Forestry / Arboriculture
UMass libraries resources for remote teaching and learning
Looking at popular magazines to scaffold information
When starting a research project, it is sometimes helpful to search popular magazines to scaffold information and learn the level of information communicated to a public audience.
The database Academic Search Premier is the ONLY database that will let you search specifically for magazine and trade publications.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Librarian
Lederle GRC Lowrise
UMass Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003
mcharney@library.umass.edu
Research papers on arboriculture and forestry
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers agriculture; plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics and engineering; alternative farming; nutrition, 1970-present. - CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CAB focuses on international development - providing access to the world’s applied life sciences literature, 1973 to present.
UMass Libraries' subscription includes: CAB Abstracts Archive; VetMed Resource. - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present.
Government sources
U.S. government
- TreeSearch - Forest Service Research & Development - published peer-reviewed research by the U.S. Forest Service's R&D.
Search the same collection with GeoTreesearch, an interactive map-based tool.
- Joint Fire Science Program - supports credible wildland fire research; collaboration among many government and academic partners. They publish Firescience Digests (formerly called Briefs) which summarize results of research, and also alert researchers to sources of grant funding. Also lists grant-funding opportunities.
- Beetle Busters - example of specialized government website aimed at citizens. This is for combatting Asian Longhorn Beetle.
Massachusetts-specific site for Asian Longhorn Beetle
- U.S. Forest Service: Urban and Community Forestry - provides technical, financial, research and educational services to local government, non profit organizations community groups, educational institutions, and tribal governments. See next box below for more.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Forestry page - environmental requirements relating specifically to establishments that operate timber tracts, tree farms, forest nurseries, and related activities, such as reforestation services and the gathering of gums, barks, balsam needles, maple sap, Spanish moss, and other forest products.
Massachusetts state agency
- Forestry, under Energy and Environmental Affairs. Includes forest management on state and private lands, statistics, and GIS data for the state.
Also, link to a page on Urban and Community Forestry for the Commonwealth.
International agencies
- FAO - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
- FAO Forestry - Forestry Programme of the FAO
- State of the World's Forests
- Unasylva - quarterly international journal of forestry and forest industries
Urban Forestry resources
Urban Forestry: Toward an Ecosystem Services Research Agenda: A Workshop Summary - 2013 National Academies Press.
Urban Forest Connections Webinar series - monthly webinars presented by the Forest Service’s National Urban Forest Technology & Science Delivery Team
Planning the Urban Forest (2009), in the American Planning Association series, Planning Advisory Service Reports. Full text access in the ABI Inform database. Each chapter is a separate record: Link to the Table of Contents.
Urban and Community Forests of New England, U.S. Forest Service General Technical Report NRS 38, (2008), 67 pages, PDF.
Urban Forest Data from the U.S. Forest Service, by state, city (short list), or region. Includes statistics and GIS files.
