical collections, you're likely to find relevant materials in the Library of Congress HD4801-8943 call number range located on the 18th floor of the Du Bois Library.
Labor is a collecting area of our Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA) and you may find historical documents, photographs and other artifacts relevant to your research. SCUA is located on the 25th floor of the Du Bois Library.
If you can't find the material you need, you may request it through our Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery service.
